We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, Great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, Great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, everything is immaculate. The room was large and had everything you could need. The location was fantastic, the casino, Southbank and South Wharf all on your doorstep, no need for taxis or a car, even the city centre is only a short stroll away. The pool and spa area is amazing, the infinity edge pool overlooking the city is great and the lounge area is the perfect spot to relax and unwind. Plenty of restaurants and bars, which again are a short walk away. The only negative for us was the breakfast, I like the all you can eat buffet but the cost was far too high, especially for a family of three. We weren't advised of the cost prior to the breakfast either, so felt tricked into paying it. Other than that it was a great night in the city and we have already rebooked to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    671
    198
    69
    45
See reviews for
328
860
83
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love this hotel and no matter how many times we say we should try somewhere else, we always return. Perfect location, great decor, comfy beds. Only downside is that there is no discount to have breakfast within the hotel. Wold be ideal to eat at Mr Hives however it is very expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel room was great, beds are comfy and the it was very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and go out of their way to help you.
Although a little pricey, it's worth it. You don't need to go anywhere else in Melbourne if you don't want to. It really is a little city within the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once a month and I love the hotel it's kept up to 5 star standards. The pool has amazing views and is very relaxing to sit in the spa when it's not full of kids. The only downfall is the Mr. Hive breakfast which is not good at all and we always walk over to crown to have the amazing buffet breakfast there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed there last night to celebrate a family birthday and enjoyed the whole experience. Room was excellent as was breakfast on 28th floor. I found the staff very helpful and professional without being over the top. Just one suggestion, I think that wifi should be included in the room cost. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Crown Metropol for our Anniversay recently and I cannot tell you how wonderful our experience was from check-in to check-out. The staff here are just devine and all credit to themselves and their management as there service was effortless and genuine.
It started with an upgrade on arrival and the chilled champagne in our room was such a lovely touch.
We had lunch at Atlantic and the service and seafood there was excellent, we then enjoyed a swim in the most devine pool overlooking the CBD. We had access to the the awseome level 28 bar for drinks for 2 hours in the evening (included in our package) before going to Gold Class at the Casino complex.
Our room was beautiful (it had private access to the Day Spa and Pool), we had a wonderful view of the bay in the distance, it was very clean the bathroom was spotless. Oh and the super king size bed was just sooooo amazingly comfortable we actually bought a Sealy bed on our way home!!
The location is perfect as there is a walkway from the hotel to the Crown Casino complex, with access to all the wonderful shops, restaurants, bars, cinema etc.
This is not a cheap stay but if you want a really wonderful experience, and to be treated as a Guest should be treated then I really do recommend this hotel, it is just beautiful. It was a great way to reminisce on our 16 years together!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect as we had a view of the Bay in the distance which makes you feel like you are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After much time looking for a hotel in Melbourne we decided on the Metropol as I had a room and breakfast deal. Arrived at 1am and there was no concierge or porter to help with luggage just 2 staff standing at reception, for 5 star not very good. The room was very nice but lacked a bit of class and things, again for 5 star hotel. Having no bath was a bit inconvenient for a family even though I knew this before booking, the shower had a cheap looking shower head, we stayed at the Crown Promenade Melbourne as well and this had a much better shower head, 4.5 star and older. The glass screen between the shower and toilet is not very private, especially if you were staying in a room with a friend rather then family. There was no where to hang wet clothes(bathers) above the shower, once again the Promenade had a clothes line above the shower. We were looking forward to breakfast buffet at Mr Hive's Kitchen which was included, unfortunately not a lot of choice of food, most mornings the scrambled egg was not hot, coffee took a long time to come out. The pool was very nice with a great view from the 27th floor.

Won't stay again at the Metropol and most likely any Crown hotel as we have stayed at Perth Metropol, Melbourne Metropol and Promenade. Very expensive for what you get when you get much more from other hotels with 4 and 4.5 stars. The service is just not very friendly, some staff are great but not all.

Room Tip: We had 2 queen beds which take up a lot of room, looks out towards Port Phillip Bay not the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.