We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Braintree, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here the end of March / Beginning of April and were very pleased with the apartment, it was tidy, modern and had everything for a comfortable stay, we were able to cook if we wanted and the utensils were excellent.
All the staff at the front desk were more than helpful with directions etc and always very polite.
We visited Phillip Island while we were here for 3 days and would advise anyone to go there if you get the chance.
Very close to main areas of city, supermarkets, trams, shopping, all within easy reach of everything, We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello gadgetlil_9,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    432
    97
    27
    14
See reviews for
187
354
59
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I am here on a 2 week stint for business, and I am currently being kept awake by loud 'doof' music from a nearby night club. Keep in mind that I am on the 9th floor. I have asked the manager to do something about it and he had said the music is not that bad. The room is nice but I won't be staying here again due to the noise and the lack of appropriate action by the manager. If you are going to stay here I recommend ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KLT7770,

Thank you for your feedback. We trust that following your discussion with the Duty Manager and his assistance with relocating you to an alternative room, the rest of your stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one.

We thank you for your patronage, and hope to welcome your return on your next visit to Melbourne.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBD Melb
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We scored a 'last minute' room and were amazed by the sheer size of the place- it was a studio set up with all the latest mod-cons. Very comfortable.

However, I did feel that it was a bit strange having the hand basin for the bathroom outside the bathroom, beside the living 'room'. All 'rooms' were incompletely sectioned off to give the illusion of separate 'rooms' (so the basin thing could be forgiven, albeit weird. The staff were very friendly and helpful (at 3am, might I add).

We didn't have the most amazing view. We were looking straight into offices of the neighbouring firm - though, having family that work there it was more intriguing than view-obstructing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Emily385,

It is fantastic to hear you found our Studio apartment spacious and ultra comfortable; it is certainly what we like to hear!

Our bathrooms were designed to provide enhanced flexibility; to the extent that one occupant may use the bathroom, while the separately-situated sink remains available for another occupant to use.

Thank you for mentioning the excellent service you received from our Front Office Team, they will be delighted to hear they have received another positive review. On your next stay, might I suggest an executive room as they are on the higher floors and have lovely views over the city.

Thanks again for your review Emily385 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Great location, but Bourke St is a very busy thoroughfare and could be noisy. The view from our upper story floor to ceiling window was fantastic. The bathrooms are small but adequate. Loved the lap pool. We stayed during Easter and management left little surprise packages of treats for us to find, quite by accident. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Karenag42,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Easter Long Weekend; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the Easter treats!

It is great to hear you mention the facilities we have for all guests to use including the pool, sauna and fully equipped gym. We certainly hope you make good use of all three the next time you stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love this place. BUT if you are a business travel you will be very disappointed by the internet speed. Limited to 500k per room and realistically no more than 350k, this is awful. When will management realize, for business, remote presentations webex/skype etc., you need at least 1000k (1 mb). Even mobile WIFI and 4g are at 1MB to 20mb. For a hotel, high speed should mean high speed, not 6x 1995 modem speeds.

Room Tip: Good if you don't mind 2001 internet speeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Fran_0007,

Thank you for your review, we love that you love Citadines on Bourke Melbourne!

We are happy to say we are one of very few properties in Australia to offer complimentary internet/ Wi-Fi to all our guests. Since the introduction of complimentary usage we understand that during peak periods the speed can be slightly slower, and we are currently reviewing this to ensure the speed is at an acceptable level for all.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on the 21st floor which was extremely quiet with very thick/block out curtains so we did not wake til late on each of the four days that we were there. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean, very well equipped and spacious. An added bonus was free Wifi. The staff were friendly and very accommodating and the hotel is central to shopping, restaurants, pubs and Chinatown. The gym is also well equipped and whilst I didn't have time to swim, the pool looked inviting. Would definitely stay here again. Good value!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a high floor to make the most of any views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello TammyF368,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay, we appreciate your positive feedback and I am sure that other travelers will find it helpful. It is great to hear you found our apartments spacious and comfortable, as well enjoying the host of complimentary amenities and services we offer to enrich our guests stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Thank you for also mentioning our central location and service, I will pass along your kind comments to our Front Office Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the citadines for 5 days last december. Service at the front desk was quick and hassle free. The room was spotless, bathroom was ok sized, the mini kitchen came with complete utensils. The room was minimalist in designs but comfortable. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel. 5 mins walk from the bourke st mall and chinatown, 10 mins walk to melbourne parliament building. Great location, will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.