We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business not pleasure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Business not pleasure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Clean, quiet room but no "atmosphere", there just didn't seem to be any character to the place and was so quiet it felt almost a lonely place to be.
Has what's needed for a business traveller who's there to work & sleep but the room I was in was not a pleasant place to sit in to enjoy a quiet drink before heading out for shopping, sight seeing, whatever. I guess you could call the place "functional" rather than it being a piece in the whole collection of experiences that makes for a memorable holiday.
This room did not have any view, curtains had to remain closed due to private apartment rear balconies looking right into the room from approx 10 metres (30ft) away.
Room has small but modern functional kitchenette facilities but no bathroom toiletries due to it's status as an apartment hotel room, although I've stayed in many such "apartment hotels" that have provided the same provisions as a standard hotel.
Shower is in the same space as the toilet but the hand basin is outside in the actual bedroom area so one person relaxing on the couch will be disturbed by splashing and hair drying that takes place at the basin for instance. Also, water from the shower is not contained within the recess even despite the glass shower screen door. The bath mat is sodden wet by the time you step out with water pooling all around the toilet.
If the room is occupied by two people they only supply one towel per person, one bathmat, one hand towel. No provision for a 2nd towel which is inconvenient and not consistent with most other places I've stayed. Face washer, shower caps etc not supplied.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the city. Lower floors mean you have to keep the curtains drawn for privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    513
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
217
432
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed at Citadines on Bourke for 2 nights during the Easter break.
I have to say the location is fantastic, and the hotel facilities such as its gym and the lap pool, were a very nice surprise to me!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. A standard room with a double bed on a high floor- view of the city was great. Some will not like the minimalist furnishing, but I was fine with that. The kitchenette was very well equip, with pots, pans, crockery and cutlery.
The shower itself was large but basin was outside the bathroom- which makes the room look bigger but the bathroom rather small. There was free wifi and also 3 desktop computers which could be used in the foyer. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel so very convenient

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Will definitely return and am happy to have found this hotel. Great location, rooms are pretty big, big TV, handy kitchen and living area. Pool is beautiful, big enough for a slow lap swimmer. Perfect for exploring melbourne with enough comfort for most people. Have paid much more before for far less.. got the cheapest room and was more than adequate. Only reservation was we got 2 singles instead of king size, but was so satisfied with room didnt see it as an issue.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was curious to give this hotel a try. I had difficulty sleeping due to noise coming from the bar. But my annoyance escalated when I had to inhale cigarette smoke coming from another room, even though it was a non-smoking floor. To top that, the manager on duty just gave me a sleazy response, refusing to take any action. And early in the morning, I had repetitive thumping sound coming from another room and the smell of BBQ penetrated my room. Sigh! The corridor also smelled of some body odor. Yike! I had to wait a long time for the elevator.
This was probably the worst hotel I have ever experienced in Melbourne. It really is more like a student studio than a hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located near the bar, some rooms are located with brick wall blocking the windows, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Citadines Melbourne on Bourke Apart’Hotel as your “home away from home” during your recent visit, and for your feedback below.

After receiving your review, we have investigated the points you have raised with all concerned. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that we act promptly on any reports of smoke or noise, to ensure the comfort of all our guests.

During periods of high occupancy, and particularly at peak periods, we appreciate the patience of our guests for elevators.

We acknowledge that your stay fell short of your expectations, however we do hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves better hosts in the future. I therefore invite you to contact me when planning your next visit, so that I may take personal care of your arrangements. I would also be happy to contact you to discuss the concerns raised in your Tripadvisor review.

We thank you once again for your support, and look forward to welcoming you back again.


Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Since accommodation in downtown Melbourne is generally expensive, I find Citadines on Bourke rather value for money. Very clean, spacious room with well-furnished pantry. Just 2 minutes walk from China Town, and 5 minutes from the tramways. You can walk to almost any major tourist spots from the hotel. Front desk staff quite helpful and efficient. Good choice.

Room Tip: Should be generally OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Judging from the interior design and selection of adult movies, this hotel is more suitable for single men. The room that I'm staying in still smells of the cologne of previous guest. The furnishing reminds me of IKEA. The TV cabinet sure is a sore to the eye. And the basin is separate from the bathroom. Shampoo, soap, shower gel are all combined into one hair and body shampoo, including hand wash. There is only one mirror, that is the one above the basin. All in all, not a good choice for female travellers. Some say the location is superb, but not for me, because I don't like to be staying close to massage parlours and bars.

Good things about the hotel is that staff are very efficient in responding to queries and helpful, the lobby is spacious and smells nice, and the pillows are soft.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.