We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charge 2% - 3% to use Credit Card + Horrible Internet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charge 2% - 3% to use Credit Card + Horrible Internet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am a business traveler and if these two issues were not so bad I would give this hotel 4 stars. I'll start with the bad:

I checked out with my AMEX card and they told me it would be an additional 3% charge so I said "no problem, I have a VISA" and they said that would be an additional 2% charge. I told them this is outrageous and the first time I have ever heard of this. I did not see this at other Aussie hotels and they tell me it is common. I don't believe it.

It's bad enough that your credit cards hit you with their own foreign transaction fees but now you get hit by the hotel too? It's not like this place was cheap at $300 per night either????

The second problem is the Internet is just awful. The speed in unbelievably slow but if that wasn't bad enough they send you to this cheezy "MovieLink" site that asks you over and over for your password, makes you type in the funny letters all of the time, and drops constantly. There is something terribly wrong with the way this is setup AND the speed and it makes it almost impossible to use and can really hurt the stay for a business traveler. The room has a wired internet cable coming out of the wall but it also does not work.

The final problem is the shower water is hot and cold and hot and cold and almost uncontrollable. You get in the shower with a nice warm temperature and then it becomes scalding hot and then cold. They are new so you are surprised they don't have this figured out.

Out side of those 3 things, the rooms are nice and big. The beds and sheets and towels are great. The TV is HD. The place is very clean and the gym and pool are nice.

If they fix these simple things they should get solid 4 - 5 star ratings which for some reason they do today.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Punkleg,

Warm greetings from Citadines Melbourne, and thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time and effort to share your feedback below. I appreciate the opportunity to clarify the points which you have raised.

Whilst we regrettably need to pass on the cost of bank-administered charges in the form of credit card administration fees, we do so in a transparent manner so as to give our guests the choice of settling their accounts with other means which do not incur such fees, namely by cash or EFTPOS/debit card.

I acknowledge that the Internet has, up to recently, been slow, due to the significantly increased usage since it was extended to all guests on a complimentary basis. I am delighted to share that as of this week, the bandwidth has been substantially increased, thereby affording guests much higher speeds. At the same time, additional wi-fi access points are being installed throughout the entire building to enhance connectivity for all guests, particularly those with smartphones and smaller (non-laptop) devices whose signals/connectivity are more susceptible to interference.

Last but not least, the variable shower temperature is certainly not acceptable, and I have referred this to the Maintenance Manager who has called in our plumbing contractor this week to address. It would be most helpful if you would share your booking details with me (booking name, room number and dates of stay) to enable us to focus on the area of concern.

I appreciate that the above does not excuse the inconveniences which you faced, and apologise that your experience fell short of of what we strive to give to our guests.

It is delightful to receive your kind comments concerning our comfortable and spacious rooms, the cleanliness of our property and the leisure facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your return, and thank you once again for your stay.

Regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    417
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
339
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good for the Melbourne CBD, and the rooms are much more like an apartment rather than standard hotel room. The gym, pool and sauna are also very nice. The customer service is also quite good at the front desk and the associated restaurant is quite good for breakfast and lunch.
No no major complaints and I would rate this accommodation good. But there were a few issues that, for the price paid for the room and number of days booked, were less than satisfying. Firstly, for environmental impact reasons the CoB has gone for combined shampoo-body soap in a dispenser in the bath. It's rather cheap and nasty, doesn't really work properly for either application, and is absolutely loaded with SLS/SDS, so keep it well away from your mouth. Even a single bar of soap would be preferable, and the venue has been told about this in the past by other TA reviewers. Secondly, many of the rooms face essentially a wall of as adjacent building. I suppose that can't be helped for many rooms, but for what my company paid ($180 AUSD/night) and for the number of nights booked (4), staring at a wall wasn't on. The card-access to specific floors in the elevators was problematic to say the least, and I had to insert and withdraw the card at least several times to get the system to work and passed my floor several times trying to get it to work. The wireless is woefully slow. While one can effectively surf the net and upload/download attachments, forget about watching videos on line or streaming unless you have the patience of a cat. Many rooms have only a shower, so if you're the type who wants a bath/shower, you had better ask ahead of time.
The hotel obviously caters particularly to flight crews as when in the lobby one would often think that one was in the crew ready lounge at an airport. Not that that bothered me, it was just rather an interesting aspect of the place.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing "the wall" unless you're into staring at same as your view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tryne,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, we are so pleased that our central location, spacious apartment-style accommodation and friendly team perfectly suited your needs.

