We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great accomodation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Central location, great accomodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Travelling with another couple who had previously stayed at Citadines, we rented a 2 bedroom apartment for a long weekend. First thoughts were on how perfect was the location, central to everything that Melbourne has to offer, restaurants, shopping, trams, theatres.
Staff were professional , welcoming & helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment had spacious bedrooms, huge bathrooms & very comfortable beds. I especially liked that the 2 bedrooms were separated by the living area. Free WiFi was appreciated by all of us.
Everything was well appointed, clean & modern. Kitchen, lounge, dining were small areas but a clever design makes the area practical & easy to use. We did not make the most of the fully equipped kitchen but it did come in handy for a few Happy Hours of champagne & sushi.
We were on the top floor with a room right at the end of the corridor, our bedrooms & living area each had a different angle of a fabulous city view.
I would be happy to stay here on future trips to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Go high as possible to capture the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Dael P,

It’s always lovely to share a vacation with friends and it is nice to read that Citadines was able to facilitate an enjoyable long weekend for you all, in our two-bedroom apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    371
    86
    27
    13
See reviews for
161
297
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Somerset on Elizabeth is my preferred hotel in Melbourne when I travel down for work. Not sure what's going on with that property but it wasn't available so I decided to give Citadines (another Ascott property) a go.

Met with a welcome back Mr Brown (from previous Somerset stays) and that's always a good start. Big room, very comfy bed, all good there. Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs. It's a nice space, decent buffet, nice a la carte options. I was able to get a proper coffee (not off the warmer). Oddest thing was that every staff member was French. I could have been in Paris, well, not really.

Good location, good staff, good rooms. When I go back to Melbourne for work I'll probably book Citadines again.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Pandaboys,

Though we will miss you at Somerset on Elizabeth, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne and breakfast at Heirloom Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, at either property, when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very central location, with very good access to the city, various tourist attractions as well as multiple transport options. The room was clean and comfortable and it was useful to have some amenities like a large fridge, hob, convection/microwave oven for keeping the costs down with meals. There was also complimentary wired and wireless internet in the room as well as a decent TV and stereo system. On level 1 there was a good length indoor heated swimming pool which I used on several occasions. All of the different staff members were very friendly and welcoming, and it was difficult to fault much with the hotel. Overall, I would certainly recommend this to others and would return here to stay myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Willsharvey,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Citadines Apart’hotel and were able to explore the city from our central location.

We look forward to yourself, your colleagues or friends and family staying with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay - staff were friendly & helpful and the location is fantastic. The apartment was clean and comfortable and having kitchen facilities was great. My son used the gym each day.

We had a one bedroom apartment with an additional bed for our son. The apartment provided everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello HelenL,

It was wonderful to read that everyone in your travelling party enjoyed their stay from your son in the Fitness Corner to yourself with the kitchen in the apartments.

I will pass your feedback onto our Front Office Team as well, as it is always nice to read of our guests enjoying the property as much as the location.

Thank you HelenL for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'd had a great experience last time I stayed at this hotel, so when we visited Melbourne with friends, I booked a two bedroom apartment for the June long weekend.

Despite the Willy Wonka chocolate factoryesque décor in the corridors (due to weird and colourful geometric optics the hallway appears to tilt and shrink), my friends were very impressed with the apartment, as were we. The bedrooms were palatial, ditto the bathrooms, and the kitchen was well appointed. Views were amazing. The living area, (lounge and dining) were cramped but we didn't spend a lot of time in the apartment so it wasn't too much of an issue.

Annoying that the apartments are not serviced on Sundays nor public holidays although you can get fresh towels supplied.

The hotel is very close to the tram stop, the mall, Chinatown, fabulous restaurants - everything. Staff are friendly, WiFi is free. Beds are comfortable. Love this place!

Room Tip: The higher the better - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello annabellequinn,

We always love hearing about guests who return to stay with us when they have had such an enjoyable experience. You are spot on with your room tip, our two-bedroom apartments are located from floors 23-25, and we agree that they are a great choice for people travelling together.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there for work.
Bed was unbelievably uncomfortable
Room starting to get tired , attention to detail was definitely missing. Scuffed and market carpet, shabby chair.
And the lift ,what a pain sometimes liked your card but half the time not.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Andrew W,

Greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay.

I share your disappointment that your experience did not meet your expectations, and I am sorry for the resultant inconvenience. We are working with the key-card manufacturer toward ehancing the system, while the chairs will also be gradually replaced.

Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping team to ensure increased vigilance toward our standards, and it is thanks to feedback such as yours that we can improve and to ensure that we deliver an exceptional guest experience. I would greatly appreciate if you would advise me (bryan.loh@the-ascott.com) of your booking details, so that I can have the room addressed appropriately,

It appears that bedding is a matter of personal taste, as we have received many comments about its comfort, including requests to purchase.

We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to prove ourselves better hosts, and please contact me so that I may assist with your future accommodation arrangements.

Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Can't say much bad about this place. Great staff, great room at a reasonable price. We stayed ina massive 2 bed apartment with 2 bathrooms! Perfect for staying with groups of people and still maintaining your own sense of space.

We were lucky enough to be put on the floor just below the top (24 i think?) and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Fmct01,


Excellent! we will let our staff know you enjoyed your experience with them, our two-bedrooms are massive, they range from 63 to 88 sqm and are based on floors 23-25, so you are right, you are always assured an amazing view!

Fmct01, it was lovely to read that you had a nice time during your stay with us, thank you for providing us with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.