We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night or two...not sure about a long stay though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #31 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for a night or two...not sure about a long stay though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night last week (24th March 2012)

Check-in was quick and efficient, and the hotel has a fresh modern feel. I was staying in a studio room which was a very decent size. I must compliment the housekeeping staff - the room was spotless and well maintained. Everything shined!

The bed was very comfortable and offered a decent nights sleep. Also I didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms so that's a good sign too.

I don't like the bathroom sink being in the main room. It's a bit of a trend with new hotels and one I don't necessarily care for. Also, I ordered room service breakfast the next morning and was disappointed. I had to wait 50mins for it to arrive and for $29 for continental breakfast it didn't really excite me. It came with toast, but no butter or condiments...just dry old toast!

I think it would be a good hotel for a short stay. Location is very central and you can walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    415
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
336
57
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the Citadines for 5 nights when we were in Melbourne for the Grand Prix. We chose this place because of the kitchen facilities available in the room (microwave, toaster, stove top, sink, bar fridge), and because of it's great location. It is nicer than your regular apartments because there is a front service desk that is manned at all times, much like a big hotel.

Our room was very clean, but not very 'warm'. Their colour scheme is a bit drab, with greys and a lime green. Our large window looked out onto a grey brick wall, which probably didn't help either. The 'king' size bed was just two singles pushed together which unfortunately made the middle area a bit uncomfortable.

The bathroom featured the shower and toilet in the one area, which was a little squishy. However the shower recess itself was quite large. The basin and vanity was separate though which was good.

A tip for the girls: the hotel only provides a body/hair soap on the wall, no mini shampoo or conditioner. They also don't provide the usual shower cap!!

The room service menu for food was exorbitantly priced. I'm willing and expect to pay a bit more for room service, but $40 for a beef burger with all the trimmings was a little bit much.

The location was great. There's a tram stop directly out front of the hotel, and plenty more on adjacent Collins Street. Just a couple of minutes down the road is Bourke Street mall which is great for shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This fresh concept of so-called 'ApartHotels' had me intrigued, so I headed here for my next quick trip through Melbourne. It reminds me of some of the Toga properties that I am familiar and quite comfortable with. The rooms (Studio Executive ) are just big enough to stop them from being small, but they're light, bright and airy and I didn't feel squashed in at any time. The web site pics are really quite accurate. Neat little kitchen and bathroom all packed cleverly into the available space without looking or feeling crammed. Light switches were a bit of a mystery, but they are there, don't give up. Staff were all sharp and attentive but I did have to ask Daniel at the desk to just slow down a bit. You know how young folks like to talk at light speed and strip punctuation out of their speech? Unfortunately as this was a quick trip, I didn't check out the Food&Bev, conference or gym. I'd say perfect for a 2-3 day business trip or weekend shopping/arts escape. Great location, not noisy at all (on the 6th floor)

Room Tip: Head to the south end for light and quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

A well appointed, clean room with a good quality bed.
This is a lovely property & well worth a stay.
One little critique is a lack of condiments, ie milk & coffee's.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here one night with a promotion - arrived by skybus which dropped be across the road from hotel. Great location - I loved how it only took me a few minutes to walk to chinatown and have so many restuarants/bakeries at my doorstep! I arrived early before check-in and left my luggage with the concierage and found them very helpful. The view was mostly of a brick wall - but I wasnt bothered by that as I came to Melbourne to shop,eat and visit friends, not to look outside the window. I had a King size bed which was really comfy (although it was 2 doubles joined together). Room was huge, with a couch so my friends who visited had a place to sit comfortably and have a cup of tea and I loved using the ipod player (it worked with my iphone). My only complaint was when I had slept in til about 10am...I heard a small knock and then suddenly a man appeared at the door - I later realised it must have been housekeeping. It really scared me as the curtains were drawn so it was very dark and I sat up in bed and saw someone standing at the door. I've never had that problem before staying at other hotels - I think they should do housekeeping AFTER check out time or at least until after the person has checked out? I've never experienced that problem at other hotels before. Other then that it was a good experience and I would stay here again but perhaps with friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here 1 night during the GP weekend. Disappointed room couldn't be arranged before 2pm but at least was given the chance to freshen up in the fitness centre. The gym is minimalist but lap pool is nice if a little chilly.

Asked for a newspaper but was told "We don't deliver newspapers here but you can read newspapers in the lobby". All staff interactions during my stay were very cold & robotic. I don't know whether this is a simply a training issue or if the staff don't care. Also no free internet whatsoever in the lobby - $6 per hour!

Rooms are very modern and a decent size but the handy CBD location means views of surrounding buildings only. The kitchen facilities would be useful for a longer stay & the big screen TV & iPod dock are good. Refreshing to find bar fridge empty for a change. Bed is average & bathroom a bit small plus lacking in amenities. Also the room safe kept saying "Low Battery" which I reported on checkout.

Overall the rooms are 4 star standard but let down badly by 1 star service. I would only consider staying again if there was a super sale but certainly not worth these premium rates which would ensure far superior 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Good location and nice room, but staff and system problems. I gave my credit card as a security for the room, but was apparently not allowed to check in to the hotel without swiping said credit card for room charge plus $100 for "sundry expenses". When I inquired as to why I needed to approve costs I had no intention of incurring, I was given a mouth full of attitude. Not good enough.
I was not given voucher for breakfast included in room.
Not good enough.
After check-out, I was contacted by head office who asked for my credit card details to pay for the booking because I was a "no-show". An email exchange wasted 45 minutes of my life as I had to somehow prove that I had shown up and paid my bill. Ultimately they apologised, but by that stage I didn't want an apology. I wanted my 45 minutes back.
Not good enough.
If you like attitude and having your time wasted, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.