We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our family stayed here for 4 nights in May . I'm so glad we did. The location is excellent and the room was ideal for us. Our flights were changed at the last minute and we ended up arriving way earlier than expected. The check-in staff were great and really accommodating and let us have the room before the normal check-in time. The room was clean and had everything we needed. I found the bed really comfortable and the pillows were just the best. Staff were always really helpful and check-out was easy. This would have to be the best place I've stayed at in Melbourne and would definitely recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello tkrsx4,

Thank you for a great review; we’re pleased to have provided all the requirements for a fantastic stay. Thank you for highlighting our friendly staff and also the quality of our beds. We hope you’ll be back again for another great stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    362
    86
    28
    14
See reviews for
159
294
53
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in Citadines on Bourke, Melbourne during our new year vacation.
The hotel location is very convinient for traveller like us.
The room was nice & spacious. Unfortunately as we booked 6 rooms, all rooms are facing other buildings wall :(.
The breakfast are so-so.... Because we are moslem, the range of food is not many. They did not serve halal food here. But the staffs are very helpful.
We enjoyed our stay in Citadines on Bourke, Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Rima_Suryandari,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and your overall stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. For your next visit, might I suggest a room on our executive level, they have wonderful views overlooking the city.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights over a May weekend. The hotel is in a convenient location on the northern end of Bourke Street in the city. Check in and check out were both extremely slow and a tad frustrating. The rooms are a good size some have city views, others look directly at another building which makes the room very dark, but there are plenty of attractions near by to keep you from staying in your room. The rooms have a basic kitchette and a decent bathroom although the shower that looked good, did not have wonderful hot water pressure. Air conditioning worked well, and all rooms have flat screen tv's. The couch in my room had an ugly stain on the arm rest, but the bed was quite comfortable. All in all not a bad place, i would suggest getting a room on a higher floor on the western side that looks over bourke street to avoid having to look directly at a concrete wall.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor on the western side of the building that looks over bourke street to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Nathan Z,

Thanks for your recent review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed our location and spacious apartments. I am sorry the check-in and out process was slow on this occasion; our Front Office Team strive to offer the highest quality of service. Thank you for your tip about staying on a higher level, our Executive rooms do have beautiful views over the city.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Coming to Melbourne for a wedding, we had 4 different apartments booked for family members, a 2 bedroom apartment and studio apartments and we were all happy with our rooms. The hotel is in a great position, easy walking distance to everything you could want and a tram stop at the front door.
The rooms were clean and modern, with great facilities, and we had great views. The hotel staff were super friendly and it was nice to have the rooms serviced every day. We have stayed at a few Melbourne Hotels now and we would gladly come back to Citadines on Bourke. thanks for a stress free holiday.

Room Tip: We had executive rooms, it's worth a bit extra to be a little higher and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Wizzothom,

It is lovely to read you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for your review! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for another stress free holiday.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I spent a week in Melbourne at we stayed at the Citadines on Bourke. We picked this service apartment because of its location and we were not disappointed. It is very conveniently placed in the city and easily accessible. It's down the road from David Jones, Myers, JB Hi-Fi, Chinatown etc. It's no more than 15 minutes away from Queen Victoria Market and about 30 minutes or so to Lygon Street (if you fancy good Italian food!). If getting onto the free City Circle tram is what you want, the tram stop is a few minutes up the street as well.

The apartment we stayed in was reasonably spacious. We picked a 1-Bedroom Executive Apartment which was very pleasant (and had ample room for our 3 year old son to run around). The fixtures and fittings were in good condition, and the apartment was generally quite clean. We had no problems with the kettle, microwave, dishwasher, fridge etc. All were in great condition. The apartment was serviced daily so we always arrived home to a tidied-up apartment in the evenings.

Service-wise, the staff were awesome. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a helpful and friendly front desk team. Mark, in particular, was excellent. He was very accommodating and offered our son some welcome toys which he enjoyed. It got our stay off to a great start. The team were also very knowledgeable and were helpful in offering suggestions on where to go, what to do and how to get there.

The only downside to the apartment was the lack of an in-apartment washing machine and dryer. While there is a laundry room within the building, it is far less convenient than having these facilities in the apartment. This is also quite surprising as most of the other service apartments which we have stayed in do provide this facility.

Aside from that, the Citadines on Bourke was (and is) a great service apartment in an excellent location within the city. We found it to be easily accessible and conveniently located. It was also safe to get to and from in the evenings/nights, and locating nearby amenities like food and transport was not an issue. If we do go back to Melbourne, it would certainly be high on our list for places to stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jason L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such detailed and positive review. I am sure this will help other travelers when searching for accommodation in Melbourne.

I will pass along your kind words to our Front Office Team; they will be delighted to hear the praise you have given them. We do have washing machines in all of our 2 Bedroom Apartments, which would be a great room to stay in when your son gets older (even more space to run!).

Thank you again Jason for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved everything staff were great so helpful,room was very clean slept well beds and pillows very comfy room was very quiet and we were near the lifts.Nice view and close to everything.thank you for making our time in Melbourne such a good experience.

Room Tip: We did have a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Dianna R,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled we contributed to making your trip to Melbourne a positive and memorable one.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have stayed here with the family a few times. Unfortunately the price keeps rising and the service decreasing. No toiletries apart from a "shampoo/shower gel in one" dispenser next to basin and in the shower. This is a bit steep for $500/night for a 2 bed apartment. Great location and very clean, but will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for your return to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and for your feedback.

I regret that our recently-introduced hair and body wash dispenser has fallen short of your expectations. The intention behind this was to reduce the quantity of plastic waste and chemicals entering the eco-system, while providing a superior product products formulated for daily use. All contents are dermatologically tested, with a balanced pH value of 5.5 and are 97% biodegradable.

Our pricing is continuously assessed to ensure that it is competitively priced, and we are confident that our spacious studio and apartment-style accommodation offers good value versus comparable hotels in the city. Prices of course fluctuate according to demand.

I do hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future, and thank you once again for your support.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.