We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #33 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

stayed here on a shopping trip. Was in a good location to explore and get to the mall. We had a high floor, and had a great view over the city, especially at night. Bed was comfortable, and room had a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    530
    117
    31
    15
See reviews for
225
443
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Service - friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily.
Value - great value.
Sleep Quality - very comfortable bed & pillows, quiet.
Cleanliness - excellent.
Location - excellent, next to all the shops, less than 5 minutes walk to famous precincts of Melbourne. About 20-30 minutes walk from the bus station (where a coach takes you to the airport for Jetstar flights) but the apartments are situated opposite a tram stop. Very convenient.
Rooms - nicely decorated, spacious, big tv, kitchenette

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear UniTraveller1,

Warm greetings from Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, and thank you for taking the time and effort to share your very encouraging feedback, which we have taken delight in sharing with our team.

We look forward to welcoming your return soon, and to providing you with another memorable experience!

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I want to mention free Wi-Fi!!!! Like a great Score, started January 2013!!! I'm a regular jet setter who stays at 5 star hotels or resorts but none of them have offered free Internet use. It was exciting to see here. The Wi-Fi was very slow so go downstairs and use one of their 3 Computers.
A group of us came to Melb on an adventure weekend and had a blast, it was great to come back to a comfortable atmosphere and bed. We stayed at Citadines for three days.
When we first arrived we were given the key cards to the top floor, two bedroom Standard apartment (level 25) room 2505. The views were amazing and all rooms had windows facing out into the city. The apartment itself is nothing amazing but it did the basics of a simple stay. I was surprised there was no laundry as all the other apartment complexes I've stayed at had this as a standard feature. There was a self serve laundry service but after purchasing tokens etc it would have cost $10 for a wash load, sort of crazy to be honest.
Counter staff were fantastic and polite at all times, really made the stay more enjoyable.
Unfortunately though I did not give this hotel top marks like the other places I've stayed at simply because the cleanliness was not up to hotel standard. It wasn't necessarily bad cleaning, but when I first hopped into my bed there were long hairs on the pillows and brown stains on the sheets. Lipstick on the doors and I'm a fella so I know it wasn't me..... Unless I was drunk trying to be a drag queen!!?! It was definitely from another set of patrons. Just some fine attention to detail would have made this room perfect. There is no room service on Sundays so be prepared, we had no problem with this but I think others would.
I never made a complaint to housekeeping but they were very co operative.
The hotel interior looks new and the amenities looked new in the apartment so there was no wear and tear evident at all.
The kitchen is very impressive and you have all the utensils you need for a good home cooked tea and dishwasher, with a large fridge.
The main bathroom floor was leaking water whenever I had a shower, i aussume a leak in the shower floor window, this will need to be looked at in the future.
There is a lap pool and small gym down in level one. A great, efficient elevator system. Didn't need to wait for a lift very long at all... Very impressed as some hotels you can wait for ages just to hop into a lift.
Location was excellent right near Hungrys, KFC and China town restaurants surround this part of the CBD. There is a tram stop directly outside the main entrance and taxis are always waiting outside, very convenient location.
There was a night club right next to the Citadines entrance and there was a lineup but the club patrons were ok and you needed a swipe card to get into the lobby. It was safe inside the buildings at all times.
Value for money was not too bad at all $320 for a 2 bedroom apartment, quite a steal really.
Now..... Would I return again??
- answer is no... If I was to stay in an apartment I would assume it comes with a washing machine after all that's what self serve apartments are all about! But overall was a great stay and I would still recommend it to my friends.
Nice work Citadines keep up the good work

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights early January and thought it was great. Fabulous location with the tram virtually outside the door and only a few minutes walk to the mall. Parliament train station is literally around the corner and China town is only a street away. We stayed in a Studio Executive room on the 20th floor which had everything we needed. The kitchenette was well equipped even though we only made breakfasts. The room was well laid out with a very comfortable king size bed, good sized shower, ironing facilities and access to a paid movie channel. There was also a laundrette across the hallway. We would thoroughly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The family and I stayed for almost a week.

We loved the location and whilst the hardware is great, the soft ware even better.

Was the first time on holidays in Melbourne for us so we need a lot of help. The front desk staffs were not just really professional but also went out of their way to help. They offered loads of info and great suggestions. They were also very responsive and attentive.

We loved the apartment and the fitness facilities; lap pool, sauna and gym.

You can also get some room service from the Japanese restaurant on the ground floor. The service is fast and efficient.

We were disappointed with the poor quality and instability of the WiFi connection. The service is outsourced. After the fourth call to the service provider I just gave up.

Room Tip: Double check that the WiFi works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Always clean, with well-presented rooms. Good sized showers, but bathroom a bit unusual, as the basin / vanity outside in the main bedroom, not with the shower and toilet.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Room service only goes to 10pm, which is disappointing.

Ask for a king-bedded room on a high floor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Citadines for three nights in early January with my partner and we both loved it. We stayed in a Studio Executive room on the 20th floor and it was spacious and very modern. We never heard any noises from the adjacent rooms - they were either empty or the walls are heavily sound proofed. Either way we were quite happy as we had a peaceful stay.

The location of the hotel is excellent. We bought a 'myki' card for the trams on our first day as we thought we would need to catch a tram to most of the places we wanted to go. However, we hardly used the trams as we found that most of the attractions were within walking distance from the hotel (Melbourne Museum, Queen Victoria Markets, Federation Square etc). The hotel is also close to a City Circle tram stop (free tram). It was great being in the heart of the city but still in a quiet area. The hotel is close to great bars such as Madame Brussels, Cookie and the Croft Institute (although the Croft Institute was unfortunately closed while we were there).

I would definitely stay at Citadines again if I am ever back in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.8 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#45 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
0.7 mi away
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.