We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***** Very Classy Hotel *****” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“***** Very Classy Hotel *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

After staying at Crown Promenade many times, this was our first stay at the newer Crown Metropol, and we were not disappointed. It is a very classy hotel - we had the twin bed room but there was still plenty of room to move around. The beds and pillows are really comfortable - we want to get the same for home now! The bathroom is modern and spacious. And the wall mounted TV with Foxtel was a hit along with the large selection of the latest magazines to read.

We checked in around 3pm on Saturday hoping to get a swim in before dinner... but after viewing it through the window near the elevators, we saw that it was way too crowded (kids everywhere!). We decided to get up early and have a swim before brekky. Fortunately there was only a couple of people then so we got to appreciate the beauty and tranquility of the pool area (which I so wanted to experience after watching that episode of "Offspring"!).

Love the Crown Metropol and look forward to returning there again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Sounds like you had a great stay with us!

We love that you love the Hotel, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    654
    192
    67
    44
See reviews for
319
830
82
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

yes i can say checkin a breeze about 50 secs forgot my credit card at reception was so fast left it on the counter, concierge had in my hand before we even got to the room brilliant. now the room 2350 evey thing was perfect i mentioned it was my 60th. bottle of wine and chocs sent up was very much appreciated ,room was spotless and very well presented ,went up to the 28th flr had a few cocktails asked for a real bloody mary and got the best ive ever had the pool was very popular and looked great, then ventured on down to the room got changed and off to the" Merrywell" for a birthday celeb,( check out my revue) it was excellent then off to the tables and a few drinks, bit of music as always theres plenty to do a very enjoyable time had by all thank u crown we'll be back

Room Tip: the higher the foor the better it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate that you decided to stay with us for your special occasion.
It was wonderful to read the team took great care of you.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Another great stay at Crown metrolpol.
Check in was a breeze. We got offered a selection of upgrades, for a nominal fee, however I decided against it, as have been happy with the normal room anyway.
Beds are super comfy. Pillows & donnas great.
Love the large selection of the latest edition magazines for you to have.
We actually parked in the Crown multi level carpark, rather than valet parking, & it was a flat rate of $18.
Only let down was the pool. It was so crowded it was nearly impossible to find 2 seats. There were hundreds (or so it seemed) of kids & adults there, diving, bombing, splashing etc. The spa looked like a sardine can, there were so many people squeezed into it ~ and the noise level was close to deafening.
Needless to say, on a weekend away without our kids, we didn't hang around too long!
Its great that the hotel is family friendly (we have stayed with ours before), but perhaps a separate adults pool would be a great addition.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really quiet, so probably doesn't matter much
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is always great to hear from a regular return guest. This is by far the best compliment!
We understand that the pool has been busy the past few weeks, this is mainly due to school holidays.
Hopefully on your next visit you will get to have a little more relaxation in this area.

Look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Check in was confusing due to being to being told I had 28 access and checked in from there (it's really a seperate line on the ground floor).

Room smelt musty, poor lighting and a note saying don't open blinds due to window cleaning.
iPhone dock on clock did not work, numbers worn off TV remote, poorly made bed - the bottom sheet all untucked.
Uncomfortable pillows and no selection (not even a standard pillow in cupboard).
Metropol branded toiletries, in a bathroom that looked ordinary - glass doors on toilet and shower looked prison like - without quite enough frosting to feel private.

Level 28 had a lack of seating - mean standing and waiting at breakfast, buffet area smal and cramped, couldn't see the coffee r eggs (made to order maybe? - but who to ask everyone rushing around). At pre-dinner drinks they were out of stock of what was on the list as part of the package.

A lack-lustre experience and for the NYE I think was a waste of money. You go to a 5-star hotel wishing you never have to leave, well I checked about about 10am I couldn't wait to leave.

Never again. If you want a Crown Experience I would suggest Promenade.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It sounds like you didn’t have the best experience at the hotel.
I would be happy to discuss your stay in more detail, and can be contacted on the details below.


Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
61-3-9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Booked a 1 night package, including access to the 128 lounge and valet parking. We arrived 2 hours early as we had made arrangements for lunch and thought we could drop our bags off - our car was immediately taken from us by an extremely pleasant valet parking attendant who provided us with directions on where we were going for our lunch and when we went into the Hotel we were booked in even although we were early. The staff were exceptionally pleasant. The room was great and the 128 Lounge extremely nice. The prices were overall very reasonable and the pool area was superb, with access also to the gym and although slightly away from the main casino area it was only a short walk away. Location was excellent. We will be returning regularly.

Room Tip: We had a higher room and this provided good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to read your experience from the moment you arrived was a positive one.
You can be assured I have shared your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a regular!

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a very practical hotel situated close to all happenings in Melbourne. Rooms and facilities are excellent with the friendly staff only too willing to help in any way. Would highly recommend this to family and friends. Loved it.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and room was very quiet - not there for the view. The view on the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We sincerley appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends!
Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here over the christmas holidays & completey enjoyed it as so the kids. In the heart of the crown complex which was good as everything you need was right there. Only a couple of little things that were a let down was no free carparking & daily service was not quiet up to scratch. But saying that it wasn't really a issue the views were amizing from our room the pool area was amazing. I do highly recommened staying here as i did get it for a good price will definetly stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.