We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and no problems” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Location, location and no problems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I reviewed all my options before choosing this apartment hotel. Its near new, in central Melbourne and fair value for money. Locations like docklands and southbank are too far away if you are after a CBD experience. Its a narrow thin building of 25 floors and many of the rooms have limited views, although the highest floors may look over the adjacent buildings.

I stayed in a studio, about the size of a good hotel room with a kitchen with microwave, fridge, hotplates and small dishwasher. Its all near new and whilst this is a 4.5 star property there is no assistance with luggage but staff are generally good.

PROS
Location
VERY fast elevators
Near New
Quiet
Good Air-conditioning/Heating
Pool
LCD TV/Stereo

CONS
King bed is 2 single beds pushed together and zipped in centre
Limited Parking
Rates - Use the search engine to search for rates. The hotel's site was up to $30 more expensive than other sites
Internet Charges
Shower Only - NO bath

Room Tip: Can find no difference in different types of studs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    517
    115
    31
    15
See reviews for
218
435
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Every thing about our stay at Citidines was brilliant. I booked only the day before and got a great rate. Knowing that city hotels in Melbourne can often mean staying in a dirty sho box, I wasnt expecting much at all. How wrong I was! It was brilliant! The room (studio) was enourmous! King Bed, double shower, lounge, work station and kitchinette! The green colour scheme was magical and everything was clean and tidy! The staff were always so inviting too. We had a wedding on the Thursday and came back later that night and the room was made up, wasnt expecting that at all! The bed was comfy, the lighting was great, tv was brand new as well as a swish ipod docking station! The location is perfect. Will definetly be staying here everytime we come to Melbourne, hopefully next time we can get a higher level room with a view :) Thanks Citidines!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Not the most obvious place from the street frontage, but once inside this is a very impressive establishment.
The hotel appears to be new or newly refurbished and is excellent in all aspects.
The room I stayed is was better than the website showed, which travellers will know is not always the case. It was clean and everything worked.
The location is great. You are pretty much in the middle of the city so it is close to everything and the tram is a couple of minutes walk away if you are that way inclined.
The gym, sauna and pool are excellent.
While not highly expensive, this is not a room for the budget traveller with rooms starting around the $200. I would recommend this hotel to business or leisure travellers.

Room Tip: Citadines own website is pretty competitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This place is centrally located, new & fresh. After reading the reviews on this place i decided to book, although the staff reviews were not that great, but i got there Saturday morning & the staff were so welcoming and helpful throughout our weekend stay. Rooms are refreshing and well thought out. This place will definitely be my new choice of accommodation for Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We found the location to be excellent to the central city attractions. It is close to the free tram, museums, Bourke St. mall, markets, etc. The hotel is less than one year old and has large apartment type rooms with all cooking and kitchen facilities. The rooms have contemporary furnishings and are very clean and well kept.
The only downside is that there is no concierge. This may be because facility is more like an apartment than a hotel. The staff was very friendly; however, they were young and seemed inexperienced as to providing information about locations of stores in the area. An expamle, they provided all the information we needed about the tram, but when we inquired about art studios in the area they were unaware of any. We later found three within two blocks.

Room Tip: use free tram. laundry on certain floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here during the 5 day Easter Long weekend and loved it! The location was fantastic, more central than any other place we've stayed in Melbourne previously, and the rooms were exactly as the pictures show. I did stay here on a Travel Zoo special for the hotel which made it even more worth the value that we paid for it.
Seeing as it was just the two of us, we stayed in a studio which was more than enough space and set up very well. I'm usually very picky about hotel bathrooms, and this was immaculate. The kitchen was also in great condition, and was completely stocked with all the proper utensils and equipment (I have previously stayed at another apartment in Melbourne which was poorly stocked and lacked in kitchen utensils/equipment).
I did have some issues with the bed though; the bed itself is very very soft, and after sleeping in it the first night I had an incredibly sore back which did not get better with more sleeps- this is just a personal note though, as I suppose the comfort level would differ for different people.
I did find it odd though that there was such a large gap at the bottom of the front door into the bedrooms? We didn't have any issues, though if you were in a room right in front of the elevator it might cause a problem.
Ther service was very on par with what seems to be the Australian standard- very hit and miss. Sometimes reception was friendly and helpful, sometimes very pretentious and a un-helpful. Nothing offensive though and certainly nothing that would stop us coming again.
The room and hotel itself though was lovely and I would definitely stay again. It was very well stocked with all the things you would need, nothing missing at all. Other than the tiny points mentioned above, I would say it's the best place I've stayed in melbourne!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here as family of 4 in a 2 bedroom apartment. Initial impression when arriving is quite impressive. Very new and modern. On entry you walk past a nice looking restaurant (which won’t be their much longer given the lack of patronage we saw there during our stay) which then opens into a pleasant reception area with friendly and efficient staff. Free newspapers in the lobby area which is nice. However, there is no cafe or bar facilities (other than a do-it-yourself Nespresso machine) in the hotel which is a shame as there is a perfect space for one right next to the reception area.

The location is excellent with a lot of the major Melbourne sites within easy walking distance. Federation Square, MCG, Shopping, etc.. Many 7/11s nearby and a Woolworths just around the corner for supplies.

The room itself had a modern kitchenette area with enough basic kit to get you by for a short time. Rooms themselves are new and furnished well enough. View was pleasant but with no balcony, so this was not maximised. The view did include a large crane next door which, fortunately for us, was not being used when we stayed. This could be an issue when you stay - check when booking.

Second bathroom was a good size, clean and modern. En-suite was similar although the shower was an “in a small cheap bath” set up which seemed a bit out of place with the rest of the furnishings and layout.

The main issue we had with the room is that it is really small. As a family of 4 you needed the extra TV in the bedroom to all watch at the same time as you struggled in the living area when all there at once. The second bedroom is 2 singles and a tiny bedside table as you couldn’t fit anything else. The main bedroom was the same with another small table for the TV. I struggled to fit my wallet and phone on the bedside table with the clock and internal phone on it as well and this is not due to the size of my wallet!!! However, a positive is that for a small apartment you had 3 air conditioning zones which was handy.

At night there was a low beat of the music from the nearby club. It only becomes noticeable in the still of the night and if you are a reasonable sleeper then it should not be a problem and for us (and the kids) this was not an issue. But we were on the top floor and so away from the lower levels. I can only guess that the lower you go the closer you are to the club and so the more obvious the noise might be.

There is a reasonable gym, a dry sauna and lap pool (which was heavily over chlorinated). There is a tiny outdoor area which fits just a couple of loungers. With a little more imagination the designers really could have been more creative here and provided a bit more of a family feel/open space.

Checkout was efficient and they provided secure bag storage free of charge which is a much appreciated benefit for those who have a later flight.

Would I come back? We got a good deal with a free night and a cheap rate. We overheard others on checkout who had paid significantly more than us. So we were very happy with our pricing given the location and clean, modern rooms. If we had paid full price I think we would have felt a little disgruntled. So if I got the same rate again then we would definitely consider staying here again but if there was no special then we would give it a miss.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.