We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Will stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Will stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This has been our hotel of choice the last couple of times we have been in Melbourne. Rooms are clean and spacious enough for a family of four. Location is great, all amenities and restaurants within the complex. Easy access to trams and a short walk to the city shops.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    606
    173
    63
    39
See reviews for
282
753
70
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

While not as opulent as its sister property next door, this is a really nice hotel. It also has a uber cool New York inspired design which will appeal to the hipsters. The rooms are great with everything you could wish for. The real highlight is the rooftop pool. A swim at dawn is an experience of a lifetime and worth the tariff by itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights.The service was great from all staff.Valet was also very good having my car delivered in a few minutes.It is $50 a day for valet or you can stay in the multi level that connects to the hotel for $11 a day.Make sur you go in the multi level as the under ground is $35 a day.The hotel connects to all parts of the casina and the location is outstanding.The room was very clean new and had amaing views of Melbourne.THe room had a comfy bed and nice sitting area.We had dinner at the spice temple (Neil Perry)which is highly recommended, the food was amazing.It is located at the other end of the casino.The pool is great wit a swim up window with views.Only issue was at that price i should have free wifi and not have to pay $25 a day for it.
Other than that would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Multi level carpark is cheap at $11 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights mid-week in March 2013. Everything about our stay was luxuriuos; the lobby, the room, the shower, and most certainly the pool.The room was absolutely clean and well-appointed.

Tips:
Definitely use the beautiful pool/spa at least once. Sitting in the infinity pool looking out over Melbourne is a great experience. Was probably very lucky that I had the pool to myself mid-day on a Wednesday.

Skip room service. There is much better food within the Crown complex, for the same or slightly higher prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

To be clear the hotel was nice and the room was fantastic. I had a large room, a comfortable bed and had great access to the spa and gym facilities. The problem was not just the high cost, but the perceived trickery on the issue of WiFi. I was told by one front desk person that my room upgrade charge (like all Australian hotels it seems these days there is an upgrade game that goes on at check in for extra fees, that I bought into this time) provided that WiFi was free. This was confirmed a few hours after check in by Concierge who had to review my room info on a computer. However I got hit at checkout with a huge ($25/day) WiFi fee. In total not huge part of the overall cost of a 4 night stay with meals and spa etc, but it totally left me feeling down about the hotel. The hotel is nice, but for their prices it should be nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed here two nights in March for a conference at the convention centre. Room was amazing, huge and classy. Great location too if you want to be close to the casino, south bank etc. only downside was we thought the meals in the restaurant were over priced for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was thrilled to read that you and your wife had a fantastic stay at the Hotel.
We are quite lucky to be located where we are, with Melbourne’s facilities and attractions at our doorstep!

Thank you also for your comments regarding the pricing in the restaurant, I have passed this feedback onto our Executive Chef for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Love love love this hotel and am now a regular visitor.
Immaculate in every aspect !!
The decor , the beds that you never want to get out of , the scrumptious food , from the moment you reach valet to checking out is always a fantastic experience ... BUT the only thing I would say as a negative is the lighting in bathroom is very poor
But don't let that stop you from having the Metropol experience !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We love that you love the hotel!

I am even more pleased that you are now one of our regulars, this is by far the greatest compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Please also feel free to make contact with myself, as I am always happy to personally welcome our return guests.


Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
+61 3 9292 8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.