We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but lots of kids ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but lots of kids ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was very comfortable at Metropol, the rooms were clean and functional, comfy bed and pillows and good amenities. It was fairly quiet and well located although it is a bit of a hike to the middle of the cbd. My only complaints are that the meal served by room service was cold and suboptimal for the price and I had to queue for ages to check in and out. The pool area which is fantastic and very relaxing (well should be) was full of children which may be due to the time of year but as this is the least expensive of the Crown hotels it is perhaps the pick for families. I'd return - it doesn't exude "luxury" and the staff are fairly informal but it's got a good vibe and loads of eating options nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    610
    173
    63
    39
See reviews for
284
760
73
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in a twin queen room for one night with our 2 children on a very hot melbourne day. The room was lovely and clean and spacious enough for our purposes. We enjoyed the pool on level 27 and its gorgeous views, the pool was nice and clean. Breakfast on level 28 was good, but pricey compared to other hotel buffets, the selection was standard not amazing. The view was lovely on a bright sunny morning. As always with crown hotels the service was impeccable and cleanliness spot on. We would definitely stay here again with our children but if you are after luxury treat yourself to crown towers there is quite a difference!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I'd like to thank crown metropol for the best weekend for my family we were celebrating a 45th wedding anniversary and my sisters 40th birthday. We had rooms with a fantastic view in both a bottle of champers and chocolates for my parents and an amazing breakfast to finish off. We certainly will come back again.
Thanks again!

Room Tip: The higher your up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoxton Park, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Metropol because Trip Adviser said it was the cheapest one that met our needs. The rate was $180 and it lived up to the reviews! The foyer and room was modern, clean and well looked after. Ok, so our level 8 room looked over a carpark, who cares! Beyond that was a beautiful Melbourne skyline. The room service was served hot, which is always nice. The amenities were lovely and were of a premium standard.
The checkout was painless and efficient. Nothing was a problem for any of the staff. Overall it was a very good experience and I highly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I use the Metropolitan for both business and leisure trips to Melbourne.

The porter and check in experience is friendly, efficient and any special requests are generally accommodated.

The rooms are generous, light filled and beautifully decorated. The rooms are always spotless - housekeeping really take pride in their job!! The bathroom has a great little amenity kit to make your stay comfortable. I normally struggle with the air conditioning in hotels, however the room temp was easy to control and set. We tried room service during this stay, as it comes from the kitchen at Mr Hive. It was excellent. When I placed the order I was advised a 30 minute wait for delivery, however the meals arrived within 15 minutes - fresh, hot and full of flavour.

The only pain point? We have been placed on 26th floor and although the views are spectacular, we are right beneath the hotel gym facilities. The room literally shakes when the dedicated folk doing weights decide to drop their bars or hand weights after a set. It's particularly annoying when you are awoken at 6am on a Saturday morning.

So the top tip - stay at this hotel, it is brilliant - just avoid the 26th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the 26th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very disappointed. The overall experience was one of "get them in in, charge them, with a 1.85% credit card surcharge, and get them out".
Good things - good sized rooms, excellent housekeeping, very efficient lifts, good location for South bank.
But check in/out was lousy. Had to queue for over 10 minutes on way in, then asked for photo ID. Then the staff said they would have to call my wife (same surname) in whose name the booking was before I could check in, despite the room being paid for on my credit card. When she wasn't available I then had to handover my mobile phone to prove that I had a confirmation number.
You don't get a second chance to make a first impression.
Check out was similarly cumbersome and relatively impolite.
Breakfast staff showed a bit of attitude - felt like our presence at breakfast for $38 plus credit card surcharge - was an imposition.
Uncomfortable bedding.
The overwhelming experience was one of "we don't really want you here, but we'll have your money, upsell you to many overpriced options in the precinct and then charge you a credit card surcharge" (how do people usually pay at these hotels? gold bullion? Just put the $3 into the tariff)
Despite the sophisticated advertising, had more of an upscale motel feel about it (down to the packets of Blend 43 in the rooms).
Many better options within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great size rooms, good beds with top sheet!, fab pool overlooking the city, great spa and hairdressing services. Just lovely - will be back again.
Service is great from the concierge and the front desk as well as the restaurant and the spa. Aveda products used in the spa. Shopping mall just a few steps away as are the restaurants on the riverwalk and the casino.

Room Tip: Either side is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.