We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was all good... until check-out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“It was all good... until check-out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in Melbourne in May. The hotel is very trendy and modern, the rooms are nicely appointed with nice touches like having the last fashion, food and travel magazines. Whilst the toiletries were hotel-branded, they were beautiful products. We used the hotel facilities like the gym, sauna and pool and all were amazing. The infinity pool at the top floor is one of the best I've seen.

They had a buffet breakfast and the service at the restaurant was absolutely atrocious. I ordered a latte, and when it didn't come for 20 mins, I politely asked a waitress to follow up. Instead of saying sure, as one would expect, the waitress yelled "well, how long have you been waiting? You know the kitchen is backed up!!" What kind of restaurant has this kind of service?!

The queue at check-out was very long and we waited nearly an hour to check-out. To make matters worse, the hotel had this not-so-bright idea to offer free valet parking to people that weekend. What it meant was that there were literally hundreds of people waiting in the lobby and outside the hotel after they've checked out, waiting for their cars, which was parked by the valet staff in the casino parking next door. It was complete chaos.

Whilst the hotel itself is beautiful, I would not recommend it to others due to the atrocious service and the long wait we had to endure to check out and get our car from valet parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    612
    174
    63
    39
See reviews for
286
763
73
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our first stay was in June where I could not rave high enough ,this time however things were slightly dufferent. The cleanliness of the room was not up to scratch......you could see grimy finger marks all over the screens for the bathroom and on the black paintwork on the walls. Attempts to clean this was obvioius because of the huge wipe marks everywhere.

The pool again was the highlight of out trip and the breakfast buffet was again good. My huge disappointment was coming back from breakfast at 9am to find housekeeping stripping my beds (my checkout was to be 11am). I asked them to leave and they did but I was left with an upturned room. It just wasn't the same.....so we left early. Will probably stay at Promenade next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Swanky, simply swanky. Check-in, after the $25/night valet park, was smooth followed by a deliberately dark walk to the security controlled elevator bank. The décor is dark. The hallway to the rooms is dark. The ultra modern room, however was bright with a wall to wall floor to ceiling window. The good sized room had a comfy king-sized duvet covered bed, black out curtains, a built-in 42” Sharp hi-def, I-pod clock radio, wall safe, coffer/tea, robe, iron and board, huge walk in shower (no tub)and flashy bathroom fixtures. It is quite a room. The hotel itself is huge and a new component of the Crown properties that anchor the conference centre, casino, Gordon Ramsay restaurant, many more restaurants, high end shops, food court, 14 cinemas, a few night clubs and several bars. The connected mall exits to the river walk promenade. Hotel amenities include wireless at $25/24 hours, in room multi-media wall panel including HDMI connection, 24 hour Gordon Ramsay room service, min-bar, 25 m infinity pool, gym and spa. My only complaint was a face cloth, left by a previous guest, was hanging in the shower and a coffee cup was stained. If you’re visit is dining, shopping, going to the cinema, gambling or the spa this is a great elegant choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Valet parking-no delays, easy. checked in at 11.30am, again no delays. Room was spotless, comfortable and luxurious. Ate at Rockpool for lunch-amazing food, service impeccable $220.00 for 2. Dinner at Maze again amazing, $210. Breakfast was plenty and many selections to chose from-delicious. Cost was $275 for the room with valet parking, sparkling wine and 2 times breakfast. Would we go back-hell yes!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just back from our trip and our stay at the Metropol was probably the highlight of our time in Melbourne. I was a little apprehensive about the service after reading some negative reviews on TA but we had no problems whatsoever. Our check in and out was a breeze, and the valet parking was fast and fuss free.

The hotel looks as good as in the pictures. The lobby was plush and always quiet and calm, the artwork and furnishings adding a stylish vibe to the place. And the room! We’ve stayed at the Crown Promenade and the Westin during our last Melb stay and we tried the Sebel for the first part of this trip, but the Metropol beats them all. The room was surprisingly large, everything was stylish and the views from our room on the 25th floor were awesome. The bed was the fluffiest and most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in, if only we could bring it back with us! Not everyone will like the Japanese screen toilet doors but I actually thought it added to the design of the room. In any case, the screens were thick and relatively opaque and the bath and toilet stalls had individual doors so privacy really isn’t that much of an issue. My only complaint would be that the bath and toilet stalls were too basic and plain, not quite up to scratch for such a hotel.

The location was pretty good, cafes and expensive shopping abound and Southbank is a nice area. It’s a bit of a walk to some parts of the city, but there are trams and trains available and you can grab a cab easily from the hotel. The pool and the gym were both great and the maze burger on the room service menu was yummy.

Oh, and we were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates! Loved the Metropol, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010 via mobile

We stayed in room 2247 the views were lovely the food at maze was fantastic for all meals the pool was great but that is where the nice comments stop we had two couples on our first night we were tired and ordered room service the table provided was only big enough for one person and their were only two chairs so we had no choice but to sit cross legged onthe bed and eat on our laps we were told the room was spacious it was smaller than my bedroom no comfort at all the bed was horrible I and two other members woke up with very sore backs the most uncomfortable nights sleep I had in a long time pillows were good though air-condition did not work called down no one came up as it was a weekend decor was nice now onto the bathroom the most stupid design no privacy when someone is in shower steam somed in the entire room as bathroom has no walls and a 1/2 metre gap along one side and if someone actually used the toilet for anything other than water works the smell would go throughout the entire room very bad design and not enough towels for 4 people overall this room and hotel is not worth $300 a night maybe $100 but I will not stay here again took 8 days to refund my $100 dollars bond even though room was paid for in advance by our company pool was lovely

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon & took full advantage if the luxurious room, amazing in room dining from 'maze'. The spa treatments were reverent and peaceful and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Loved it, thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.