We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple business trip stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Multiple business trip stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel more frequently to Melbourne now and stay here as it is close to work.
Becoming a familiar stay now, staff are attentive at checkin, happy to store bags at checkout.
I love the Japanese restaurant onsite, always save room for the souffle at dinner.
Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice is my breakfast staple - better value for me than buffet.
Rooms are fine, some furniture a bit dated however very reasonably priced.
My only gripe is the soap/wash on tap - no separate shampoo & conditioner, I take my own in little travel bottles now so that is covered.
Onsite gym is fine for a general workout.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better so avoid street noise in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi ralphman

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne again on your latest business trip. I am glad to hear that you have been well looked after by Guest Service and that we’re conveniently located near your work premises. We like our guests to feel as much at home as possible, so it’s nice to read that you have been made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again and we’ll look forward to having you back here soon (Heirloom’s soufflé is certainly delicious!).

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    370
    86
    27
    13
See reviews for
161
297
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in September in room 0903, a 1 bedroom apartment.

The location was very central and just about a 5 min walk to the main shopping area. The facade was impressive and the lobby nicely appointed.

Check in was without fuss and our reservation (request for a tub and a cot) was met without issue.

Upon checking in, I did notice that the electric kettle had some oxidation at the bottom. Since we were using it primarily for our 3 month old's items, I called housekeeping if they could arrange for a switch. This was done promptly and without fuss by a very earnest staff member.

Similarly, the cot requested had been set up but I found that the padding was slightly hard (without mattress) and asked if they could arrange something for our baby. Again, this was met by the earnest staff member who came back almost immediately with several blankets and bedsheets and fashioned a mattress for our baby. All this took about 15 minutes to resolve without fuss.

The room itself was on the small side (note, compared to other apartments we stayed at elsewhere in Australia, but not Melbourne) but well appointed and had everything we needed. It was also clean and well kept. The housekeeping did a good job and would run the dishwasher daily (there was no powder for the dishwasher, but there was hand dishwashing liquid provided).

I would say I found the carpet a bit on the rough side (think office carpet) and had fluff balls, but I guess this was due to general wear and tear. The bathroom was nice and spacious but the bathtub had a strange glass swinging half door that was quite cumbersome and I would have much preferred a simple shower curtain.

I found the mattress slightly on the soft side, but that is a matter of personal preference.

One thing was that the laundry cost was quite high (our room did not come with a washer and dryer). Each load cost AUD$10 ($4 for washer and dryer each, and $2 for detergent). I hand washed our baby's things in the end.

Overall, I would return to stay at Citadines simply for its excellent location and the amenities. We did not try out the pool but it looked nice and cosy.

Room Tip: You can request for a high floor or a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello auntieadriene

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your requests were promptly attended to by Housekeeping and our Guest Service Team. Our apartments are indeed well-appointed and have many of the modern conveniences one usually expects at home. Before you return next time, you may like to know that we are currently completing scheduled maintenance on the property in order to address any small imperfections.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This year we went more upscale into a one bedroom apartment, worth every cent plus a bonus deal for 3 nights. Looked over the city from the 16th floor, apartment was perfect in all respects.
The location is one of the main reasons we went back, it's in a neat part of the CBD but everything is walking distance. Good eateries abound, one block down and you're in the Bourke St mall (good for the girls) and a nice stroll to the river and south bank.
Staff are superb, greet you every time with a smile and a welcome, thanks again Citadines!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello MF100

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s great to read that you took up the current ‘Stay 3 Pay 2’ bonus deal by staying in one of our well-appointed one bedroom apartments, it’s also nice to read that your experience was even better for you second time around. We thank you for choosing to stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for the first time this week and found the hotel to be excellent on many fronts. The reception and greeting was warm and efficient and the rooms quite spacious and well appointed. It's the perfect business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Stormboy59

Thank you for your recent review, it sounds like you had a very pleasant and productive stay. We are glad you got to experience why our property is held in such high regard by guests who are in town on business and we hope to assist you again next time you are here for work. We look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne soon.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the Citadines on Bourke. Chosen due to its proximity to an event we were attending in nearby Collins street, this property was very central to great entertainment, shopping and eateries.

Check in staff were very welcoming and professional and we were pleased to be offered a complimentary upgrade to an executive studio on the 22nd floor. The room was well equipped and had everything you could need for a stay, including cooking facilities. The views through the floor to ceiling windows extended across the Melbourne CBD all the way to the bay.

Although I had read a few negative comments on Tripadvisor about the king beds being twin beds which were joined, we didn't find this an issue at all and found the bed to be very comfortable. We awoke after a great nights' sleep to see four hot air balloons making their way across the city - just beautiful.

While we didn't make use of the pool, sauna and gym area this area was well equipped and kept clean. In fact I was impressed with the cleanliness throught the whole hotel.

The only very small issue we (and others) had during our stay was that the room cards in the lifts were difficult to scan. This led to a few people travelling further than they wished to while trying to get the reader to allow them access to the floor they were staying on. This small issue did lead to some funny conversations with other guests though.

In all we were very happy with our choice and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Blackwater165

Thank you for your recent review. I’m delighted to read that you made the most of our prime location in the CBD and that we were conveniently located close to the event you were in town to attend. The views from the 22nd floor are indeed superb and it’s fantastic that you got to see the hot air balloons floating over the city! With regards to the difficulties you encountered using the room card to access the lifts, you’ll be pleased to know that we will soon be switching to a proximity system which will be much simpler to use. I’m glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Citadines and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.

Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in the Studio apartment. This is one of the few studio/one bedroom places that offers twin beds. We loved the location, and the fact that cafes and restaurants, trams and shopping were on our doorstep. We also appreciated the free Skybus transfer service from Southern Cross station to the hotel. The reception staff were always very cheerful and helpful, and we didn't ever have to wait long for service. The room was a good size and clean and comfortable. We didn't cook, but did use the fridge to store things. We also loved the fact that there was a small dishwasher in the room, though again we didn't get to use it!

The only thing that let the room down, was a circular stain on the carpet which easily could have been covered up with a small rug. Otherwise it was great. Some previous reviewers have mentioned that the wash basin is outside the actually shower/loo. As there were 2 of us, we found this to be very convenient, as one could brush teeth etc while the other was in the shower.

We had no problems with the internet and were pleased it was included, unlike another hotel we recently stayed at. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello limetime05

It is lovely to read you enjoyed your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It sounds like you made the most of our fantastic location and our convenient range of guest amenities. I am also delighted to read that you would definitely stay with us again. Before you return next time, you may be interested to know we are currently completing scheduled maintenance on the property to address small imperfections like the stains on the carpet.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was in Melbourne for 2 nights and decided to stay at the Citadines. Reached at 11 AM but early check in was not allowed. Dropped off the bags and returned back late at night.

Rooms are quite large with self serivce kitchenettes. However did not like the room much due to the layout. They had a basin right in the room and not inside the bath. This could be good for more than 2 people travelling together however not good for a solo traveller. Also there was no view to the room. All you could see out of the window was a brick wall.

The location was excellent and within CBD with greating restaurants and places to hangout around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello vinbad

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I’m sorry to read that we were not able to facilitate an early check-in for you. Whilst we would like to accommodate all early-arriving guests, this is not feasible during periods of high occupancy. However, I am pleased that we were able to look after your bags while you were out for the day. On your next visit, you may like to try a one bedroom executive apartment that has lovely views of Melbourne and a different layout to better meet your needs.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.