We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Close to the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It's close to the centre (about 2 blocks) - so you are close enough without being too far. Trams out the front.

My work put me up in a deluxe studio. It was large and modern, simply furnished. Plenty of lighting. Free wifi (which was maybe a tad slow) and LAN cable for wired internet access. I wasn't too much of a fan of the 'king' size bed (2 beds put together), but I kept to one side, which is fine. My room on level 9 looked over the side of the building that over looks the pool. At that level there is a bit of a view (not that I was there to see it)

Kitchenette was handy thing to have to prepare breakfast. The shower seemed to have inconsistent hot water though - it would go from hotter to hot (at least it wasn't going warm to hot or cold to hot!)

I used the pool which was probably a tad short (I think it's more like a 15m pool?) but it is one of the few places that had an indoor lap pool! IT was clean and they have plenty of sporting towels available at the gym.

Everyone is right on about the passes not working the first time. I noticed it happened to quite a lot of people in the lift. I suggest that you double check with the front desk on check in to make sure you have access to your floor and the gym on level 1.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear aoigirl,

Warm greetings from chilly Melbourne, and thank you for sharing your experience at Citadines Melbourne.

We are delighted that our spacious and modern accommodation, central location and heated 18-metre lap pool suited your needs perfectly.

Given our central location, certain rooms on our lower floors inevitably face neighbouring buildings. However, we offer guests the option of upgrading to Studio Executives on our higher floors at a nominal surcharge for views of the Melbourne cityscape.

We regret any inconvenience arising from the elevators. We are working with the keycard supplier toward enhancing our system, and appreciate the patience of our guests while this is in progress.

Thank you once again for your glowing comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Melbourne soon.

Warm regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    417
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
339
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location is excellent, situated near Chinatown and shopping at Bourke St Mall and Collins St. Many trams outside and 1 street away to Swanston St. Staff were efficient and before I arrived, I emailed to request twin bed configurations. The staff not only took care of it, he also waived the $25 surcharge. The 2 bedroom apt is really spacious while the studio is small but well-equipped. Will not hesitate to recommend this apt hotel.

Room Tip: Get 2 bedroom apt...some of them come with washing machines. Just ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Oshino,

We appreciate you taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community and ourselves know about your stay and provide great tips for everyone to check out. It’s wonderful to read that our staff were able to facilitate an enjoyable stay for you, and exceeded your expectations. I will certainly pass on your feedback to them.

Have a lovely rest of your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent central location, trams & taxis out the front, short walk to shops, restaurants & Burke St etc, clean modern rooms, some with great views,
We were up high so great views & no traffic noise up there!
Modern room with comfortable bed

Room Tip: Get up high so you wont hear traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello

We look forward to welcoming you back Wayne F. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Family stayed three nights here in a 1br apt and we had a blast. Won't mention the airlines, but at least three major int'l airlines use this hotel for their crews. Pool/sauna/exercise room was great. Service was great. Couldn't get a late checkout, but they took care of our luggage and allowed us use of other facilities to change/freshen if needed. No complaints at all. Solid.

Location, none better.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello

It sounds like you had a great time exploring Melbourne and our property EdgarAPoe. It’s a shame we were not able to facilitate a late check-out for you, but hopefully, if you choose to stay with us again, we will have the availability.

We look forward to seeing yourself and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The views of the city were spectacular. Stayed on the 22nd Floor. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly, and the lifts were incredibly fast, although it takes a bit of getting used to. The room is a bit small, but was very clean and elegant. Incredible hotel! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors! City view at sunset is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello ekky09,

We are loving your exclamation marks. Thank you very much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a superb hotel in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. It's in a fantastic location, only a few minutes walk to the Bourke Street Mall shopping area. Easy to walk around to all areas of the city, or easy enough to catch a tram if you don't feel like walking.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when we arrived at 2am due to our late flight into Melbourne. They were also happy to suggest local cafe's and restaurants.

The room itself was excellent. Clean, comfortable, spacious and very modern. It's a pity we were only staying there for two nights. It would be a great hotel to stay at for a longer period of time. It was well priced compared to many other hotels in the city. Melbourne is not cheap and we got the room for $200/night and it was definitely worth it.

We were on level 20 and the lift only took a few seconds to get there. There were quite a few lifts so you were never waiting more than a few moments to get a lift up or down.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which looked quite nice, but we didn't use it during our stay. Maybe next time. There are so many great places to eat at in Melbourne city that we wanted to venture out as much as we could.

We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in Melbourne and would happily recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne, whether you are travelling solo, for business, as a couple, as a group or with a family. It really does suit all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Shan-Oz,

It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Melbourne and at Citadines!

A 2am check- in is never fun, I am glad our staff were able to make the check-in process as pleasurable as possible. We will let them know you appreciated their service.

We hope you got to do and see everything you wanted to whilst in town, if not, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Travelling with another couple who had previously stayed at Citadines, we rented a 2 bedroom apartment for a long weekend. First thoughts were on how perfect was the location, central to everything that Melbourne has to offer, restaurants, shopping, trams, theatres.
Staff were professional , welcoming & helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment had spacious bedrooms, huge bathrooms & very comfortable beds. I especially liked that the 2 bedrooms were separated by the living area. Free WiFi was appreciated by all of us.
Everything was well appointed, clean & modern. Kitchen, lounge, dining were small areas but a clever design makes the area practical & easy to use. We did not make the most of the fully equipped kitchen but it did come in handy for a few Happy Hours of champagne & sushi.
We were on the top floor with a room right at the end of the corridor, our bedrooms & living area each had a different angle of a fabulous city view.
I would be happy to stay here on future trips to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Go high as possible to capture the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Dael P,

It’s always lovely to share a vacation with friends and it is nice to read that Citadines was able to facilitate an enjoyable long weekend for you all, in our two-bedroom apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.