We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, tidy and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #32 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neat, tidy and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with a friend for two nights as part of a shopping trip. The hotel was brilliant in terms of location to everything. We walked everywhere over our two days stay. We especially loved Hardware Lane, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were lovely and clean and could not be faulted. If there was one thing I could fault them on, it was the customer service on the front counter by a few staff, who did not even acknowledge us as we came in and out of the hotel. The girl who took our bags for us on the last day, while we waited for our flight looked like she was very unhappy about being at work. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Nosila444,

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. Hardware lane is a favourite spot amongst locals, so it is great that you were able to check it out. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms and fantastic location. I am sorry for any inconvenience which you may have encountered, and please be assured that your feedback concerning our staff will be shared with our senior management team for review.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    400
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
174
320
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Holiday off to BAD start. Arrive at hotel and they do not have record of our booking. Sent away to kill time. Come back and waiting STILL in lobby along with other weary travellers. Some with kids asleep on couches. Reception staff quite dismissive. Hope the room and facilities are worth the wait over the expected check in time. NEVER experienced this in all the times have been to Melbourne. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear mum3tas,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit from Tasmania, and also for your feedback.

I am very sorry for the inconvenience which you encountered on check in, which resulted from an error in the booking. While I wish you had had a better start to your visit, it is feedback like this from which we learn and improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent in this case that we fell short. I am aware that this does not explain the service attitude you have experienced by our reception staff nor does it excuse the inconvenience you were caused. I have addressed this with the staff concerned to prevent a repeat of this.

If you would afford us a chance to earn back your trust, I invite you to contact me when planning your next visit, so that I may take personal care of your arrangements.

Thank you once again for your patronage, and my team and I look forward to welcoming your return to Melbourne, and the Citadines on Bourke.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Citadines is a apartment_hotel. It is located right in the heart of Melbourne CBD district. Federation Square is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and so also in Flinders Street Station which is one of the main tram-train stations in Melbourne. Rooms are neat and large though not very lavish. The room had a kitchenette with microwave / fridge / crockery and cutlery. There is a also coin operated laundry on each floor. Hotel has a small swimming pool and gymnasium. Breakfast is not very lavish but has a decent spread. All in all, good value for money for budget conscious business or family traveller

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor. Lower floor rooms view is obstructed by the adjacent building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Hareesh_Tibrewala,

Thank you for your recent review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location and fully-equipped apartments. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I loved my stay in Citadines. First of all, the location is great.. from restaurants to shopping places, everything was a walk away. On check-in, the room and bathroom was clean. We needed a third bed which was arranged before we arrived whereas in other hotels I had to ask for an extra bed despite having mentioned it during reservation. After a long flight, you just want to rest and to find everything as requested is great. The staff is extremely polite and helpful.. willingly to take an extra mile to make your stay comfortable. I would especially like to mention Mr Lance Fernandez, he was extremely courteous and helped us in coordinating with our tours and guided us with whatever information we wanted about the city. The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast other than that I had a pleasant stay in Citadines and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello AngkitaD,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read your stay was enjoyable and you were impressed by the high standard of our apartments. Our staff strive to deliver the best service, and I know they will be pleased to hear they have received another outstanding review. From everyone at Citadines, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location for this! Just a couple of blocks up from Myers and David Jones. Sky Bus dropped us right at the door, thats a awesome, easy service that the hotel were happy to book the return trip for us. The staff are great, very helpful and nice rooms. Would be very happy to stay again. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello MissPip14,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind review. It’s great to read you found our location convenient and our staff friendly and professional.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights as part of rugby trip
Great central location in the heart of the CBD close to good bars and restaurants rooms were a little on small side but they were functional
Up on 24th floor so great view at night
Didn't get to use the pool and gym on site but they were there to use
Reception staff were great and organised airport transfers and allowed early access to rooms which was a godsend after arriving at 5.30 am from UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello miamispice,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. Thank you for noting our courteous staff and fantastic views. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at Citadines on Bourke before and never disappoints. Its a great location with a tram stop right outside the door. We have always found staff extremely friendly and polite with staff always asking permission to ride in the lift with guests. Everyone at the front desk always looks up and greets you as you leave and return. Its nice to feel valued. Parking is always easy and so close to shops, china town and the cinema. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 22nd floor with a great view. Had free internet which wasn't included last time so this was nice.
The only judgement I can make is the bath/shower is quite small and you would have a problem if you were of a larger figure . Overall I would definitely recommend Citadines as a quality place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose a one bedroom cause my husband snores occasionally so I could close the door and pull out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello 2kids1d0g,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! We’re pleased to read that each stay with us never disappoints and that our staff are kind and courteous at every turn. We introduced complimentary Wi-Fi earlier this year for all guests to utilise, thank you for your positive mention of this service.

From all the team at Citadines, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.