We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #32 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very new and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stay here quite often whenever in Melbourne for work, found the apartment to be very clean and modern and very comfortable. Fantastic location as well, close to Chinatown, trams and lots of places to eat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Shanty_10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review on Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. We are so pleased that you choose to stay at Citadines each and every time you are in Melbourne for work. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    400
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
174
320
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Easily accessible from the airport using Skybus. Good location with tram stations nearby. Easy walking to shopping areas, eating places and is also near Chinatown. Room is comfortable and clean. However, wifi was rather slow and we encountered slight issues with regards to card access to specific floors in the elevators. My friend had to insert and withdraw the card at least a few times to get the system to work. Do pay the accommodation in cash rather than card as they do charge additional for using credit cards which is quite common among other Aussie hotels that I have checked with. Will still recommend the stay given the convenience and the affordability of the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Susiesuky15,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. You will be pleased to know we recently updated our complimentary internet as well as our key card access system, if you do choose to stay with us again, we hope Citadines will meet your expectations on all fronts.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed here before and I'm sure we weren't charged extra for using a credit card, so that was a nasty surprise.

apart from that, the location is great, and for our family of four it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, and the towels are thick and soft. the shower temperature is very erratic, but that would be the only complaint, apart from the surcharge.

we would probably come back, but would know to factor in the surcharge which might make it higher prices than comparable properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear JennieAuckland,

Thank you for making us your "home away from home", and for your feedback. I am so pleased that our location and spacious apartment-style accommodation perfectly suited your needs.

Our credit card transaction fees have been in place for some years, and whilst we regrettably need to pass on the cost of bank-administered charges in the form of credit card administration fees, we do so in a transparent manner so as to give our guests the choice of settling their accounts with other means which do not incur such fees, namely by cash or EFTPOS/debit card. This is also published on our website and on the registration form.

Thank you once again for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room was nice and biggish on a high floor (1 bed executive). Good location, close to shops & restaurant and trams. Service was average. We indicated that we had 3 adults (and price reflected the charge) and yet we had to remind them twice before we get an extra bed and an extra set of towels! They really need to look into their processes.

The queen size bed seems to sink in the middle. Free wifi provided but it is slow. We stayed in other location with free wifi and it was way faster.

It was reasonably good value the 1st 2 nights and not so on the last due to the Melbourne cup.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear thor333,

Greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and it is wonderful to hear that our central location and comfortable spacious accommodation met all of your needs during your visit.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the oversight regarding the extra bed and towels. This has been shared with our Housekeeping Manager and her team, and measures put in place to prevent such a recurrence.

Our wi-fi has recently been upgraded with significantly higher speed and connectivity, and I hope that you will consider returning to Citadines Melbourne to enjoy that, together with some other enhancements, including new proximity door locks (simply tap the card, rather than inserting into the reader unit).

Thank you for your stay and your feedback, and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

stayed for only one night with my partner and was charged $100 for spilling a drink in on a bed when we did not have drinks anywhere near the bed. although everything apart from this hiccup was actually great i will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: definitely book a room here if you wish to be overcharged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear darrvison,

Warm greetings from Citadines, and thank you for your recent stay and feedback.

I would greatly appreciate if you would share the details of your recent booking with me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com for further investigation.

Thank you in anticipation.

Regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am a business traveler and if these two issues were not so bad I would give this hotel 4 stars. I'll start with the bad:

I checked out with my AMEX card and they told me it would be an additional 3% charge so I said "no problem, I have a VISA" and they said that would be an additional 2% charge. I told them this is outrageous and the first time I have ever heard of this. I did not see this at other Aussie hotels and they tell me it is common. I don't believe it.

It's bad enough that your credit cards hit you with their own foreign transaction fees but now you get hit by the hotel too? It's not like this place was cheap at $300 per night either????

The second problem is the Internet is just awful. The speed in unbelievably slow but if that wasn't bad enough they send you to this cheezy "MovieLink" site that asks you over and over for your password, makes you type in the funny letters all of the time, and drops constantly. There is something terribly wrong with the way this is setup AND the speed and it makes it almost impossible to use and can really hurt the stay for a business traveler. The room has a wired internet cable coming out of the wall but it also does not work.

