We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service apartment, excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service apartment, excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I spent a week in Melbourne at we stayed at the Citadines on Bourke. We picked this service apartment because of its location and we were not disappointed. It is very conveniently placed in the city and easily accessible. It's down the road from David Jones, Myers, JB Hi-Fi, Chinatown etc. It's no more than 15 minutes away from Queen Victoria Market and about 30 minutes or so to Lygon Street (if you fancy good Italian food!). If getting onto the free City Circle tram is what you want, the tram stop is a few minutes up the street as well.

The apartment we stayed in was reasonably spacious. We picked a 1-Bedroom Executive Apartment which was very pleasant (and had ample room for our 3 year old son to run around). The fixtures and fittings were in good condition, and the apartment was generally quite clean. We had no problems with the kettle, microwave, dishwasher, fridge etc. All were in great condition. The apartment was serviced daily so we always arrived home to a tidied-up apartment in the evenings.

Service-wise, the staff were awesome. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a helpful and friendly front desk team. Mark, in particular, was excellent. He was very accommodating and offered our son some welcome toys which he enjoyed. It got our stay off to a great start. The team were also very knowledgeable and were helpful in offering suggestions on where to go, what to do and how to get there.

The only downside to the apartment was the lack of an in-apartment washing machine and dryer. While there is a laundry room within the building, it is far less convenient than having these facilities in the apartment. This is also quite surprising as most of the other service apartments which we have stayed in do provide this facility.

Aside from that, the Citadines on Bourke was (and is) a great service apartment in an excellent location within the city. We found it to be easily accessible and conveniently located. It was also safe to get to and from in the evenings/nights, and locating nearby amenities like food and transport was not an issue. If we do go back to Melbourne, it would certainly be high on our list for places to stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jason L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such detailed and positive review. I am sure this will help other travelers when searching for accommodation in Melbourne.

I will pass along your kind words to our Front Office Team; they will be delighted to hear the praise you have given them. We do have washing machines in all of our 2 Bedroom Apartments, which would be a great room to stay in when your son gets older (even more space to run!).

Thank you again Jason for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    518
    116
    31
    15
See reviews for
218
437
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved everything staff were great so helpful,room was very clean slept well beds and pillows very comfy room was very quiet and we were near the lifts.Nice view and close to everything.thank you for making our time in Melbourne such a good experience.

Room Tip: We did have a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Dianna R,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled we contributed to making your trip to Melbourne a positive and memorable one.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have stayed here with the family a few times. Unfortunately the price keeps rising and the service decreasing. No toiletries apart from a "shampoo/shower gel in one" dispenser next to basin and in the shower. This is a bit steep for $500/night for a 2 bed apartment. Great location and very clean, but will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for your return to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and for your feedback.

I regret that our recently-introduced hair and body wash dispenser has fallen short of your expectations. The intention behind this was to reduce the quantity of plastic waste and chemicals entering the eco-system, while providing a superior product products formulated for daily use. All contents are dermatologically tested, with a balanced pH value of 5.5 and are 97% biodegradable.

Our pricing is continuously assessed to ensure that it is competitively priced, and we are confident that our spacious studio and apartment-style accommodation offers good value versus comparable hotels in the city. Prices of course fluctuate according to demand.

I do hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future, and thank you once again for your support.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Central location, tram stop opposite, this hotel is my favourite in Melbourne. Rooms are new, clean and quiet. Occasionally you'll get some hallway noise if you're close to the lift, but little/no noise from the street below.

Only thing I think the hotel need to approve upon is the service during busy periods. I've had to wait 10 mins to collect my bag from storage a couple of times. But staff are always super polite and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Tania M,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our staff, it is lovely to read you had an enjoyable stay. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice Apartments. In the CBD. Walk out the door, and there are shops galore.
If you are going to stay here, and you are a light sleeper, most definitely ask for a room at least at level 10 or higher, as the lower rooms hear the traffic of the surrounding streets. The staff all are friendly and rooms are serviced every day apart from Sundays.

Room Tip: I was on the 21st level and still heard A/C unit noise, but managed to sleep through it. The lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location close to cafes, restaurants, bars & shopping. I felt safe in the area at night as a single female.
Great room with everything I needed.
Great staff.
Good price.
I only stayed 1 night but would happily stay 2 weeks.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello DiMaybs,

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to read you had a great time in Melbourne and we are delighted your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and hope your stay will be longer so you can take the time to explore our amazing city

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having moved to Sydney to stay in a different apart hotel, I appreciate the style and the more updated Citadines on Bourke, then were I am staying now. We stayed in an executive suite - the view was gorgeous over the city - the room a good size for two people and full equipped. The colors of the room are nice and cheerful but not overly so (now that I am in a grey dull apart hotel in Sydney). Its a safe location and the WIFI is free - can't ask for more. Recommend for stays of 5 nights or longer.
Here were my complaints
1. Not enough hangers for two in the room and my 3 requests for more hangers was never taken care of (but other then that the front desk staff were really nice and helpful)
2. There are no drawers for clothing, just a closet for hanging, thus the need for more hangers (it is a long stay hotel so most people have more cloths I would think). Even just some hooks on the walls at the entrance or in the room would have been great.
3. There is no table for eating, just the desk (my computer was there) and a small table in front of the couch...would have been nice for breakfast or dinning in).
4. No coffee maker and not even one by request. Come on - this is the minimum to have available - every other place we stayed there was a French press at least and went i asked for one everyone one from front desk to the service people said no, no available...
5. when they push the beds together to make a king bed there can be a lump in the middle this was a bit uncomfortable when sharing with the boyfriend or just wanting to spread out in a big bed...I think they can find a better system, I've slept in zip beds before and not noticed the connection below.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city...and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello Rabika,

Thanks so much for your positive review and sharing some insight into your stay with other travelers. It is great to read you took advantage of the free Wi-Fi we offer and enjoyed the view and design of the suite.

Thanks for your feedback regarding the wardrobe space; we will look into adding more clothes hangers into the rooms. Although our studio suites are spacious, for longer stay guests, we do recommend a 1 or a 2 bedroom apartment as this provides extra room to move, larger living/ dining areas and a larger wardrobe. Our king-sized beds can be configured into twins for greater flexibility, and a plush layer is placed over the joint to enhance the comfort of our guests.

Thanks for your review Rabika, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.