We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Citadines are apartments located at downtown, Melbourne.

I must correct myself. They are excellent apartments!!

My stay in Citadines was perfect. They provide you everything from cooking to washing and take care of you like they would in any five star hotel.

It's a mix of homely convenience and a five star hotel treatment.

The customer care is impeccable and efficient.

The location of the hotel is excellent for shopping and dining. It's at a very busy place, so don't expect a quiet surrounding.

I had an amazing stay in this hotel. Amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello Vikas S

What an amazing review! Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback with us. It’s very pleasing to read that you had a perfect stay at Citadines on Bourke and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    370
    86
    27
    13
See reviews for
160
297
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I live about an hour out of Melbourne but occasionally stay in town for a weekend. I have now stayed at Citadine's 3 times and it's my first choice when planning a stay in the city.

Location is perfect, on Bourke St, walking distance to EVERYTHING. The hotel facilities are excellent, especially the pool and although I have not yet tried the new bar / restaurant downstairs, it looks amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello meganbree

Firstly, thank you for sharing your feedback. Furthermore I would like to say how lovely it is to read that Citadines on Bourke is your preferred choice of accommodation when staying in Melbourne. The restaurant downstairs which is called Heirloom is truly amazing and I would highly recommend having a meal there on your next visit as their food is delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookwell, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I can really recommend Citadines. I have just spent 3 days there and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms were quiet, clean and functional. The staff were polite and helpful. Citadines is excellently located - very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Lesley A

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m so thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and that everything was to your level of satisfaction. We are indeed privileged to be located so close to everything in the heart of Melbourne. Thank you very much for choosing Citadines on Bourke and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just spent 3 days at the Citadines and have to say was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is comfortable with computers and a coffee machine plus comfy chairs and television screens. Staff are very pleasant and professionally trained. The apartments are clean, tidy and well equipped. The bed was so comfy and the pillows were nice and soft which is a bonus compared to some hotels I've stayed in. The kitchenette had all that was necessary and we made our own breakfast. There is a lovely restaurant on site and was quite busy at all times plus the bar was inviting. On site pool, gym and car parking (extra cost) makes this centrally located establishment a worthy place to consider staying in. We were very happy.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are an advantage in a city to avoid the traffic noise in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello FrankChris545

I am delighted to read that we managed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We certainly take pride in the service and facilities that we offer. We would like to thank you for choosing Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's functional rather than aesthetic but rooms are well designed, beds comfy, everything works. It's all still quite new looking, so happy to forgive slightly cheap overall feel. Handy location. Much better value than others in same price category. Guys on front desk lovely but overworked. No express checkout available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Audbod18

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines and taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you consider us to be value for money and in a great location. You are right in that our apartments are designed with functionality in mind - being an Apart’hotel we offer the flexibility of an apartment-style configuration with the services of a hotel. This enables you to create your own personal space when you’re away from home. You'll be pleased to know that Express Checkout will be one of several initiatives which will be implemented over the coming months.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel more frequently to Melbourne now and stay here as it is close to work.
Becoming a familiar stay now, staff are attentive at checkin, happy to store bags at checkout.
I love the Japanese restaurant onsite, always save room for the souffle at dinner.
Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice is my breakfast staple - better value for me than buffet.
Rooms are fine, some furniture a bit dated however very reasonably priced.
My only gripe is the soap/wash on tap - no separate shampoo & conditioner, I take my own in little travel bottles now so that is covered.
Onsite gym is fine for a general workout.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better so avoid street noise in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi ralphman

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again on your latest business trip. I am glad to hear that you have been well looked after by Guest Service and that we’re conveniently located near your work premises. We like our guests to feel as much at home as possible, so it’s nice to read that you have been made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again and we’ll look forward to having you back here soon (Heirloom’s soufflé is certainly delicious!).

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in September in room 0903, a 1 bedroom apartment.

The location was very central and just about a 5 min walk to the main shopping area. The facade was impressive and the lobby nicely appointed.

Check in was without fuss and our reservation (request for a tub and a cot) was met without issue.

Upon checking in, I did notice that the electric kettle had some oxidation at the bottom. Since we were using it primarily for our 3 month old's items, I called housekeeping if they could arrange for a switch. This was done promptly and without fuss by a very earnest staff member.

Similarly, the cot requested had been set up but I found that the padding was slightly hard (without mattress) and asked if they could arrange something for our baby. Again, this was met by the earnest staff member who came back almost immediately with several blankets and bedsheets and fashioned a mattress for our baby. All this took about 15 minutes to resolve without fuss.

The room itself was on the small side (note, compared to other apartments we stayed at elsewhere in Australia, but not Melbourne) but well appointed and had everything we needed. It was also clean and well kept. The housekeeping did a good job and would run the dishwasher daily (there was no powder for the dishwasher, but there was hand dishwashing liquid provided).

I would say I found the carpet a bit on the rough side (think office carpet) and had fluff balls, but I guess this was due to general wear and tear. The bathroom was nice and spacious but the bathtub had a strange glass swinging half door that was quite cumbersome and I would have much preferred a simple shower curtain.

I found the mattress slightly on the soft side, but that is a matter of personal preference.

One thing was that the laundry cost was quite high (our room did not come with a washer and dryer). Each load cost AUD$10 ($4 for washer and dryer each, and $2 for detergent). I hand washed our baby's things in the end.

Overall, I would return to stay at Citadines simply for its excellent location and the amenities. We did not try out the pool but it looked nice and cosy.

Room Tip: You can request for a high floor or a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello auntieadriene

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your requests were promptly attended to by Housekeeping and our Guest Service Team. Our apartments are indeed well-appointed and have many of the modern conveniences one usually expects at home. Before you return next time, you may like to know that we are currently completing scheduled maintenance on the property in order to address any small imperfections.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.