We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Citadines on Bourke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at Citadines on Bourke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here over New Years with a group of my girl friends. Had a great stay - it is in a fantastic location, close to shopping in the city, restaurants, and the tram is literally outside the front doors of the hotel. The hotel itself has been newly renovated - the rooms are very spacious and modern, including a kitchenette (although the kitchen utensils were quite average - not even a chopping board) a lounge area, spacious bathroom and the view was great. The cleaning staff were great and made up the room each day including new towels.

We booked an executive suite 6 months prior to travelling for NYE, however had a problem on check in with the 3rd person and roll away bed. We had prepaid for the rollaway, however they seemed to try and charge us again for the extra person. This was all resolved in the end, and overall we had a great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels (executive suites) provide a great view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear BrissyLaura3,

It is wonderful to read that you and your girlfriends had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us over the New Years Eve holiday, and found our central location perfect for exploring the city.
Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication regarding your rollaway bed, we are happy to read our Guest Services Team were able to resolve this issue quickly for you.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the kitchen utensils in your apartment. We always like to recommend contacting our friendly Guest Service Team if you require any assistance during your stay or would like any amenities brought to your apartment, as the team is always available to help you.

Thank you BrissyLaura3 for taking the time to share your feedback, we greatly appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    378
    89
    27
    14
See reviews for
164
300
54
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in an executive studio apartment. it was very clean and modern. Everything was great although beds a little soft for my liking and bathroom a bit small. Overall a great place to stay very central reception staff very friendly and helpful. Yes I would recommend this place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Angelica13,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our TripAdvisor community. It is lovely to read that you had a enjoyable stay in our Studio apartment and found our Guest Service Team friendly and helpful.

Do let us know next time you are staying with us, as we can request a room type which may be more to your liking in regards to the apartment and bathroom configuration.

Thank you Angelica13, we hope to see you again soon when you are next in Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed on the 7th floor in a 1 brm deluxe which was very roomy and clean. Love the fact that you were given free wifi. The staff are really helpful. The location is excellent and the tram stop outside the front door can take to either to St Kilda or out to the restaurants in Lygon or Smith Street which was excellent. Just around the corner from Her Majesty Theatre where we watch Grease. Walking distance to the MCG and the many parks and alleyways.
Just a very comfortable stay and although not the cheapest hotel around it is excellent value for what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear ngasandra,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our TripAdvisor community. It is lovely to read you enjoyed your time with us, and had a comfortable and relaxing stay in our One-Bedroom apartment. We are certainly very fortunate to be so centrally located with such easy access to all the wonderful attractions Melbourne has to offer and just a short stroll to Her Majesties Theatre. We hope you enjoyed the musical Greece, we hear it is very entertaining!

Thank you ngasandra, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Its a great option for business traveler, people traveling solo or traveling for the first time (stayed for 5 days)
- Situated in the city center, next to tram station
- Very comfortable stay
- Studio apartments available
- Staff and service is great - especially for the first time traveler
- Staff must mention is very very helpful
- Big and spacious rooms

Cons:
- 24X7 or a multi-cuisine restaurant isn't available, so no option of late night dinners
- A bit costly as compared to few other nearby hotels

Room Tip: Studio rooms would be best for long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear PariRP,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback of your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your first experience with Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, from the spaciousness and layout of our Studio apartment, our central location and the Guest Service Team. I would be happy to pass on your review to the team that you found their services helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The perfect location to explore central Melbourne. Walking distance to all sights, tram outside your door for longer journeys. My accommodation was on the 8th floor in a 1br deluxe room for 3 nights over a weekend. I have stayed in many types of accommodation globally, and found this to be of a superior standard in every respect. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, all facilities very clean and well maintained. The photos on the website are what you get. I would most definitely stay here again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear OrlandoAussies,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Citadines. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we feel honoured that you view Citadines on Bourke as one of the best facilities you have stayed at along your travels. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Guest Services Team, they will be proud to know they contributed to the enjoyment of your visit.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This is my second overnight stay for work at this hotel. It has been 5 days since I departed and 2 phone calls have been made regarding the $100 they are holding on my visa debit card. I was told when they took the money it would take up to 5 days for the bank to release the money ... Well it's day 5 and the money still hasn't been returned. When I phoned this morning I was put on hold for an unreasonable length of time so I hung up. On my second phone call I spoke to a receptionist and I was told it would take up to 7 days for "the bank" to release the money and they would send a fax asking my bank to do so, if this is the case why can't they fax the bank the day of departure once the room has been checked. The room does not have a minibar so I don't understand why they need to take the money anyway, and when I asked receptionist this I was told it was to cover "incidentals" whatever they are? I stay at Jupiters Townsville for work regularly and they have a full minibar, but only hold $1 on your card so obviously Citadines is making extra money by holding $100 for up to 7 days from every guest that stays there. What a SCAM!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Peta B,

Thank you for your recent return stay with us, and for highlighting the issue of your credit card pre-authorisation.

While our apartments are not equipped with mini-bars, other incidentals which could be incurred include dining in our restaurant, Room Service, pay-movies, parking and telephone calls. The purpose of the pre-authorisation is to ensure that there are sufficient funds to cover such costs on check-out, so that our guests are not inconvenienced. Any unspent funds are automatically released by the issuing bank within five to seven working days, this varies between banks. You have correctly stated that a release can be expedited via a fax from the hotel to the bank, and this is certainly available on request. However, I regret that it is not feasible to do this for every guest, given the large number of guests who check out each day, nor is it usually a concern.

There is certainly no benefit to be gained by any hotel in holding the funds longer than is necessary, since the funds are effectively held on a hotel's behalf by the issuing bank.

I regret any inconvenience caused to you, and invite you to contact me directly at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com so that I may take personal care of this matter.

Thank you once again for your support, and also for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is close to shops and local restaurants. I stayed here for two nights, the room was spacious and comfortable. It seems to be a popular hotel for people on business trip as there were a few people lining up for check-out during early morning. Overall, the staffs were friendly and helpful. I also had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, I would say it is above average.
I think I would like to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Dozza M,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our TripAdvisor community. It's lovely to read you enjoyed our clean and spacious apartments, and found our staff friendly and helpful. We will be sure to pass your positive feedback onto the Guest Services Team.

Thank you Dozza M, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.