We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good value, no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

After staying in a rather wide range of hotels in Melbourne, from the luxury brand names to the small budget ones, this is probably the bes value I have found, however, it's not perfect.
The location is very good on Bourke Street. Close to everything.
Citadines in a very new property, opened in 2010, and it still looks new. The lobby is nicely appointed, and you can see 'new' everywhere: the elevators, the carpets, etc.
I stayed in the second to cheapest room configuration, with ample kitchennette space, adn OK closet, basic kitchen utensils. More than enough to eat a take out meal with decent plates and utensils, I am not sure if enough to cook, but in any case, there is nowhere to eat if you actually cook. You have the desk, and you hace a very small tabke by the sofa.
The bathroom is good, the shower is about 30 or 40% larger than the shower at the Grand Hyatt, so I can't complain.
The Gym is very basic, jus 2 teadmills, 2 elipticals, a simple set of dumbells and a simple universal machine. They also have an indoor pool.
A bummer experience is that they do NOT clean or make the room on Sundays. I don't know if this is standard Melbourne practice, but I did not like this. Also, they make the bed, but do not change the sheets or even check the bed before making it (I left a book under the covers and it was still there when the bed was made...).
In general this is a very good option in Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    417
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
338
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We chose this place based on location and age of building (finished in July 2010). We were not disappointed. It exceeded all expectations from the moment we walked into the foyer. Very Clean and modern foyer and reception area. Modern computers and lounges with a vending machine as well. It was a lovely place to sit and chat. The staff were friendly, well informed and helpful. The tram is at the door and takes you down to the Bourke St Mall, which is walking distance if you wished to walk.

The room did not disappoint in any way. We booked a Studio Deluxe room and upon arrival found we had been upgraded to a higher floor (floor 16) at no extra charge. We had requested a quiet room and were fabulously surprised that no 'street noise' could be heard from our room, plus we had a lovely view of the city. The beds and pillows were one of the best I have ever slept on.
The room was kept beautifully clean. Housekeeping do not do the room on Sundays, but it's no problem for reception to quickly bring fresh towels or more coffee/milk. The kitchen is not huge but it has all you could need to cook - hotplates, microwave oven, fridge, and even a dishwasher, plus all the utensils and saucepans needed. We didn't cook and realised there is no dining room table and chairs to eat at, but there is a large desk and lounge with coffee table, so its not really a problem.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I reviewed all my options before choosing this apartment hotel. Its near new, in central Melbourne and fair value for money. Locations like docklands and southbank are too far away if you are after a CBD experience. Its a narrow thin building of 25 floors and many of the rooms have limited views, although the highest floors may look over the adjacent buildings.

I stayed in a studio, about the size of a good hotel room with a kitchen with microwave, fridge, hotplates and small dishwasher. Its all near new and whilst this is a 4.5 star property there is no assistance with luggage but staff are generally good.

PROS
Location
VERY fast elevators
Near New
Quiet
Good Air-conditioning/Heating
Pool
LCD TV/Stereo

CONS
King bed is 2 single beds pushed together and zipped in centre
Limited Parking
Rates - Use the search engine to search for rates. The hotel's site was up to $30 more expensive than other sites
Internet Charges
Shower Only - NO bath

Room Tip: Can find no difference in different types of studs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Every thing about our stay at Citidines was brilliant. I booked only the day before and got a great rate. Knowing that city hotels in Melbourne can often mean staying in a dirty sho box, I wasnt expecting much at all. How wrong I was! It was brilliant! The room (studio) was enourmous! King Bed, double shower, lounge, work station and kitchinette! The green colour scheme was magical and everything was clean and tidy! The staff were always so inviting too. We had a wedding on the Thursday and came back later that night and the room was made up, wasnt expecting that at all! The bed was comfy, the lighting was great, tv was brand new as well as a swish ipod docking station! The location is perfect. Will definetly be staying here everytime we come to Melbourne, hopefully next time we can get a higher level room with a view :) Thanks Citidines!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Not the most obvious place from the street frontage, but once inside this is a very impressive establishment.
The hotel appears to be new or newly refurbished and is excellent in all aspects.
The room I stayed is was better than the website showed, which travellers will know is not always the case. It was clean and everything worked.
The location is great. You are pretty much in the middle of the city so it is close to everything and the tram is a couple of minutes walk away if you are that way inclined.
The gym, sauna and pool are excellent.
While not highly expensive, this is not a room for the budget traveller with rooms starting around the $200. I would recommend this hotel to business or leisure travellers.

Room Tip: Citadines own website is pretty competitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This place is centrally located, new & fresh. After reading the reviews on this place i decided to book, although the staff reviews were not that great, but i got there Saturday morning & the staff were so welcoming and helpful throughout our weekend stay. Rooms are refreshing and well thought out. This place will definitely be my new choice of accommodation for Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We found the location to be excellent to the central city attractions. It is close to the free tram, museums, Bourke St. mall, markets, etc. The hotel is less than one year old and has large apartment type rooms with all cooking and kitchen facilities. The rooms have contemporary furnishings and are very clean and well kept.
The only downside is that there is no concierge. This may be because facility is more like an apartment than a hotel. The staff was very friendly; however, they were young and seemed inexperienced as to providing information about locations of stores in the area. An expamle, they provided all the information we needed about the tram, but when we inquired about art studios in the area they were unaware of any. We later found three within two blocks.

Room Tip: use free tram. laundry on certain floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.