We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and Modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sleek and Modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Within easy walking distance to the CBD, restaurants and bars on Left Bank, Crown Metropol was a modern, minimalist, functional and very comfortable alternative to it's higher priced "sister" hotels within the Crown complex. Our room was quite large and the layout of bathroom etc made it appear even larger as the bathroom looks through to the room via a sliding partition that can be open or closed. All the mod-con's are available in the room - 42" HD LCD TV with plenty of cable channels, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for some time - quality sheets, even support mattress etc. Floor to ceiling windows affording a view down the river. The gym/spa/pool area on the 27th floor was well equiped. Many hotels don't pay much attention to the gym area, Crown Metropol has. Plenty of Life Fitness cardio and strength equipment available along with headphone jacks to access sound for the TV or music. Plenty of towels and water available and the view is again through floor to ceiling windows to help pass the time whilst exercising. The pool is quite large and 1.2m deep (4ft) so is good for swimming and for kids. It has an infinity edge and also looks out through floor to ceiling windows. Plenty of deck chairs available to lie on, though the sun is whatever comes in through the windows - this is not an open air pool. The spa/Jacuzzi is quite large and seats plenty and was a nice temp.

A couple of areas that could be addressed by management include:
We arrived early for checkin (approx 10am) and were told that our room was ready, but if we wanted access to it we could pay $55 for an early entry or come back at 12pm with no charge. I find this a bit disappointing. We arrived with no expectation of early checkin to the room, but if the room is available, why charge? The hotel is not out of pocket at all. Commonsense and great service would be to simply say "Your room is available sir, we can check you in immediately". What a first impression that would be and doesn't cost anything;
Having Crown Complex maps and tourist maps available in the rooms or foyer would really be beneficial (we managed to find a Crown Complex map near a Casino entry and other information was obtained from the Tourist Centre at Federation Square).

A great tip for visitors is to get yourself a "Lane Tours" map for the before-mentioned Tourist Centre and take a walk through the many laneways of the CBD. Here you will find many eateries and shops that you would otherwise not know are there. They are a great alternative to the higher priced food within Crown - especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    930
    555
    164
    57
    35
See reviews for
255
691
66
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed at the Metropol for 6 nights coinciding with the conference. Could not fault it – central location within walking distance to the Convention Centre and the restaurants of the Southbank. The room was spacious and well-appointed and the service was of very high standard. The sound proofing was fabulous as I heard none of the usual hotel noises that interrupt your sleep. The grey gowns provided were just wonderful to lounge around reading magazines included in the room (Gourmet Traveller!) while nibbling on the room service breakfast for one that could easily feed two. The highlight was the pool which was a wonderful relaxation area and not crowded at all. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine, melbourne, vic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the metropol in a loft room for our wedding anniversary and had a fantastic night, the pool facilities on level 27 are the ultimate in luxury as was our room. Staff were great and friendly check in was fast and we got in to our room at 12.00pm and the express check out was a good idea as well, could not recomend highly enough

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I stayed at Metropol with my teeenage son in a twin room for two nights - two fabulous queen size beds were just perfect for us. The room was stylish, modern and spotlessly clean- and well serviced each morning. Pool was great, gym reasonable. Having booked online ( with a great advance purchase price) I thought it was good value for money, and we added on the Club level 28 for an excellent breakfast, generous nibbles with drinks, a choice of wine and several very good cups of coffeee - all of which would have added up to around the cost of the Club if bought seperately. We found the staff friendly and extremely helpful,and enjoyed being able to walk inside the complex to dinner given the typical cold night air of Melbourne in October. Great location for me as I was at the Conference Centre- 3 mins walk away. I haven't stayed at either of the other Crowns so no basis for comparison. Overall, though, I thought it was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Recently stayed at the Crown Metropol for three nights. We found the hotel to be excellently located. The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool on the 27th floor was a must!
Would recommend to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed at the Crown Metropol for 4 nights with husband.
Accommodation was of a high standard. Room really clean with great view. The pool and surrounding area was amazing. Spend hours sitting in the spa watching the hustle and bustle of the city below us.
Great location, heaps of dining options within the Crown complex. The room was fine for the two of us but as already mentioned the open plan layout of the bathroom could be awkward.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I had read all the reviews before booking so I was expecting a reasonable stay but was still impressed. Couldnt find any fault with the hotel or staff no matter how hard I looked (seriously I thought there would have to be something wrong somewhere but no). Loved the large comfy beds and endless supply of towels. Pool was amazing and was even surprised by a spa pool and sauna in each of the changing rooms. We stayed 4 nights and did book at Maze for dinner prior to going which I think was a good idea as they seemed fairly busy even for a sunday night. The waitress was kind enough to give us a look at the kitchen also.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.