The final problem is the shower water is hot and cold and hot and cold and almost uncontrollable. You get in the shower with a nice warm temperature and then it becomes scalding hot and then cold. They are new so you are surprised they don't have this figured out.

Out side of those 3 things, the rooms are nice and big. The beds and sheets and towels are great. The TV is HD. The place is very clean and the gym and pool are nice.

If they fix these simple things they should get solid 4 - 5 star ratings which for some reason they do today.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Punkleg,

Warm greetings from Citadines Melbourne, and thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time and effort to share your feedback below. I appreciate the opportunity to clarify the points which you have raised.

Whilst we regrettably need to pass on the cost of bank-administered charges in the form of credit card administration fees, we do so in a transparent manner so as to give our guests the choice of settling their accounts with other means which do not incur such fees, namely by cash or EFTPOS/debit card.

I acknowledge that the Internet has, up to recently, been slow, due to the significantly increased usage since it was extended to all guests on a complimentary basis. I am delighted to share that as of this week, the bandwidth has been substantially increased, thereby affording guests much higher speeds. At the same time, additional wi-fi access points are being installed throughout the entire building to enhance connectivity for all guests, particularly those with smartphones and smaller (non-laptop) devices whose signals/connectivity are more susceptible to interference.

Last but not least, the variable shower temperature is certainly not acceptable, and I have referred this to the Maintenance Manager who has called in our plumbing contractor this week to address. It would be most helpful if you would share your booking details with me (booking name, room number and dates of stay) to enable us to focus on the area of concern.

I appreciate that the above does not excuse the inconveniences which you faced, and apologise that your experience fell short of of what we strive to give to our guests.

It is delightful to receive your kind comments concerning our comfortable and spacious rooms, the cleanliness of our property and the leisure facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your return, and thank you once again for your stay.

Regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good for the Melbourne CBD, and the rooms are much more like an apartment rather than standard hotel room. The gym, pool and sauna are also very nice. The customer service is also quite good at the front desk and the associated restaurant is quite good for breakfast and lunch.
No no major complaints and I would rate this accommodation good. But there were a few issues that, for the price paid for the room and number of days booked, were less than satisfying. Firstly, for environmental impact reasons the CoB has gone for combined shampoo-body soap in a dispenser in the bath. It's rather cheap and nasty, doesn't really work properly for either application, and is absolutely loaded with SLS/SDS, so keep it well away from your mouth. Even a single bar of soap would be preferable, and the venue has been told about this in the past by other TA reviewers. Secondly, many of the rooms face essentially a wall of as adjacent building. I suppose that can't be helped for many rooms, but for what my company paid ($180 AUSD/night) and for the number of nights booked (4), staring at a wall wasn't on. The card-access to specific floors in the elevators was problematic to say the least, and I had to insert and withdraw the card at least several times to get the system to work and passed my floor several times trying to get it to work. The wireless is woefully slow. While one can effectively surf the net and upload/download attachments, forget about watching videos on line or streaming unless you have the patience of a cat. Many rooms have only a shower, so if you're the type who wants a bath/shower, you had better ask ahead of time.
The hotel obviously caters particularly to flight crews as when in the lobby one would often think that one was in the crew ready lounge at an airport. Not that that bothered me, it was just rather an interesting aspect of the place.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing "the wall" unless you're into staring at same as your view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tryne,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, we are so pleased that our central location, spacious apartment-style accommodation and friendly team perfectly suited your needs.

Our dispenser-style toiletries were introduced to reduce the plastic waste generated by the miniature containers. However appreciate that our guests prefer individual bottles and cake soap, so we are happy to share that these will soon be re-introduced.

Additional enhancements include the installation of proximity sensors on our door locks and in our lifts, for far greater ease of use. Meanwhile, the Internet bandwidth has been upgraded as of this week, with additional Wi-fi access points to be implemented for improved connectivity.

As we are situated so centrally, some of our rooms face surrounding adjacent buildings. Guests have the option of upgraded to our higher Executive floors at a nominal surcharge, which offer unobstructed city views.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.