We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for overnight stay in the CBD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for overnight stay in the CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Crown Metropol was the perfect location for our overnight stay to see a show. The room was ideal and all what we needed. Look out for internet deals on their website because we got a great rate. Everything is in walking distance. Crown complex is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Your comments are greatly appreciated.

It sounds like you had a great overnight stay!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    734
    220
    74
    47
See reviews for
374
956
92
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Shocked that this is currently only #20 of the best hotels in Melbourne - I found it to be exquisite!

Check in was a very pleasant experience, and the rooms that we were in on the 15th floor (one a twin and the other a Queen) definitely had the WOW factor - we were speechless in terms of how impressed that we were.

Room amenities were fantastic, and amongst the best that I've seen, though I couldn't help but wish for a more accessible plug socket near to the bed for mobile phone charging.

Breakfast in room was nothing special, and a little disappointing - though I did only order it on the one morning when I was off on an early morning excursion and needed to eat beforehand. Service was very prompt and courteous.

Didn't get chance to try the swimming pool, every time I went up there were always kids mucking about in there, but it has to be the pool with the best view that I've ever seen. Instead, I enjoyed the vitality pools in the changing rooms, which were super relaxing!

Cannot find anything really to fault this hotel on, and I will definitely be staying again next time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Being high up may be a bonus to you, but unless you're facing the river, you're only going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, in regards to your breakfast experience, I offer my sincere apologies.
I can assure you this feedback has been shared with our chef.

In saying that, it is always pleasing to read that our guests will definitely be back!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed in a twin room on 17th floor. Room has a modern and inviting feel with two comfortable queen beds. After reading reviews on here about the sliding partition bathroom, I was a little worried about privacy, however I found the bathroom to be beautifully accessorised and the frosted doors that completely close off toilet and shower to be more than enough. We made sure we went up and used the pool area, which was wonderful!! The change room also have a steam shower which we didn't use as we had children. I could have spent hours relaxing beside the pool on the lounges just taking in the view of the city, but we ran out of time. A great hotel, will visit again!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

The pool is by far one of the star attractions of the Hotel.
Located on the 27th floor, the view is amazing!

It was great to read that you and the family enjoyed the time with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here last week for a work conference. Rooms are excellent quality - very clean and well presented.

Didn't get much time to use the facilities, but it all looked very nice especially the pool area - overall, the Hotel is very good and the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback.
It was great to read that you enjoyed the room and location.

Hopefully we get to see you on a leisure trip next time, and you can take advantage of the facilities!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Why spend $380 a night at The Langham when you get the same here & possibly better for $250? Only disappointment was there was no bath. So my baby had to get washed in the basin. Mr Hive restaurant had the MOST tasty food I've eaten for a while.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us!

In regards to baths, we do have them available in our loft suites.
Otherwise, please let us know next time and we would be more than happy to organise a babies bath for you.

Thank you also for the feedback about our food, our chef will be very happy to hear it!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived at Crown Metropol to be greeted by really friendly staff members, from the valet, to reception staff. A gentleman greeted my husband with birthday congratulations and proceeded to tell me that we'd been upgraded to a suite!! I couldn't believe it. Our room no. was 1935 and we could not have been happier - gorgeous views across the river, city and bay. A little later on, upon returning to our suite, there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a box of chocolates. We were thrilled. Thank you. Later on again, we returned to our room to find our bed turned down and chocolates again by our pillow. When we checked out, there was a car freshener attached. Now yes, these would not cost a lot, but it's not about money that I'm writing. To be treated like this, when there's nothing for the Hotel to gain, is to make two everyday people feel incredibly special and looked after. So often, we hear of 'noteworthy' people, who expect certain privileges, or make demands on Hotel staff. I believe, that it's the little things in life that go such a long way and we appreciated every single touch Crown Metropol offered us.

I chose Crown Metropol, as we were going on the Tram Restaurant for dinner (right opposite) and also because after much research of the surrounding hotels, this one appealed. The staff were nothing but friendly and helpful. The valet parking attendant was lovely (and I believe every single staff member is important), the reception staff were efficient, friendly, courteous and warm. We ate at Mr. Hive's Café and again, the staff were attentive and friendly. We used the pool and felt comfortable and relaxed. Our suite was spotless, beautifully presented and decorated. We sat on the floor by the window and watched the world go by.
Yes it can be expensive, the Day Spa particularly so, but we loved our stay at Crown Metropol.
People don't take enough time these days to pay a compliment, we had the BEST time. Thank you for all those little touches that may be insignificant to others, but for us, meant the world to our stay.

Room Tip: High floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
What an absolutely lovely review.

I am so pleased that you had a great time, and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
You can be assured that I have personally shared your review with the whole team here at Metropol.

Thank you!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensborough, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked on the weekend of the Australian Open, and the hotel was extremely busy due to this. Our room was on a high floor, and the view was fantastic. Could not fault anything. Extremely large room, comfy king size bed. Everything that opened and shut was provided in the room. The price was also extremely good for the quality of the accommodation. Check in and out was without any fuss. We parked in the Crown car park which is next door and was secure (because it is busy day and night) and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor

The Australian Open is a fantastic time to visit Melbourne!
It sounds like you had a great time while you were here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,439 reviews
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.