We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel near the Convention Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kamloops
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quality hotel near the Convention Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for four nights while attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention center. This is a five star modern hotel. The rooms were large, clean and nicely furnished. Lots of closet space with a safe available. Housecoats and thongs (flipflops) provided. Well stocked minibar with coffee/tea/hot chocolate. This is the first place I have stayed that even provided vitamins to purchase from the snack bar. The bathroom is large with lots of counter space, a private toilet space and a LARGE shower. The hotel room was very quiet.
The hotel is directly across the street from the Melbourne Exhibition Center and is connected to the Crown Hotel and Casino complex. There are lots of restaurants and highend places to shop nearby. The hotel infinty pool is on the 28th floor and offers amazing views of the city.
We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed a huge buffet each morning in the Mr. Hive restaurant. Lots of fruit, pastries, yoghurt at one bar. Hot foods like eggs, bacon, beans, pancakes, sausages etc at another. Toast and juice and sliced meats and cheeses at another. Ask the serving staff for a coffee from the espresso bar instead of a french press pot of coffee.
Internet was included in our rate but if not, it will cost you $28 for two devices for each 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and higher up to avoid the city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    672
    198
    69
    45
See reviews for
328
861
83
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here one Saturday night. The hotel is only a few years old. The room itself is bigger than most hotels - stayed in a King Luxe Room. The room was clean, tidy and the bed was comfy. My only criticism is the small(ish) bathrooms and lack of light in there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love the design and style of Crown Metropol, and it didn't disappoint. Everything still looks new, was spotlessly clean and spoke of luxury. Great views, beautiful room, convenient location. The ONLY thing missing for me was a bath. I love a bubble bath especially in Melbourne weather.

However, bed was lovely, and really enjoyed the bar on the 28th floor. Room service was very prompt.

Room Tip: Go for the 26th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Such a great hotel to compliment both Crown Towers and Crown Promenade. Modern with great IT facilities for the New Age traveller. I travel a lot with work and always feel great when I get to come back to stay at Crown Metropol. Comfortable and super clean with the most amazingly friendly staff. A must stay for the corporate traveller.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Crown metropol was a luxury hotel that was in a amazing location.
The king bed was like sleeping in a bed of marshmallows.
The walk in shower was huge and strong flow.
Temperature was great and could be altered.
The divan was ideal for sitting on and gazing out over the city.
Great deal from wotif also
The 27 floor pool, spa and gym I didn't use but wish I brought my gear as was very inviting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From arriving on the hotel to checking out I was more than impressed with the staff and both their friendliness and professionalism. I stayed on Level 24 outlooking the other side of the river.

The hotel and lobby were very clean and well maintained. There is a bar/restaurant on Level 28 and the pool and day spa are located just a few floors below.

I found getting to the hotel from Flinders Street Station wasn't too close, but you would have a better chance getting a Casino tram from Southern Cross Station. The hotel is very close to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre and South Wharf!

The room itself was very clean, well maintained and smoke free. It's great to be located within the Crown complex so it is all indoors and you have retail and aerobridge access to everything within the complex. I didn't hear any noise from outside but I'm very happy with my experience staying at Metropol.

My only issue was the ice room machine on my floor was not working, and the staff weren't aware of this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, friendly & helpful staff. But a weird thing is the price for internet access - 30 AUS $ per day. Sounds from the past. GYM is one of the best in-hotel-gyms. tralalaa and so on...............

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.