We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wireless Internet!
Ranked #32 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 adults,2 seniors and a 2 year old toddler staying in the 2 bedrooms executive suite. The suite is clean and it is quite spacious. Chinatown is just around one block away and the restaurants closed around 10 to 11pm. So we don't have to worry our late dinners. Shopping area is 2 blocks away and the free city shuttle tram is just 15 mins walk away from the apartment. We don't recommend to drive in Melbourne because the parking is expensive. Overall we are happy with our stay in Citadines.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Kappating,

Thank you for your positive review! It is wonderful to hear you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Our 2 bedroom executive suites are certainly spacious and offer the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. Thank you for mentioning our central location, you defiantly don’t need a car when staying with us as the city sights are within walking distance or public transport is conveniently close by.

Thanks again for your review Kappating and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    396
    93
    27
    14
See reviews for
171
316
54
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have stayed at Citadines on Bourke several times since the hotel opened, in different apartment styles on different floors. Modern style hotel with nice colours. I love the location, as other reviewers have stated, it is just up from Bourke Street Mall which is only a couple of minutes walk away. As you would expect in a city, everything is within walking distance, and if you don't like walking, there are plenty of trams !

Check in for us was efficient, and the front desk staff member who checked us in was courteous and helpful. I had requested a room to be in a quieter part of the building, and this was accommodated, so we had no traffic/outside noise, and slept well.

Our last stay was in a one bedroom deluxe for one night on a weeknight. The apartment still looked reasonably new, and was quite spacious with each living space separated by a wall, with a compact kitchen and large bathroom with a huge shower space. In the bedroom, we had a queen size bed, there was a second large flat screen tv, ample storage space and large floor to ceiling window. Our view was of another building however that wasn't an issue for us as sleep quality was more important. There is a self service laundrette or laundry service available.

For the most part, our apartment was clean, however there was room for improvement as there were some stains on the living room carpet, scuff/scrape marks on some walls/doors and a bit more attention to detail needed with smudgy fingerprints on stainless finishes/wardrobe door handles...

If you are arriving by car, be advised that the hotel has its own parking space in the basement however spaces are limited so it's first in, best dressed. I rang when we were about half an hour away from the hotel to ask if a space was available, which lucky for us, there was. Access to their car park is at the back of the hotel on Little Collins Street, and when you arrive before checking in, reception will give you access inside the basement, once identification details have been confirmed via the communication panel on the side wall. Cost is $ 30.00/24 hours with unlimited access, however if no car spaces are available, there is a public car park right next to the hotel's front entrance, which the hotel will give you a voucher for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello TCSSouthAustralia,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is always wonderful to hear from guests who stay with us regularly.

Our central CBD location is certainly ideal to experience everything this lively city has to offer, next time you are in town download our app for lost of tips on where to go and what to see- http://bit.ly/11PMu5Q. Thank you for mentioning our contemporary design and spacious layout, at Citadines you will enjoy the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. If you have the time it would be great if you could let us know what room number you stayed in so we can check the carpet, please email bryan.loh@the-ascott.com.

On occasions of high demand when our car-park is full, guests may be directed to the adjacent Secure Parking, for which guests are entitled to a preferential rate via a voucher obtained from Citadines reception. This parking facility is subject to certain hours of operation.
Thank you for your kind comments about our front office team, I will certainly pass on your review.

Thanks again TCSSouthAustralia for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Great base for visiting melbourne for the fist time. We stayed here and got the free tram to the f1. Is walking distance to the theatre and china town. Rooms are adequately equipped for our needs and the pool and sauna were well used after a day of exploring the city. Would use again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Chris D,

Welcome to Melbourne! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, our location is certainly ideal to experience all the city has to offer. Thank you for commenting about our rooms and hotel facilities, we offer the comfort and privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel.

Chris D thanks for taking the time to write your review and hope to welcome you back next year for the F1, if not before!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Considering Melbourne hotel prices, I feel this place gives excellent value for money. It comes with a kitchenette so if you want something simple, you can easily prepare it in your room. Good location not too far off from restaurants and other amenities. Seems to be a bit understaffed though. Might have to wait a while during peak check out time in the morning. Wasn't an issue for me but wonder how the'd cope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello eng_lee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your trip and the quality of our rooms. We offer all the amenities to ensure our guests feel right at home.

Thank you again eng_lee for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here many times now when I come to Melbourne - generally for work and its location is very good for that purpose. It's also nice and close to the malls and shopping in town, trams and train station. The rooms are wide in variety in terms of space and all self-contained so you could actually eat in if needed. This time I stayed in the most basic room which is still lovely and roomy. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean. The amenities (pool and gym) are very good for a hotel. All in all, I always enjoy staying here and always come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello DrBrevis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is wonderful to hear you have had such a pleasant experience each and every time you stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.

Our apartments are designed with space in mind to ensure guests have a comfortable stay; and our location is ideal to experience all the city has to offer. Next time you are staying with us, download our free app for lots of great tips on where to go and what to see- http://bit.ly/11PMu5Q.

Thanks again DrBrevis for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location - really good, close to trams and shops.

Staff - very straight forward and standard as can be expected from a non-luxury accomodation.

Decor - modern and simple, good if you're into that style.

Bed - They do not have a king size bed. I repeat they DO NOT HAVE A KING SIZE BED. So if you book a "king size" what you will get is two single beds pushed together. You can feel the hard ends of the single beds when you lie in the middle (of course) and if you're unlucky the bed can be so worn out that you sink into it and wake up with a bad back.

Overall, this accomodation is a good value for its competitive price. But if you expect quality and extra customer service, I'm afraid you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello nicloe09,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, we appreciate your feedback.

Our location is ideal to experience all that Melbourne has to offer and our vibrant and modern décor is representative of our award-winning brand, which has been the subject of many positive reviews.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne is an Apart’Hotel, and although we do offer some hotel services, such as 24 hour reception and a fully equipped gym, we are a serviced residence and not a luxury property. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own residence, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. Our king-sized beds can be configured into twins (two singles) for greater flexibility, and a plush layer is placed over the joint to enhance the comfort of our guests. Queen-sized beds are available in our 1-bedroom and Studio residences.

Thank you again nicloe09 for your review and we wish you happy travels.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Check in took forever because we got stuck behind a group. No apology no attempt to make the lengthy wait more comfortable. Room was clean and spacious (shower door broken). Hallways had a strange smell. A lot of us had trouble with the elevators stopping on our floors. Check out- person spent the whole time on the phone. Parking discount card didn't work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Front Office Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Hipblonde1,

Greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to share your insights concerning your recent stay with us.

Whilst we are grateful for the patronage of our valued guests, we regret that the high occupancy during your stay caused some inconvenience to you. We are grateful for your patience and understanding, particularly with regard to the large groups checking in.

We are delighted that our accommodation was to your liking, and consistent with our aim to maintain our property in the best condition, the hallway carpet is periodically steam-cleaned, which may explain the odour.

You are kindly invited to contact me at bryan.loh@the-ascott.com concerning the parking voucher, which I will be happy to address with the management of the adjacent car-park.

We are grateful for your feedback and for choosing us as your home away from home, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.