We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Echuca, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived early and we were able to check in straight away this was an easy process, room great, perfect location there is a tram stop right outside the front door. Pool area looked lovely but unfortunately we ran out of time. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Tanya J,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is wonderful to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us.

Our apartments are designed with space in mind to ensure guests have a comfortable stay; and our location is ideal to experience all the city has to offer. We hope next time you stay with us you have the chance to utilise our fully equipped gym, pool and sauna!

Thanks again Tanya J your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    368
    87
    28
    14
See reviews for
160
296
54
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last year during the F1 weekend we stayed at Hotel lAlto on Bourke, which is a great hotel but in a part of town where everything closes at 6. So this year we wanted to move closer to the action. Reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose the Citadines. It was a mix bag for us.

Pros:
Outstanding location right at the city center
Large spacious room with a view
Great facilities: combined grill/micro, dishwasher, etc
Free internet (but see below)
Good service downstairs during check-in

Cons:
Double bed too small: 160cm rather than the usual 180.
Windows so dirty almost impossible to see out
Internet painfully slow, and out all Sunday afternoon/evening
No cleaning of rooms on Sunday
Only Australian channels on TV: no CNN or BBC as in many other hotels.

The location and room facilities ALMOST make up for the drawbacks, but if you want fast internet or to watch CNN (or the view!) this hotel might not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello IndoTrader,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, we appreciate your feedback.

It is wonderful you chose to stay with us due to our location and thank you for mentioning this; we certainly are right in the centre of the city!

I am sorry to hear that some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations. We do have our have our windows cleaned at intervals throughout the year, however with the heavy rain we have had of late this can be difficult to manage. We are also evaluating our internet speed in-line with market expectation, however we are one of very few properties in Australia to offer complimentary internet. We do offer Sky news, as well as a host of paid and free to air channels; we will however consider your feedback in regards to the additional news channels.

It is great to hear you had a smooth check-in and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our front office team. Thank-you for your feedback in regards to the Sunday servicing, we do this to provide minimal disturbance to guests over the weekend period to assist you to feel more at home and leave you free to relax and not be disturbed.

Thank you once again for your review IndoTrader and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 adults,2 seniors and a 2 year old toddler staying in the 2 bedrooms executive suite. The suite is clean and it is quite spacious. Chinatown is just around one block away and the restaurants closed around 10 to 11pm. So we don't have to worry our late dinners. Shopping area is 2 blocks away and the free city shuttle tram is just 15 mins walk away from the apartment. We don't recommend to drive in Melbourne because the parking is expensive. Overall we are happy with our stay in Citadines.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Kappating,

Thank you for your positive review! It is wonderful to hear you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Our 2 bedroom executive suites are certainly spacious and offer the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. Thank you for mentioning our central location, you defiantly don’t need a car when staying with us as the city sights are within walking distance or public transport is conveniently close by.

Thanks again for your review Kappating and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have stayed at Citadines on Bourke several times since the hotel opened, in different apartment styles on different floors. Modern style hotel with nice colours. I love the location, as other reviewers have stated, it is just up from Bourke Street Mall which is only a couple of minutes walk away. As you would expect in a city, everything is within walking distance, and if you don't like walking, there are plenty of trams !

Check in for us was efficient, and the front desk staff member who checked us in was courteous and helpful. I had requested a room to be in a quieter part of the building, and this was accommodated, so we had no traffic/outside noise, and slept well.

Our last stay was in a one bedroom deluxe for one night on a weeknight. The apartment still looked reasonably new, and was quite spacious with each living space separated by a wall, with a compact kitchen and large bathroom with a huge shower space. In the bedroom, we had a queen size bed, there was a second large flat screen tv, ample storage space and large floor to ceiling window. Our view was of another building however that wasn't an issue for us as sleep quality was more important. There is a self service laundrette or laundry service available.

For the most part, our apartment was clean, however there was room for improvement as there were some stains on the living room carpet, scuff/scrape marks on some walls/doors and a bit more attention to detail needed with smudgy fingerprints on stainless finishes/wardrobe door handles...

If you are arriving by car, be advised that the hotel has its own parking space in the basement however spaces are limited so it's first in, best dressed. I rang when we were about half an hour away from the hotel to ask if a space was available, which lucky for us, there was. Access to their car park is at the back of the hotel on Little Collins Street, and when you arrive before checking in, reception will give you access inside the basement, once identification details have been confirmed via the communication panel on the side wall. Cost is $ 30.00/24 hours with unlimited access, however if no car spaces are available, there is a public car park right next to the hotel's front entrance, which the hotel will give you a voucher for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello TCSSouthAustralia,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is always wonderful to hear from guests who stay with us regularly.

Our central CBD location is certainly ideal to experience everything this lively city has to offer, next time you are in town download our app for lost of tips on where to go and what to see- http://bit.ly/11PMu5Q. Thank you for mentioning our contemporary design and spacious layout, at Citadines you will enjoy the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. If you have the time it would be great if you could let us know what room number you stayed in so we can check the carpet, please email bryan.loh@the-ascott.com.

On occasions of high demand when our car-park is full, guests may be directed to the adjacent Secure Parking, for which guests are entitled to a preferential rate via a voucher obtained from Citadines reception. This parking facility is subject to certain hours of operation.
Thank you for your kind comments about our front office team, I will certainly pass on your review.

Thanks again TCSSouthAustralia for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Great base for visiting melbourne for the fist time. We stayed here and got the free tram to the f1. Is walking distance to the theatre and china town. Rooms are adequately equipped for our needs and the pool and sauna were well used after a day of exploring the city. Would use again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Chris D,

Welcome to Melbourne! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, our location is certainly ideal to experience all the city has to offer. Thank you for commenting about our rooms and hotel facilities, we offer the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel.

Chris D thanks for taking the time to write your review and hope to welcome you back next year for the F1, if not before!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Considering Melbourne hotel prices, I feel this place gives excellent value for money. It comes with a kitchenette so if you want something simple, you can easily prepare it in your room. Good location not too far off from restaurants and other amenities. Seems to be a bit understaffed though. Might have to wait a while during peak check out time in the morning. Wasn't an issue for me but wonder how the'd cope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello eng_lee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your trip and the quality of our rooms. We offer all the amenities to ensure our guests feel right at home.

Thank you again eng_lee for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here many times now when I come to Melbourne - generally for work and its location is very good for that purpose. It's also nice and close to the malls and shopping in town, trams and train station. The rooms are wide in variety in terms of space and all self-contained so you could actually eat in if needed. This time I stayed in the most basic room which is still lovely and roomy. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean. The amenities (pool and gym) are very good for a hotel. All in all, I always enjoy staying here and always come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello DrBrevis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is wonderful to hear you have had such a pleasant experience each and every time you stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Our apartments are designed with space in mind to ensure guests have a comfortable stay; and our location is ideal to experience all the city has to offer. Next time you are staying with us, download our free app for lots of great tips on where to go and what to see- http://bit.ly/11PMu5Q.

Thanks again DrBrevis for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.