We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and comfortable stay, but expensive internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good and comfortable stay, but expensive internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Being a serviced apartment, the rooms are well equipped with a very comfortable bed and modern amenities, including an iPod dock and LCD TV. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need except for the food and condiments of course, but was enough for cooking.

Internet is not free though, and is very expensive - it's cheaper to buy a dongle and a package from Telstra to get 4G connections. Optus barely works inside parts of the hotel.

In addition, while the hotel has laundry facilities, this is also a central service and is charged per use, which is expensive. Each room does not have a laundry machine, making it difficult to clean your clothes at a reasonable price.

The swimming pool and fitness facilities are of good quality though - the pool is a 2 laned indoor 25 meter pool, making swimming very practical.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to stay, a very good choice despite the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city - the other option will face the wall of a building allowing almost n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear mis0soup,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay with us last year at Citadines. It is wonderful to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with our convenient range of guest facilities, including our swimming pool and fully-equipped gymnasium.

We always try to listen to what our guests are saying, and you may be pleased to know Citadines on Bourke Melbourne now offers complimentary wireless broadband internet to our guests. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon, and personally enjoy these improvements we have made.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    368
    87
    28
    14
See reviews for
160
296
54
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here on the weekend with a friend. The room was booked on Wotif and there was supposed to be a free upgrade of the room. I'm not sure that actually happened as the room was quite small and had a pretty poor outlook. We were only there to sleep, so didn't matter much, and the beds were lovely and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a good clean. On the surface it looks ok, but has soap scum and orange slime in the shower.

apart from the reception staff were very helpful, and location was great, although it could be a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear fairywings2507,

Thank you for you recent stay and for your review.

I am delighted that our central location and friendly helpful staff made your stay so enjoyable. However, I am sorry to hear of the unsatisfactory housekeeping which you received. I would be most grateful if you would contact me (bryan.loh@the-ascott.com) with your booking details so that I may investigate this matter and take the necessary action. This is not characteristic of our usual standards, and your feedback is much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the White Nights weekend. We found the studio apartment to be very clean and quiet -- there was very little street noise even though we were on a low floor. No noise from neighbours either. The kitchenette had everything we could have needed for our short stay stay, but admittedly, we didn't make full use of it as there are so many places to eat nearby. The free wi-fi worked well.

The service was excellent. Check-in/out was painless and the front desk always greeted us with a cheery hello whenever we entered the hotel. This was really appreciated. Yes, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear divebunny1,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your time with us during the White Nights Festival. We agree it is indeed handy having a kitchenette available to you when travelling, but why stay in and cook when there are so many delicious restaurants right on your doorstep to go out and try!

It will be a pleasure to pass on your positive feedback to our Housekeeping and Guest Services Teams; they will be very happy to know they contributed to your memorable stay.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have stayed in other Citadines apartment hotels in the UK and Europe, so opted for this Melbourne property based on good past experience.
We stayed in an executive studio on the 22nd floor and found the apartment to be excellent - spotlessly clean, quite large and with a very comfortable bed.
Reception staff were very good - welcoming and efficient, dealing with multiple check-ins with minimal waiting time.
The apartment location is great - close to Spring Street where the circle tram departs and also to the Bourke Street mall shopping precinct.
There are many apartment hotels in Melbourne but based on our experience would definitely recommend Citadines.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear suzmay,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay with us at Citadines. We feel very privileged to read that our Melbourne Apart‘hotel has made such a positive impression on you. We are indeed centrally located, and hope you were able to get out and about to explore this beautiful city.

It will be a delight to share your comments with our Housekeeping and Guests Services Teams, they will be proud to know they assisted in the enjoyment of your stay.

If you are every in Melbourne again, we do hope to welcome you back to Citadines.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to go to the football. Studio room on 22nd floor. Nice room, very comfy bed, good facilities, good sleep quality. You can still get a little traffic noise but main noises were room doors closing in morning.
Very enjoyable stay and hassle free although when checking in, there were guests with problems - people already in room, key not working, king bed needed instead of twin beds.
Our stay was fine as was my previous stay a few years ago. Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear greatscott24,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is wonderful to read you had a pleasant second visit and enjoyed a comfortable night’s sleep in our Studio apartment. We hope you had a great time at the football and your team won!

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for a couple of nights. The hotel is superbly located with easy access to all transportation and within walking distance of many of the city sights (Federation Square, Parliament House, etc.). The hotel is contemporary and meticulously clean. We found the staff to be very helpful as well. There are many cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. The only thing I did not appreciate was the fact that there is a fee for using a credit card--2% for Visa and MC, 3.5% for Amex. We paid in cash to avoid this charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Carol325,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is very pleasing to read you benefited from the space and cleanliness of our two-bedroom apartments, and found our Guest Service Team to be helpful.

In regards to the credit card surcharge, whilst we regrettably need to pass on the cost of
bank-administered charges in the form of credit card administration fees, we do so in a transparent manner so as to give our guests the choice of settling their accounts with other means which do not incur such fees, namely by cash or EFTPOS/debit card.

Thank you Carol325, we hope to see you again upon your return to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Clean and with plenty of room, bed and pillows so comfortable, staff excellent, tram stop outside door, short walking distance to restaurants, bars and shops, Bourke Street Mall one block away, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear dawnj27,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your time at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to read that our clean apartments, central location and friendly staff all contributed to you enjoying your stay.

Thank you dawnj27, we hope to welcome you back to Citadines on Bourke again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.