Our dispenser-style toiletries were introduced to reduce the plastic waste generated by the miniature containers. However appreciate that our guests prefer individual bottles and cake soap, so we are happy to share that these will soon be re-introduced.

Additional enhancements include the installation of proximity sensors on our door locks and in our lifts, for far greater ease of use. Meanwhile, the Internet bandwidth has been upgraded as of this week, with additional Wi-fi access points to be implemented for improved connectivity.

As we are situated so centrally, some of our rooms face surrounding adjacent buildings. Guests have the option of upgraded to our higher Executive floors at a nominal surcharge, which offer unobstructed city views.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband & i stayed here (executive studio) over a weekend & we couldn't have asked for a better place. It used to be the Ascott (i think) & its now modernly and nicely refurnished. Everything is new & clean. The bed was very comfy, the views great if you're at the top floors, trams at your door step, bars & restaurants all around you. Will definitely stay here again & have recommended it to many people.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear manuocconor,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It’s wonderful to read you enjoyed your time at Citadines and our central location.

You are right, The Ascott Limited is the management arm of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. The Ascott Limited is the largest international serviced residence owner operator in the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Citadines or one of our other properties in over 80 cities spanning 20 countries.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Location of this hotel was excellent, walking distance to Burke Street Mall, Federation Square, Her Majesty's Theatre, QV Centre. Also close to the Free City Circle Tram ride stop at the end of the street close to the Parliament building. The staff was very accommodating & friendly. The rooms were new/modern, complete with all the amenities needed for an apartment. Beds were comfortable too.The one bedroom suite was perfect for our family of 3. The free internet is also the biggest PLUS for me in choosing this hotel but sometimes at certain times of the day it is a bit spotty, management should upgrade their internet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TinaMGonzalez,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with your family, It is wonderful to read that from our location you were able to get out and see so much of Melbourne.

We are happy you choose to stay with us, as being an Apart’hotel, we know that your family will always have an excellent stay with the space and flexibility our apartments offer.

Though we are sorry you found the complimentary internet to be a bit slow at certain times of the day, we have had this feedback before and in light of it, as of last Monday have upgraded our system.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines on Bourke in the future!

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hi,

Well i just came back from a 1 night stay in this hotel there were a few negaives and postivites I so please see the list below

Pro's
- Was able to leave bags in storeroom before check in so you don't have to carry it around all day
- Room was clean and nice
- Shower was okay had no prolbems with the temp like other people have said in other reviews
- Location was awesome tram stop right outside, close to the QV bulding and other resturants.
- View at nite was good.

Negatives
- We came back at 2pm to check in had to wait another 1 hr due to room wasn't clean
- Had troubles figuring out tv control
- Service from the staff member wasn't up to my stands

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sarah W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with you feedback. We are pleased to read that you found our location perfect for getting around Melbourne and we were able to assist in holding your luggage until check-in.

Though I do apologise you had to wait an extra hour to check-in, this should not have occurred.

If you would like to provide further feedback on the service you received please email our Assistant Residence Manager Bryan Loh at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com, we would like to follow up on your review and get back to you, as we aim to make sure we meet all guests expectations during their stays.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the two bedroom serviced apartment for a family of 4 (2 kids at age 6 & 3.5). The staffs were friendly and the location was perfect (right on the tram line and loads of restaurant in walking distance). It is very much a business hotel but for any family with kids and require a kitchen, this is perfect. Do note that credit card payment requires a surcharge and so best to pay through cash! We will be back to Citadines on Bourke when we return to Melbourne next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear travelmadame,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Citadines, we appreciate it. It’s lovely to read you had a great stay with your family and enjoyed our location and spacious two-bedroom apartments.

We certainly do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Citadiens on Bourke for the second time for the Melbourne Marathon Festival. Just like last year, the hotel staff where friendly and helpful, the location wonderful and the rooms clean and modern. The only negative that I can comment on is that they charge 25 a night to pull the two twin beds apart (that they use as a double bed ) so you can sleep in seperate beds. I cant see how they can justify this substancial charge? It would have cost my mum and I $75 in total just to move some beds apart so we didnt have to slep next to eachother

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Brooke T,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to share your insights below. We are delighted that our staff, location and accommodation perfectly suited your needs, which we will be happy to share with our team.

The standard bedding configuration in our rooms is a king bed, hence the surcharge is incurred in converting this to a twin. However, your feedback regarding this matter has has been shared with our senior management team for review.

Once again, thank you for staying at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.