We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and tidy, All I could ask for at short notice nothing was an issue!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Collins Hotel

Little Collins Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Little Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Little Collins Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient and tidy, All I could ask for at short notice nothing was an issue!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Will give it another go when I have more time! Checked in late due to Qantas grrr but had a relaxing stay with China town just there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelnutBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

As a solo traveller I was looking for somewhere city central which had access to all the amenities.

It's a $10 taxi ride anywhere in the citty and a 2min walk to Bourke street trams.

Staff not overly professional which wasn't a huge problem for me being a young traveller, in saying this they were able to help me with some basic landmarks and where the skybus picks up guests from.

The rooms were clean and bathrooms were brand new, unfortunately the shower fittings were cheap and had to be held by hand if the pressure was too high as it would push the fitting out and flail around the shower.

Would be a bit squashy with 2 loads of luggage but for the one of me it was perfect and I couldn't help but rave about what I got for the price.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auwortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is situated in an ideal location with nearby transport and restaurants. It's is in walking distance to the CBD. The room is very small and has a claustrophobia feeling to it. The bed is very low and there is no space for your luggage. The daily cleaning of your room is average. The staff don't have a good knowledge of the city attractions or details about how to get around Melbourne. It would have been nice for the person at the desk to acknowledge you instead of been on the computer and making you feel invisible. You can get a bigger room within Melbourne for the same price with good customer service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussies25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Initially was disappointed with first impression of building but the room was FANTASTIC and was just like new.Staff very low-key and friendly.Location was great with tram and free circle tram only few steps away.Good eateries just below the building for breakfast etc plus a million others nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

There were not that many reviews on Little Collins Hotel, Melbourne so I had some concerns before making the booking. However, due to the attractive price offered, location and availability, we decided to take the risk and book it.
We had requested for an early check in (by10am) instead of 2pm since our flight touched down early morning and the hotel was very obliging of this. As it was very cold they pointed us to a quaint cafe a couple of units away that was open and serving great breakfasts so that we could warm up before heading out.
Our room was clean and spacious with minimal furniture. It came with a jug for boiling water and complete coffee/tea making facilities, a modern TV with a fair selection of channels, a hair dryer and even an iron. The towels were changed daily upon request, the coffee/tea restocked and our bed made up .

During our stay we needed to borrow an international adapter as ours was not working and luckily they had one to spare, which we kept throughout our stay there. In typical Melbourne Spring weather pattern, it rained on our second day there and since we were unprepared, the hotel had a spare umbrella that they actually lent us the entire duration we stayed there.

As we had fully paid for our room online prior to checking in, we did not need to have our cards swiped or pay any extra deposits or guarantees unlike other fancy, larger establishments. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, patiently replying all our silly "touristy" queries whenever we passed them.

They held our luggage for free during our last day when we were only departing later in the day and we certainly left with heavy hearts and at the same time very happy that we had made the right decision to stay here. Will certainly be back when we can!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natster2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This place gives you a massively overpriced bed only. It is nothing Like the pictures. You get a room above abandoned squash courts. No towel and bed change. We turned up to an abandoned checkin. Waited 10 minutes. While looking for the staff, I walked into a renovation area adjacent where naked barbie and ken dolls were arranged in a sickening fashion. Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisNZ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The Little Collins were great when we had to change out reservation due to our flights being cancelled by the Ash Cloud.

We arrived and the hotel was an old Forces Club. Rooms only on one floor at present. Im not sure if they have any plans to continue work but if they do I can see this one being a nice Hotel if it is done to a good standard. I almost wanted to have a nose at the different rooms and suites that are shown on the elevator buttons!! Its a nice base as in the city of Melbourne but just doesnt seem to have any character at the moment. Im sure if the Hotel continues to improve its facilities then it will be quite nice.

Room was clean but no table or chairs. Enough wall sockets to start up your own Amusement Arcade!! It just didnt feel right to me. It just wasnt the best and by no means the worst Ive stayed in.

Also strange that no staff are present in late evening/early hours so if you need anything then you have to call them. Wifi also didnt work with my Iphone or a fellow travellers Ipod.

I would recomment this to anyone that does not need a restaurant, and just a base for sleeping until if they are planning new facitlites are added.

If their was an option for not sure if would recomment then I would have used that one but given it the thumbs up as they were helpful and it is in a good location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PUFCMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,612 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#35 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,838 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,904 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Collins Hotel

Address: 27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Little Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing