We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in a studio apartment, nice and well presented room. Staff were very helpful throughout the stay. Excellent location - plenty of shops, restaurants (Chinatown is a block or so away) and a short walk from Flinders St station, not to mention a tram stop right outside. Complimentary wifi was pretty slow but workable. 23rd floor had a lovely view over the city. Bed was pretty comfy, though the couch wasn't. Would definitely come back (also, recommend the a la carte pancakes at the hotel restaurant - they were delicious!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Baiyune,

It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and thanks for the hot tip on the pancakes! We hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    362
    86
    28
    14
See reviews for
159
294
53
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It's close to the centre (about 2 blocks) - so you are close enough without being too far. Trams out the front.

My work put me up in a deluxe studio. It was large and modern, simply furnished. Plenty of lighting. Free wifi (which was maybe a tad slow) and LAN cable for wired internet access. I wasn't too much of a fan of the 'king' size bed (2 beds put together), but I kept to one side, which is fine. My room on level 9 looked over the side of the building that over looks the pool. At that level there is a bit of a view (not that I was there to see it)

Kitchenette was handy thing to have to prepare breakfast. The shower seemed to have inconsistent hot water though - it would go from hotter to hot (at least it wasn't going warm to hot or cold to hot!)

I used the pool which was probably a tad short (I think it's more like a 15m pool?) but it is one of the few places that had an indoor lap pool! IT was clean and they have plenty of sporting towels available at the gym.

Everyone is right on about the passes not working the first time. I noticed it happened to quite a lot of people in the lift. I suggest that you double check with the front desk on check in to make sure you have access to your floor and the gym on level 1.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear aoigirl,

Warm greetings from chilly Melbourne, and thank you for sharing your experience at Citadines Melbourne.

We are delighted that our spacious and modern accommodation, central location and heated 18-metre lap pool suited your needs perfectly.

Given our central location, certain rooms on our lower floors inevitably face neighbouring buildings. However, we offer guests the option of upgrading to Studio Executives on our higher floors at a nominal surcharge for views of the Melbourne cityscape.

We regret any inconvenience arising from the elevators. We are working with the keycard supplier toward enhancing our system, and appreciate the patience of our guests while this is in progress.

Thank you once again for your glowing comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Melbourne soon.

Warm regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location is excellent, situated near Chinatown and shopping at Bourke St Mall and Collins St. Many trams outside and 1 street away to Swanston St. Staff were efficient and before I arrived, I emailed to request twin bed configurations. The staff not only took care of it, he also waived the $25 surcharge. The 2 bedroom apt is really spacious while the studio is small but well-equipped. Will not hesitate to recommend this apt hotel.

Room Tip: Get 2 bedroom apt...some of them come with washing machines. Just ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Oshino,

We appreciate you taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community and ourselves know about your stay and provide great tips for everyone to check out. It’s wonderful to read that our staff were able to facilitate an enjoyable stay for you, and exceeded your expectations. I will certainly pass on your feedback to them.

Have a lovely rest of your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent central location, trams & taxis out the front, short walk to shops, restaurants & Burke St etc, clean modern rooms, some with great views,
We were up high so great views & no traffic noise up there!
Modern room with comfortable bed

Room Tip: Get up high so you wont hear traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello

We look forward to welcoming you back Wayne F. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Family stayed three nights here in a 1br apt and we had a blast. Won't mention the airlines, but at least three major int'l airlines use this hotel for their crews. Pool/sauna/exercise room was great. Service was great. Couldn't get a late checkout, but they took care of our luggage and allowed us use of other facilities to change/freshen if needed. No complaints at all. Solid.

Location, none better.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello

It sounds like you had a great time exploring Melbourne and our property EdgarAPoe. It’s a shame we were not able to facilitate a late check-out for you, but hopefully, if you choose to stay with us again, we will have the availability.

We look forward to seeing yourself and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The views of the city were spectacular. Stayed on the 22nd Floor. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly, and the lifts were incredibly fast, although it takes a bit of getting used to. The room is a bit small, but was very clean and elegant. Incredible hotel! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors! City view at sunset is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello ekky09,

We are loving your exclamation marks. Thank you very much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a superb hotel in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. It's in a fantastic location, only a few minutes walk to the Bourke Street Mall shopping area. Easy to walk around to all areas of the city, or easy enough to catch a tram if you don't feel like walking.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when we arrived at 2am due to our late flight into Melbourne. They were also happy to suggest local cafe's and restaurants.

The room itself was excellent. Clean, comfortable, spacious and very modern. It's a pity we were only staying there for two nights. It would be a great hotel to stay at for a longer period of time. It was well priced compared to many other hotels in the city. Melbourne is not cheap and we got the room for $200/night and it was definitely worth it.

We were on level 20 and the lift only took a few seconds to get there. There were quite a few lifts so you were never waiting more than a few moments to get a lift up or down.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which looked quite nice, but we didn't use it during our stay. Maybe next time. There are so many great places to eat at in Melbourne city that we wanted to venture out as much as we could.

We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in Melbourne and would happily recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne, whether you are travelling solo, for business, as a couple, as a group or with a family. It really does suit all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Shan-Oz,

It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Melbourne and at Citadines!

A 2am check- in is never fun, I am glad our staff were able to make the check-in process as pleasurable as possible. We will let them know you appreciated their service.

We hope you got to do and see everything you wanted to whilst in town, if not, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.