We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #31 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel for the weekend. Everything was clean, new and comfortable. Excellent location. The bed was meant to be a queen but I think it was only a double however it was very comfortable. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi ASH_1980_3,

Lovely to hear from you, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please do let us know if you would like a change of bedding in room next time you are staying with us, as we would be more than happy to facilitate your request if we have availability.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    401
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
175
323
56
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location wise, it doesn't get much better than the heart of Bourke Street. It is the perfect base for exploring the city by foot or tram. Surrounded by shops and walking distance to more cafes, bars and restaurants than you will ever be able to make your way through.

The hotel is very clean and modern. Our room felt very new and was quite spacious. We had a one bedroom apartment (with 3 people). One adult was on a single bed in the living room and it was perfect. We had plenty of space as well as a television in the bedroom and living room. Although we didn't use the kitchenette, it would be perfect for longer stays.

We stayed on the 17th floor and had a view of the city. There was no noise on the floor and we all slept perfectly.

I would recommend this hotel for families, friends or solo travellers. It isn't a 'romantic' hotel but it was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Alicia B,

We are so happy to read you enjoyed our perfect location in the heart of the city during your stay. We hope you got to explore all of your favourite places in Melbourne!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great , but I am so mad that my daughters hair straightener was left in the room , but it seems they couldn't find it!!! The straightener is worth $300 and for the housekeeping staff to steal it makes my blood boil. Are there any honest staff these days??

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Mrsmkmcgregor,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, although I am concerned to hear of your daughter’s missing hair straightener. Kindly contact me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com with the details of your stay so that I may investigate this matter and to discuss this with you.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart’Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location - top end of Bourke Street with a tram stop directly out front. Requested a king bed at time of booking, but upon arrival we only got a queen. Requested a room change and was granted one - be aware however, two singles are pushed together. Despite this, room is very clean, and served our purpose. Was on fifteenth floor and didn't hear any traffic or city noise. Would stay there again. If parking at the carpark next door, make sure you get your parking validated by the hotel - it's $20 through the validation per day however no unlimited exits and if you park there for three days straight like we did, you would be up for a small fortune.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear JVC_PVC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide Citadines with your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that we were able to facilitate your request for a specific bedding configuration and It is lovely to read you would stay with us again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

P.s. Great tip for other guests to read on making sure they get their tickets validated with us!


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This great studio / apartment hotel is well located in the centre of melbourne CBD. Rooms have kitchens and spacious lounge / bedrooms. Close to restaurants, supermarkets and transport you can eat in or out.

Checkin and out were the only disappointments as they took a while. Otherwise....perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side are noisier but better than those on lane sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Glen H,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the location suitable for your visit. We most certainly are in a great location for restaurants and for seeing the sites of Melbourne.

Unfortunately during high occupancy periods the check-in and out process can see delays due to the volume of guests we have staying, we do apologise for the wait you experienced.

Hopefully we will see you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on the weekend of the AFL grandfinal 2013. All I can say is the staff were polite,attentive,friendly and went above and beyond to meet my needs such as arranging a shuttle bus to and from the air port. The room was a decent size for a deluxe studio, kitchenette was fully equipped and functional, bathroom was brand new and spotless, lounge was big enough to seat at least 3 adult men and was very
comfortable. The bed was very
comfortable and the tv was a
decent size. The hotel was perfect for me, very central to everything and and the staff are more than happy to help you with directions for busses, trains and trams. 1 minor improvement would be to have a clock visible from the sauna. Otherwise I couldn't fault this apartment/hotel. The next time I visit melboune, I will be booking here without a second thought.

Regards,
Tabetha
(A very, very pleased customer)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Tabetha94,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, the AFL Grand Final is always a great time to be in Melbourne. It's pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable time and that all of our staff were able to assist where required, especially with your transportation.

Furthermore, we are delighted to learn that Citadines has become your preferred property whilst visiting Melbourne. We would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for your suggestion to make a clock visible from the Sauna, we will certainly look into implementing this suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff are so wonderful! Always happy to answer my silly questions with a genuine smile. They checked me in early for no extra just because my room was already free. The location was incredible especially if you like Japanese food. This will be the hotel we use when staying in Melbourne from now on.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello llollie,

We are so happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay. It's great to know that our staff always greeted you with a smile and were able to answer your queries, I will certainly be passing your feedback onto them.

We are more than happy to facilitate an early check-in where possible, enabling our guests, like yourself to relax from arrival, it’s great to read you were able to enjoy an early check-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.