We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #23 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have always stayed at Crown Towers but got a great deal on Metropol via the secret deals on Wotif. I will always stay at Metropol from now on instead of Crown Towers. The rooms are very similar in size and are of the same quality. The staff and service re the same as Towers. Location is just as good it's just the other end of the Casino (right near the cinemas). Considering Metropol is approx 40% cheaper it is amazing value compared to the Towers. I highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    578
    167
    59
    37
See reviews for
272
719
69
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed in 2466 on a trip to attend a concert. We paid $250 a night on a web deal.

Check in was smooth and the operator was friendly. The room (a twin, with two queen beds) was lovely and the view spectacular (over convention and the river).

The bathroom lacked privacy (frosted doors for the shower and toilet were pretty well see-through, and the surrounding sliding doors kept little noise in). Lighting was also terrible for makeup application. There was no bath but the bathroom was of good size.

The gym was really well equipped (multiple of most cardio items, and plenty of weight systems) and the pool AMAZING. It was far more relaxing in the morning/midday, by afternoon it started to fill up with kids practising their 'bombs'

The ice machine on our floor was broken and remained that way for the duration of our stay despite us reporting it daily.

We only at from the hotel (room service) once, meals were mixed in quality/taste.

The hotel was well located, with a walkway on the first floor connecting it to the casino complex. A tram stop was just across the road, or the casino stop a slightly longer walk. The 96 tram made it super easy to get in to the city or St kilda.

Overall I enjoyed my stay but a few factors that should be easily rectifiable stopped it from reaching full marks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked the Crown Metropol on a recommendaton of a friend. I was looking for a Hotel for a special birthday. I was not disappointed. The Hotel is modern, clean and spacious with great Restaurants and shopping at your Fingertips.
The iNFINITY POOL was second to none.The Stunning views of the Melbourne Sky Line and the ambience of he Infinity Pool was soothing and relaxing.
We swam in the Pool in the evening and in the morning and we considered ourselves lucky as we were the only ones in the Pool.It was all about timing.
The Corner Room was very spacious, very quiet with great views towards the Bay and across the Freeway.

Room Tip: Experience swimming in The Infinity Pool at night and in the morning to experience the different moo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very impressive hotel with smooth and professional check-in upon arrival. Room well appointed with all necessary amenities on hand. Great coffee and tea selection. Spacious bathroom, no bath, only shower. Comfortable bed however pillows too soft. House keeping excellent!
Check-out only let down as female staff member seemed inattentive.
Ideal conference rooms. Level 28 great place for views and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently for a week long business meeting. The hotel is very luxurious and modern. Service is great. Staff very friendly and helpful. I had a room on the 14th floor with excellent views.
Breakfast offers a huge variety of choices. The restaurant has a modern cuisine at reasonable pricing.
The rooms were clean most of the time, but supplies were only replenished every second day.
The place is walking distance to all of crown restaurants and bars and clubs.
Parking at crown was also reasonable for $15 per day, whilst my colleague used valet paring at $40 per day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I payed over $400 for the night in the king suite and my booking form even said "spectacular view" .... My view was a PARKING LOT! And there wasn't even a bath.. only a small shower with a tiny shower head definitely won't be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was taken to Metropol for a birthday surprise. Started off with a tranquil treatment at Isika Day Spa. Set up of spa & treatment rooms very impressive, as were the staff & quality of massages.

Following a very relaxing 1.5hrs we went down to the room, a Loft suite. As soon as I opened the door I knew we were in for a luxurious & relaxing weekend. Spacious & well appointed lounge room with HUGE TV. Decent sized bedroom with a very comfy king bed. Then the pièce de résistance - the bathroom! Up there with the best I've seen. Bath tub was huge, love a TV to watch when you're in the bath if you feel the need. All amenities, branded as Metropol, you need on hand.

Club lounge (which any guests in Hotel can access for a fee) was good. The venue, 28 Lounge, was great with fantastic view of the city. Drinks offered - sparkling, red, white & basic spirits. Only issue was wines weren't of a great standard, most you could pick up at a bottle shop down the road for about $10 a bottle. Nevertheless it was a very nice space to be in and there's a full bar menu/wine list available (as space is also a bar open to public) for those seeking something other than the Club 28 drinks. Breakfast at 28 Lounge was great, everything you could need, freshly cooked eggs/etc on request, GREAT coffee (always a big plus) and again the space - very pleasant place to enjoy & spend time in.

Hotel gym was fantastic! Good range of machines, free weights, plenty of space & what a view!! We didn't use the pool as it got too busy but it looked quite satisfactory.

Check out was a bit of a mess, too many people all checking out at the same time at a desk that wasn't set up for such a rush. Thankfully they offered express check out, a simple form filled out and dropped in a box to be charged to your credit card.

All in all had a great weekend at The Metropol, highlights being Isika Day Spa & the Loft suite. Oh, and almost forgot to mention the room service food, provided by Mr Hive, top notch!!

Room Tip: If you can do it go for the Loft Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was fantastic to read you took advantage of most of the Hotel facilities during your stay.

I have to agree with you that the breakfast in “28” is a real treat (including the coffee!)
We were lucky enough to be voted the best hotel breakfast in the latest edition of Wish magazine this month.

Sounds like it was a great weekend, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.