We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Collins Hotel

Save Saved
You added Little Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Little Collins Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

As a solo traveller I was looking for somewhere city central which had access to all the amenities.

It's a $10 taxi ride anywhere in the citty and a 2min walk to Bourke street trams.

Staff not overly professional which wasn't a huge problem for me being a young traveller, in saying this they were able to help me with some basic landmarks and where the skybus picks up guests from.

The rooms were clean and bathrooms were brand new, unfortunately the shower fittings were cheap and had to be held by hand if the pressure was too high as it would push the fitting out and flail around the shower.

Would be a bit squashy with 2 loads of luggage but for the one of me it was perfect and I couldn't help but rave about what I got for the price.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is situated in an ideal location with nearby transport and restaurants. It's is in walking distance to the CBD. The room is very small and has a claustrophobia feeling to it. The bed is very low and there is no space for your luggage. The daily cleaning of your room is average. The staff don't have a good knowledge of the city attractions or details about how to get around Melbourne. It would have been nice for the person at the desk to acknowledge you instead of been on the computer and making you feel invisible. You can get a bigger room within Melbourne for the same price with good customer service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Initially was disappointed with first impression of building but the room was FANTASTIC and was just like new.Staff very low-key and friendly.Location was great with tram and free circle tram only few steps away.Good eateries just below the building for breakfast etc plus a million others nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

There were not that many reviews on Little Collins Hotel, Melbourne so I had some concerns before making the booking. However, due to the attractive price offered, location and availability, we decided to take the risk and book it.
We had requested for an early check in (by10am) instead of 2pm since our flight touched down early morning and the hotel was very obliging of this. As it was very cold they pointed us to a quaint cafe a couple of units away that was open and serving great breakfasts so that we could warm up before heading out.
Our room was clean and spacious with minimal furniture. It came with a jug for boiling water and complete coffee/tea making facilities, a modern TV with a fair selection of channels, a hair dryer and even an iron. The towels were changed daily upon request, the coffee/tea restocked and our bed made up .

During our stay we needed to borrow an international adapter as ours was not working and luckily they had one to spare, which we kept throughout our stay there. In typical Melbourne Spring weather pattern, it rained on our second day there and since we were unprepared, the hotel had a spare umbrella that they actually lent us the entire duration we stayed there.

As we had fully paid for our room online prior to checking in, we did not need to have our cards swiped or pay any extra deposits or guarantees unlike other fancy, larger establishments. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, patiently replying all our silly "touristy" queries whenever we passed them.

They held our luggage for free during our last day when we were only departing later in the day and we certainly left with heavy hearts and at the same time very happy that we had made the right decision to stay here. Will certainly be back when we can!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This place gives you a massively overpriced bed only. It is nothing Like the pictures. You get a room above abandoned squash courts. No towel and bed change. We turned up to an abandoned checkin. Waited 10 minutes. While looking for the staff, I walked into a renovation area adjacent where naked barbie and ken dolls were arranged in a sickening fashion. Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The Little Collins were great when we had to change out reservation due to our flights being cancelled by the Ash Cloud.

We arrived and the hotel was an old Forces Club. Rooms only on one floor at present. Im not sure if they have any plans to continue work but if they do I can see this one being a nice Hotel if it is done to a good standard. I almost wanted to have a nose at the different rooms and suites that are shown on the elevator buttons!! Its a nice base as in the city of Melbourne but just doesnt seem to have any character at the moment. Im sure if the Hotel continues to improve its facilities then it will be quite nice.

Room was clean but no table or chairs. Enough wall sockets to start up your own Amusement Arcade!! It just didnt feel right to me. It just wasnt the best and by no means the worst Ive stayed in.

Also strange that no staff are present in late evening/early hours so if you need anything then you have to call them. Wifi also didnt work with my Iphone or a fellow travellers Ipod.

I would recomment this to anyone that does not need a restaurant, and just a base for sleeping until if they are planning new facitlites are added.

If their was an option for not sure if would recomment then I would have used that one but given it the thumbs up as they were helpful and it is in a good location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Collins Hotel

Address: 27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Collins Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Little Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.