We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments

Save Saved
You added Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   13 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 9 month old son. We got an upgrade to a 1 bed + study, which was great as our son got his own room. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. As other reviewers have said, being so close to the free city circle tram is a definite advantage.

Pros: close to free tram, clean and reasonably priced

Cons: the blinds don't block out much light, and our apartment was opposite a city office block so the bedroom didn't feel very private

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We took our teenagers down to Melbourne for a 5 day break. We stayed here because it had a pool and was a 2 bedroom apartment.
The location is fantastic with the free city circle tram right outside your door and also the Bixi City bike rentals.The bike ride around the Yarra is a must.
It had a lovely view of the water and the city looked gorgeous at night.
The apartment was a very comfortable size, absolutely spotless and well equipped.
The only thing I will say is ask for a room away from the construction site. There is a new apartment block going up next door and the noise started at 7 am even Saturday.Our teens slept through it but if you had toddlers it could be a problem.
The girl I spoke to on the phone re accommodation was lovely and the 2 male mangers were so accommodating.
We will defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

To say I was unimpressed with Accommodation Star Docklands would be an understatement.

Our room was a major disappointment. Every window we looked out was surrounded by construction sites meaning the curtains had to remain closed on two sides to avoid having workmen watch us. The water view room that I requested was a view of the roof of the pool!!! When trying to watch tv, Foxtel and the tv continually turned itself off making it near impossible to watch a show. The couch in the room was filthy and looked like it had been used by dogs to sleep on and when I went to use the iron it squirted dirty water over my new top and ruined it.

I was overcharged on the price that I was quoted with no offer of reimbursement.
For the $850 paid we could we have spent a luxurious time at one of the Crown hotels but I decided to try something different. I will never bring my family to Accommodation Star Docklands again. This accommodation has been one of the most disappointing I have experienced and has ruined what was meant to be a special celebration weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Star apartments in Docklands is the perfect place to base yourself whilst in the Melbourne CBD area.It was a short walk to Ethiad stadium, loads of restaurants and great shopping. The free tram and visitors bus were right on the doorstep, we didn't have to pay for any transport within the city area.
We stayed for 2 nights in a three bedroom spacious apartment and could have easily stayed for longer. The apartment is in a very secure building, has a large living area, 2 bathrooms, a laundry and 3 generous sized bedrooms. The living area has floor to ceiling windows and a balcony with lovely views. Parking is available if needed and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

These apartments have all you need for a Melbourne short stay. The apartments are well situated in the lovely dockland area (quieter than central accommodation) while being just a 2 minute walk from the trams, and about 5 minute ride to the city centre. There are great eateries at street level, or you can pick your goodies up from the market and use the well equiped kitchens to create your own gourmet meals. The apartments are beginning to show signs of wear and tear, but overall offer great value for money. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our apartment was fantastic to say the least!
We stayed in a 1br + study in the Palladio block. The apartment was very clean, lovely presentation and quality fittings. Just perfect for our family of three as the 'study' is a separate room with single bed. The layout of the apartment was very open with the living area being all glass and therefore light and airy. Location is perfect with an array of restaurants, cafe, gelato, convenience store etc along the docklands boardwalk, walk across the road to Harbourtown Outlet Shopping Centre and 1 minute walk to the tram stop for accessing all around Melbourne (including the 35 City Circle free tram).
Having secure parking for our car without crazy parking costs was a huge bonus. Parking was below the building with internal access to the elevator foyer.
Furthermore, the staff were very friendly and most helpful (we made a change to our booking at the 'eleventh hour' and they were so lovely & willing in trying to help us).
Highly recommend! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was one of the best apartment stays we’ve had as a family. It is modern, new and we felt right at home staying here. The staff care about these apartments and they are well looked after. We could park our car in the secure garage and take the elevator up to our floor. It was ideal with the children as we could go walking around the Docklands area and was also close to get into the city area. It wasn’t noisy and the beds were so very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and an excellent size. There was all the conveniences in the area, restaurants, a little mini market shop nearby and the tram stop. We would stay here again as a family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments

Address: 13 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments is located in the heart of New Quay, Docklands, the newest cultural and entertainment precinct of Melbourne and only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments offer a range of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each of apartments successfully blends spacious interiors, outdoor balconies and spectacular views. For guest convenience each booking includes: swimming pool, gymnasium, security entrance and secure undercover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accommodation Star Docklands Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.