We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for our 1st time in Melbourne.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #31 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Springwood, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Perfect place for our 1st time in Melbourne.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Citadines on Bourke was the perfect stay for our 15th wedding anniversary.
Right in the heart of the city with trams at the front door, we couldnt have asked for a better location.
Very professional and friendly staff and the room was great.
We were delighted with an early book in as our room was available.
Only con I could possibly think of was the elevators took some working out.
Awesome, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Philip V,

Happy anniversary! We are so happy you choose to stay with Citadines for your special occasion, please accept our heartfelt congratulations.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    400
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
175
321
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Reception staff were extremely polite and helpful, when we arrived at 8am after flying in from the UK our rooms were ready for us already which was a great help.

Hotel itself is modern and clean. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel or a 10 minute walk to Flinders Street station, but it's within easy walking distance of most of the city centre including all the restaurants on the Southbank and tourist spots like the Eureka Skydeck, the Rod Laver arena and the MCC stadium.

There are also a couple of Starbucks within 5 minutes of the hotel and lots of 7 Eleven convenience stores!

Definitely a good base to explore the city and surrounding area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Chumps77,

Lovely to hear from you. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and that we were able to facilitate an early check-in for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are next in Melbourne. We hope you had a safe flight home.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A modern furnished hotel, centrally located near restaurants, shopping & entertainment the trams run right past the front door & taxis are available too, the staff were always polite & friendly with great views of the city from the upper floors, the only minor complaint was the buffet breakfast with only a few choices & they were quite ordinary, we had breakfast included with our accomodation package but it costs $25 per person otherwise a better variety could be bought nearby at one of the many cafes for about half the price... would probably stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Vpmuscat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent enjoyable stay at Citadines and experiences with breakfast at Heirloom Restaurant, I am sorry to read Heirloom did not meet your expectations, I will certainly pass on your comments to the Residence Manager at Citadines to address with the restaurant to see where we could make improvements.

If you do choose to stay with us again, we look forward to seeing you then.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for the long weekend and loved it. Great location amd very close to the mall.
Loved how it was an apartment hotel so we had a kitchenette to make quick and simple meals. So breakfast every morning was nice and cheap.

Took a while to connect to the free wifi but once connected it was fine.

We stayed in room 1516 which was good for us as it is towards the end of the building facing a quiet street and only had one room next to it. It meant we could sleep very easily at night.
The room was spacious enough (studio deluxe) and very clean. The shower was nice and big too.

Downside was that we asked for a king and got a queen bed. May have been because of our request for a quiet room?

The gym wasn't huge but had brand new equipment and was just fine for a short break.

Staff at the desk where very friendly and professional and the reception area had separate break out areas which meant it didn't feel crowded.

Considering the price this was a great find and will recommend it to others. There were older looking 3 star hotels that cost the same or more than Citadines so it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor that does not face Bourke St
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AussieLondon362,

Thank you for your review, we loved reading it. It is great to know that you enjoyed all our Apart’hotel has to offer. When next you stay with us make sure you let our friendly reception staff know if you don’t have the bedding options you requested, as we would be more than happy to facilitate the change if we have availability.

You may also be pleased to know the award-winning Citadines is 4.5 star AAA accredited.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel for the weekend. Everything was clean, new and comfortable. Excellent location. The bed was meant to be a queen but I think it was only a double however it was very comfortable. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi ASH_1980_3,

Lovely to hear from you, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please do let us know if you would like a change of bedding in room next time you are staying with us, as we would be more than happy to facilitate your request if we have availability.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location wise, it doesn't get much better than the heart of Bourke Street. It is the perfect base for exploring the city by foot or tram. Surrounded by shops and walking distance to more cafes, bars and restaurants than you will ever be able to make your way through.

The hotel is very clean and modern. Our room felt very new and was quite spacious. We had a one bedroom apartment (with 3 people). One adult was on a single bed in the living room and it was perfect. We had plenty of space as well as a television in the bedroom and living room. Although we didn't use the kitchenette, it would be perfect for longer stays.

We stayed on the 17th floor and had a view of the city. There was no noise on the floor and we all slept perfectly.

I would recommend this hotel for families, friends or solo travellers. It isn't a 'romantic' hotel but it was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Alicia B,

We are so happy to read you enjoyed our perfect location in the heart of the city during your stay. We hope you got to explore all of your favourite places in Melbourne!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great , but I am so mad that my daughters hair straightener was left in the room , but it seems they couldn't find it!!! The straightener is worth $300 and for the housekeeping staff to steal it makes my blood boil. Are there any honest staff these days??

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Mrsmkmcgregor,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, although I am concerned to hear of your daughter’s missing hair straightener. Kindly contact me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com with the details of your stay so that I may investigate this matter and to discuss this with you.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart’Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.