We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Central and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the week, we had asked for a high floor in our booking and got the top floor upon arrival floor 25. We had the basic studio which was plenty roomy enough for us, it had a well equiped kitchen. The bathroom was small with only a shower and no bath, the shower was a good size though. The location was great, right in the theatre district and close to chinatown. There are plenty of good eateries closeby and the tram is right outside. There was no noise from our floor from any other room or outside. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is not a hotel and doesn't have a bar/restaurant area as such. There is a good fitness centre on the first floor with a lap pool.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Ali_from_Tauranga,

Thank you so much for your recent review, it is wonderful to read you and your husband had such a lovely stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

You are correct, we are not a hotel we are an Apart’Hotel. We provide fully finished apartments and offer some services of a hotel including 24 hour reception, gym, pool and sauna. We do have Heirloom Bar and Restaurant on the premises and are located in the centre of the CBD with many restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    368
    86
    28
    14
See reviews for
160
296
54
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here with my two sisters for one night. We were happy with the room, very clean & spacious. Bit one thing they lacked a bit off was service! We had asked a couple of time to add another foldout bed, took them a while!!
But overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Pspasis,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay overall. I am sorry in the delay in the delivery of the extra bed; thank you for your patience.

The Citadines team look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on Saturday April 20th 2013. The staff were very friendly throughout the hotel and check in was a breeze. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor and the room itself was fine although some pieces of furniture looked a bit tired and there was a large stain on the living area carpet. The views of the city were great. The room touches I liked were the full size fridge, comfortable bedding and bathroom cabinet space. In summary, great location and good price but probably won't stay again as their was nothing that stood out as exceptional about the property and will try a different hotel next time if I want to stay in this part of Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello Leeroy22,

Thank you for sharing your review. Our Front Office team endeavor to provide outstanding service from start to finish, so it is wonderful to hear you received this during your stay with us.

Our fully furnished apartments, comfortable beds and central location certainly set the foundation for an enjoyable stay; thank you for mentioning this. Thank you for highlighting the carpet stain; this has been shared with the Housekeeping Team for immediate rectification.

Once again, thank you for your review Leeroy22, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here the end of March / Beginning of April and were very pleased with the apartment, it was tidy, modern and had everything for a comfortable stay, we were able to cook if we wanted and the utensils were excellent.
All the staff at the front desk were more than helpful with directions etc and always very polite.
We visited Phillip Island while we were here for 3 days and would advise anyone to go there if you get the chance.
Very close to main areas of city, supermarkets, trams, shopping, all within easy reach of everything, We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello gadgetlil_9,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I am here on a 2 week stint for business, and I am currently being kept awake by loud 'doof' music from a nearby night club. Keep in mind that I am on the 9th floor. I have asked the manager to do something about it and he had said the music is not that bad. The room is nice but I won't be staying here again due to the noise and the lack of appropriate action by the manager. If you are going to stay here I recommend ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KLT7770,

Thank you for your feedback. We trust that following your discussion with the Duty Manager and his assistance with relocating you to an alternative room, the rest of your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one.

We thank you for your patronage, and hope to welcome your return on your next visit to Melbourne.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBD Melb
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We scored a 'last minute' room and were amazed by the sheer size of the place- it was a studio set up with all the latest mod-cons. Very comfortable.

However, I did feel that it was a bit strange having the hand basin for the bathroom outside the bathroom, beside the living 'room'. All 'rooms' were incompletely sectioned off to give the illusion of separate 'rooms' (so the basin thing could be forgiven, albeit weird. The staff were very friendly and helpful (at 3am, might I add).

We didn't have the most amazing view. We were looking straight into offices of the neighbouring firm - though, having family that work there it was more intriguing than view-obstructing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Emily385,

It is fantastic to hear you found our Studio apartment spacious and ultra comfortable; it is certainly what we like to hear!

Our bathrooms were designed to provide enhanced flexibility; to the extent that one occupant may use the bathroom, while the separately-situated sink remains available for another occupant to use.

Thank you for mentioning the excellent service you received from our Front Office Team, they will be delighted to hear they have received another positive review. On your next stay, might I suggest an executive room as they are on the higher floors and have lovely views over the city.

Thanks again for your review Emily385 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Great location, but Bourke St is a very busy thoroughfare and could be noisy. The view from our upper story floor to ceiling window was fantastic. The bathrooms are small but adequate. Loved the lap pool. We stayed during Easter and management left little surprise packages of treats for us to find, quite by accident. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Karenag42,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Easter Long Weekend; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the Easter treats!

It is great to hear you mention the facilities we have for all guests to use including the pool, sauna and fully equipped gym. We certainly hope you make good use of all three the next time you stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.