We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, great rooms and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #30 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great position, great rooms and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just had our first stay at Citadines. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. We had 2 interconnecting rooms, the beds are really comfortable, we were on the 22 floor in the middle of the city and did not hear a sound. The rooms are very modern and clean. The position is perfect, a very short walk to China Town for great food. Only a short walk to the Mall with great shopping. We had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and had to make a few changes to our booking which was all done with no problems. We had breakfast in the restaurant accessed from within the hotel with charge back services, lovely breakfast and open late for a coffee or night cap before heading up to bed. The front desk staff were very helpful, the best service I have ever received. And last but not least a big thank you to Benson, you are a gem, thank you so much for helping us. We will be making the Citadines our new home in Melbourne from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello jesshamilton

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review. It is great to hear that you loved every aspect of your experience and it sounds like you made the most of our fabulous location. I will ensure that your commendation of our Guest Service staff is shared with them and also with Benson from our Reservations team. This kind of positive feedback really helps us to know that our dedication to providing exceptional customer service has been noticed and appreciated. I’m thrilled that you have made Citadines on Bourke your new home away from home!

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    461
    107
    28
    15
See reviews for
196
387
61
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Citadines are apartments located at downtown, Melbourne.

I must correct myself. They are excellent apartments!!

My stay in Citadines was perfect. They provide you everything from cooking to washing and take care of you like they would in any five star hotel.

It's a mix of homely convenience and a five star hotel treatment.

The customer care is impeccable and efficient.

The location of the hotel is excellent for shopping and dining. It's at a very busy place, so don't expect a quiet surrounding.

I had an amazing stay in this hotel. Amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello Vikas S

What an amazing review! Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback with us. It’s very pleasing to read that you had a perfect stay at Citadines on Bourke and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I live about an hour out of Melbourne but occasionally stay in town for a weekend. I have now stayed at Citadine's 3 times and it's my first choice when planning a stay in the city.

Location is perfect, on Bourke St, walking distance to EVERYTHING. The hotel facilities are excellent, especially the pool and although I have not yet tried the new bar / restaurant downstairs, it looks amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello meganbree

Firstly, thank you for sharing your feedback. Furthermore I would like to say how lovely it is to read that Citadines on Bourke is your preferred choice of accommodation when staying in Melbourne. The restaurant downstairs which is called Heirloom is truly amazing and I would highly recommend having a meal there on your next visit as their food is delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookwell, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I can really recommend Citadines. I have just spent 3 days there and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms were quiet, clean and functional. The staff were polite and helpful. Citadines is excellently located - very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Lesley A

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m so thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and that everything was to your level of satisfaction. We are indeed privileged to be located so close to everything in the heart of Melbourne. Thank you very much for choosing Citadines on Bourke and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just spent 3 days at the Citadines and have to say was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is comfortable with computers and a coffee machine plus comfy chairs and television screens. Staff are very pleasant and professionally trained. The apartments are clean, tidy and well equipped. The bed was so comfy and the pillows were nice and soft which is a bonus compared to some hotels I've stayed in. The kitchenette had all that was necessary and we made our own breakfast. There is a lovely restaurant on site and was quite busy at all times plus the bar was inviting. On site pool, gym and car parking (extra cost) makes this centrally located establishment a worthy place to consider staying in. We were very happy.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are an advantage in a city to avoid the traffic noise in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello FrankChris545

I am delighted to read that we managed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We certainly take pride in the service and facilities that we offer. We would like to thank you for choosing Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's functional rather than aesthetic but rooms are well designed, beds comfy, everything works. It's all still quite new looking, so happy to forgive slightly cheap overall feel. Handy location. Much better value than others in same price category. Guys on front desk lovely but overworked. No express checkout available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Audbod18

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines and taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you consider us to be value for money and in a great location. You are right in that our apartments are designed with functionality in mind - being an Apart’hotel we offer the flexibility of an apartment-style configuration with the services of a hotel. This enables you to create your own personal space when you’re away from home. You'll be pleased to know that Express Checkout will be one of several initiatives which will be implemented over the coming months.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel more frequently to Melbourne now and stay here as it is close to work.
Becoming a familiar stay now, staff are attentive at checkin, happy to store bags at checkout.
I love the Japanese restaurant onsite, always save room for the souffle at dinner.
Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice is my breakfast staple - better value for me than buffet.
Rooms are fine, some furniture a bit dated however very reasonably priced.
My only gripe is the soap/wash on tap - no separate shampoo & conditioner, I take my own in little travel bottles now so that is covered.
Onsite gym is fine for a general workout.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better so avoid street noise in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi ralphman

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again on your latest business trip. I am glad to hear that you have been well looked after by Guest Service and that we’re conveniently located near your work premises. We like our guests to feel as much at home as possible, so it’s nice to read that you have been made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again and we’ll look forward to having you back here soon (Heirloom’s soufflé is certainly delicious!).

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.