We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, everything you need.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #32 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, everything you need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Location-
This hotel is really well located, and within easy walking distance of many attractions and cafes. The taxi rank is right outside the hotel, but we didn't even require taxi during our weekend stay, except for airport transfers as we could walk to most places.

Rooms-
The rooms were comfortable, a little small (with two adults and a child) although our 6 year old actually slept on the sofa, which was good as the King Bed was very small. They are clean, with fridge microwave etc but I really couldn't imagine being able to adequately cook in the room. We just used the fridge and kettle really. Tiny Bathroom, with no bath, but again okay for a short weekend. Really the rating should be Good not very good, but trip advisor doesn't give you that rating option.

Price- The price was very reasonable, for a basic room clean room, nothing fancy. But perfect for a weekend when you are out and about all day exploring the sites of Melbourne on foot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear cove3,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with your family.

Citadines is indeed well located and we are pleased you were able to use our location as the stepping stone to explore Melbourne.

If you choose to stay with us again, which we hope you do, you may like to try one of our larger apartment types which have full kitchens and bathrooms including baths.

Please contact our friendly Reservations Team on freecall 1800 766 377 and they will able to assist you in making sure our accommodation suits your needs, if you are visiting us again.

Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    400
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
174
321
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arriving at the accommodation for our long weekend it proved our choice for a central location on the edge of China town and within easy strolling distance if everything in the CBD this was going to prove a gem of a find. Staff on arrival were friendly and efficient handling a large number of arrivals very swiftly.

On being directed to our studio up on the 19th the new lift system with key card operation to the floor was a very good security feature. On entry to the bright and airy room we quickly checked out all the facilities too many to mention. From a fully functional kitchen to a great tv and sound system. The free wifi which we had heard was slow was the best I have experienced in Australia an upgrade we understand had just taken place. Someone at the hotel obviously listens top marks to the management there. Only issue I had was bed was a little lumpy however I slept well which is unusual when travelling so not a major issue when sleeping only when awake so overall this was one of the best facilities I have stayed at in Australia for a long time having travelled somewhat.

If you want good clean well located accommodation with friendly staff then this is the place to go.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gazparky,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We feel privileged that you view Citadines on Bourke as one of the best facilities you have stayed at in Australia for sometime. You are right, we always try to listen to what our guests are saying and when we can make improvements based on this feedback, so that we not only meet their expectations but exceed them.

As you have highlighted we had received quite a few comments on our internet speed and security card system, we are pleased you enjoyed both of the improvements we made to the systems recently.

If you are ever in Melbourne again, we hope you choose Citadines. We look forward to seeing you then.


Warmest regards,


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great central place to stay. Staff very friendly. Stayed in studio and still had lots of space. Only one negative they a bit mean with the complimentary tea and coffee. Towels also a bit short in supply, it's nice to have one to dry the hair also!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Bridgetxuk,

Thank you for taking time to provide Citadines with a review of your recent stay, it is a pleasure to read that you loved our location, found our staff friendly and appreciated the space an apartment affords you. If you do choose to stay at CItadines again, please be sure to let our Guest Service Team know you would like extra towels and tea and coffee, as we would be happy to supply them to ensure you enjoy your stay.


Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Really happy with the accommodation. Friendly staff, clean, and spacious rooms. We were in a 2 brm apartment.
There was separate airconditioning controls for each room, and the living area.
Good sized fridge, kitchen was a bit small but who's cooking a hotel in melbourne?

Would definitely stay here again, happily...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Katie N,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines. It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay, if you choose to stay with us again and feel like cooking try one of our one bedroom apartments, as they all have full kitchens to bring out the master chef in anyone.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Room was basic but very clean and modern.
The reception staff were all brilliant - especially Summer!!
Situated in great area and close to many different varieties of eating places.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: higher up floors you hear no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Philip v,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for our Tripadvisor community, It’s really lovely to read you enjoyed your stay. I will be passing on your feedback of the brilliant service you received by our Guest Service Team and especially Summer, everyone will be pleased to know they assisted in making your stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Citadines and found it a great location, clean and tidy rooms. helpful and pleasant staff. Close to shops and malls and trams and train stations, but also very quiet place to stay in. Swimming pool a bonus and gym.will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear doreenfrancesmary,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and Fitness Corner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Citadines on Bourke is hidden away even though you enter from Bourke Street, just a block away from the city centre. Right from the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and helpful.The rooms are not 'fancy' but are well set out, clean and ours had a great view over the city. The only negative was that the bed was a double not a queen or king. Walking distance to the CBD, the MCG and anywhere else you want to go in inner Melbourne. A taxi rank outside the hotel made commuting anywhere else very stress free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear JaneCWeir,

Thank you for reviewing Citadines. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our great views of Melbourne and central location, I am sorry you found the size of the bed disappointing, if you choose to stay with CItadines on Bourke Melbourne again, please let us know before arrival of your prefence of bedding and we will do all we can to facilitate your request.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.