We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value for its location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional value for its location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A great 5 star experience. Huge spacious rooms with great views. I have stayed here a few times now and it's always great. One of hr few hotels also with a great breakfast bar. Great hotel for business stay or romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    922
    551
    164
    56
    34
See reviews for
252
685
66
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had the very great pleasure to stay at the Crown Metropol for two nights while on a business trip. Who lucky was I?? Very! The check in staff were exceptional, even the staff I encountered in the lift made sure I was taken care of and also asked how much more the could do. While it is a good 10 minute walk to all the best of Melbourne CBD if you walk the "right way" you get to see and feel the best of Melbourne SouthBank, the Crown Casino and the fabulous Yarra River. The room was large enough to feel like home and the bed was so big I couldn't decide which way I should sleep. The only problem was the room felt a little 'stuffy'. It was difficult to get the aircon temp right, but a minor complaint. I did use the gym and it was outstanding, enough equipement and a great view. The 28 bar was good, though service on a Monday night was very very very slow. Overall, would go back again and next time swim in the awesome pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, everything is immaculate. The room was large and had everything you could need. The location was fantastic, the casino, Southbank and South Wharf all on your doorstep, no need for taxis or a car, even the city centre is only a short stroll away. The pool and spa area is amazing, the infinity edge pool overlooking the city is great and the lounge area is the perfect spot to relax and unwind. Plenty of restaurants and bars, which again are a short walk away. The only negative for us was the breakfast, I like the all you can eat buffet but the cost was far too high, especially for a family of three. We weren't advised of the cost prior to the breakfast either, so felt tricked into paying it. Other than that it was a great night in the city and we have already rebooked to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love this hotel and no matter how many times we say we should try somewhere else, we always return. Perfect location, great decor, comfy beds. Only downside is that there is no discount to have breakfast within the hotel. Wold be ideal to eat at Mr Hives however it is very expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel room was great, beds are comfy and the it was very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and go out of their way to help you.
Although a little pricey, it's worth it. You don't need to go anywhere else in Melbourne if you don't want to. It really is a little city within the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once a month and I love the hotel it's kept up to 5 star standards. The pool has amazing views and is very relaxing to sit in the spa when it's not full of kids. The only downfall is the Mr. Hive breakfast which is not good at all and we always walk over to crown to have the amazing buffet breakfast there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed there last night to celebrate a family birthday and enjoyed the whole experience. Room was excellent as was breakfast on 28th floor. I found the staff very helpful and professional without being over the top. Just one suggestion, I think that wifi should be included in the room cost. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.