We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apartment style in a good area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #28 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“apartment style in a good area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights over a May weekend. The hotel is in a convenient location on the northern end of Bourke Street in the city. Check in and check out were both extremely slow and a tad frustrating. The rooms are a good size some have city views, others look directly at another building which makes the room very dark, but there are plenty of attractions near by to keep you from staying in your room. The rooms have a basic kitchette and a decent bathroom although the shower that looked good, did not have wonderful hot water pressure. Air conditioning worked well, and all rooms have flat screen tv's. The couch in my room had an ugly stain on the arm rest, but the bed was quite comfortable. All in all not a bad place, i would suggest getting a room on a higher floor on the western side that looks over bourke street to avoid having to look directly at a concrete wall.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor on the western side of the building that looks over bourke street to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Nathan Z,

Thanks for your recent review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed our location and spacious apartments. I am sorry the check-in and out process was slow on this occasion; our Front Office Team strive to offer the highest quality of service. Thank you for your tip about staying on a higher level, our Executive rooms do have beautiful views over the city.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    417
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
340
57
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Coming to Melbourne for a wedding, we had 4 different apartments booked for family members, a 2 bedroom apartment and studio apartments and we were all happy with our rooms. The hotel is in a great position, easy walking distance to everything you could want and a tram stop at the front door.
The rooms were clean and modern, with great facilities, and we had great views. The hotel staff were super friendly and it was nice to have the rooms serviced every day. We have stayed at a few Melbourne Hotels now and we would gladly come back to Citadines on Bourke. thanks for a stress free holiday.

Room Tip: We had executive rooms, it's worth a bit extra to be a little higher and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Wizzothom,

It is lovely to read you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for your review! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for another stress free holiday.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I spent a week in Melbourne at we stayed at the Citadines on Bourke. We picked this service apartment because of its location and we were not disappointed. It is very conveniently placed in the city and easily accessible. It's down the road from David Jones, Myers, JB Hi-Fi, Chinatown etc. It's no more than 15 minutes away from Queen Victoria Market and about 30 minutes or so to Lygon Street (if you fancy good Italian food!). If getting onto the free City Circle tram is what you want, the tram stop is a few minutes up the street as well.

The apartment we stayed in was reasonably spacious. We picked a 1-Bedroom Executive Apartment which was very pleasant (and had ample room for our 3 year old son to run around). The fixtures and fittings were in good condition, and the apartment was generally quite clean. We had no problems with the kettle, microwave, dishwasher, fridge etc. All were in great condition. The apartment was serviced daily so we always arrived home to a tidied-up apartment in the evenings.

Service-wise, the staff were awesome. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a helpful and friendly front desk team. Mark, in particular, was excellent. He was very accommodating and offered our son some welcome toys which he enjoyed. It got our stay off to a great start. The team were also very knowledgeable and were helpful in offering suggestions on where to go, what to do and how to get there.

The only downside to the apartment was the lack of an in-apartment washing machine and dryer. While there is a laundry room within the building, it is far less convenient than having these facilities in the apartment. This is also quite surprising as most of the other service apartments which we have stayed in do provide this facility.

Aside from that, the Citadines on Bourke was (and is) a great service apartment in an excellent location within the city. We found it to be easily accessible and conveniently located. It was also safe to get to and from in the evenings/nights, and locating nearby amenities like food and transport was not an issue. If we do go back to Melbourne, it would certainly be high on our list for places to stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jason L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such detailed and positive review. I am sure this will help other travelers when searching for accommodation in Melbourne.

I will pass along your kind words to our Front Office Team; they will be delighted to hear the praise you have given them. We do have washing machines in all of our 2 Bedroom Apartments, which would be a great room to stay in when your son gets older (even more space to run!).

Thank you again Jason for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved everything staff were great so helpful,room was very clean slept well beds and pillows very comfy room was very quiet and we were near the lifts.Nice view and close to everything.thank you for making our time in Melbourne such a good experience.

Room Tip: We did have a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Dianna R,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled we contributed to making your trip to Melbourne a positive and memorable one.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have stayed here with the family a few times. Unfortunately the price keeps rising and the service decreasing. No toiletries apart from a "shampoo/shower gel in one" dispenser next to basin and in the shower. This is a bit steep for $500/night for a 2 bed apartment. Great location and very clean, but will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for your return to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and for your feedback.

I regret that our recently-introduced hair and body wash dispenser has fallen short of your expectations. The intention behind this was to reduce the quantity of plastic waste and chemicals entering the eco-system, while providing a superior product products formulated for daily use. All contents are dermatologically tested, with a balanced pH value of 5.5 and are 97% biodegradable.

Our pricing is continuously assessed to ensure that it is competitively priced, and we are confident that our spacious studio and apartment-style accommodation offers good value versus comparable hotels in the city. Prices of course fluctuate according to demand.

I do hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future, and thank you once again for your support.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Central location, tram stop opposite, this hotel is my favourite in Melbourne. Rooms are new, clean and quiet. Occasionally you'll get some hallway noise if you're close to the lift, but little/no noise from the street below.

Only thing I think the hotel need to approve upon is the service during busy periods. I've had to wait 10 mins to collect my bag from storage a couple of times. But staff are always super polite and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Tania M,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our staff, it is lovely to read you had an enjoyable stay. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice Apartments. In the CBD. Walk out the door, and there are shops galore.
If you are going to stay here, and you are a light sleeper, most definitely ask for a room at least at level 10 or higher, as the lower rooms hear the traffic of the surrounding streets. The staff all are friendly and rooms are serviced every day apart from Sundays.

Room Tip: I was on the 21st level and still heard A/C unit noise, but managed to sleep through it. The lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.