We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This wonderfully modern and chic hotel was a great spot for my friend and I when went to Melbourne to attend a special event. The hotel was convenient for our purposes and walking distance from great spots on South Bank. We also walked to the nearby DFO for some shopping. However, it might be a little inconvenient if you are aiming to be in Melbourne city "proper". Due to the cold and our heels, we tended to taxi it in. It can be walked, of course, but might not be the best way to do it for most people. That would probably be the only "downside" I could identify.

The room and amenities were great. We meant to use the gym but never did! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Oh, and we loved the selection of complimentary teas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    697
    206
    71
    45
See reviews for
344
908
87
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a weekend here and the staff were friendly and helpful, making us feel comfortable right from check in. This place has location, Location, Location if you want to stay in the city and have lots of good dining options at your finger tips!

Room Tip: Ask about access to level 28 and decide if you will use the facilities which can be worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel after booking it as a mystery hotel on Wotif and receiving a good rate.
The location is just a couple of minutes walk to the river and convenience of restaurants in Southbank. It's also an easy stroll into the city.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The only criticism is that for a 5 star hotel I would expect a bathtub, not only a shower.
Check in and out was smooth and quick.
There is easy access from the first floor to the shopping centre.
Room service menu has good choice and offers a la carte breakfast choices too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Crown Metropol, we were booked in to our room on level 18 but found out is the smoking level so requested a move to another level which was no problem to the staff.The in-room facilities are excellent, very chic and comfortable.We understood before our stay that this is the lower level of complexes amongst the three available.The pool, gym and restuarants have excellent service and the food is of outstanding quality.The only red flag is the smoking level 18, if you are a non smoker, stay away from there, it stinks very badly of smoke everywhere on this level.Apart from that our stay was great, thay have some very good deals through the entertainment book also.

Room Tip: Non-smokers stay away from lebvel 18 at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Service was second to none! Reception was very warm & welcoming! thank you " James" - you were certainly the right man for that job! You were honestly made to feel very special all the way. I would have given the hotel a 10/10 , but the approved late checkout wasn't communicated or put in the computer & they locked me out of my room, causing me to be late for my function ! Pity ! Otherwise . Excellent !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always fantastic when one of our guests mentions the service and attention of one of our team members. James is one of our supervisors at the Hotel and I will ensure he is personally thanked on your behalf.

Apologies for the slight mishap with your room keys, I hope this did not delay you too much for your function.

Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed only one night but could have spent more time in the hotel. The pool looked fantastic and next time I have to leave time to actually use it. The bar on the 28th floor was delightfully , we had a predinner drink there the view was amazing. The room itself was large and very clean. The service was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Unfortunately, my stay in Crown Metropol was below my expectation for a Crown hotel. The staff were all very friendly, professional and courteous. It's location was a little further back from the river than expected. If you are just there to visit the Casino, it is perfect. Also close to the malls of Crown complex and a cinema. The rooms were clean and neat. TV was in a better location that any other hotel I have stayed in. Wife was not happy, as there was no bath in the room. This is normally one of her minimum requirements. She likes to relax in a big bath a read a book while on holidays, particularly after a busy day walking around the city shopping. It's also great after stepping off a 4 hour flight from Perth. Rooms had an oversize shower, but this meant nothing when they use the water saving shower heads. The extra room is just a waste of space. Highlight was the pool area on level 26. Spent a couple of hours there relaxing. Great views. Disappointments were the fact that we were never offered or received a morning paper. I thought this was standard in every hotel. They also charge a 1% credit card fee. While this did not affect us and is allowed, I thought it a bit unreasonable for a hotel attached to the Crown complex to charge such a fee, considering how much money they make.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was pleasing to read your interactions with the Hotel team members were both professional and courteous. Our team take great pride in providing efficient and friendly service and I will ensure your feedback is relayed to them.

You are right that the majority of our rooms have over sized showers and water saving shower heads, these were implemented to ensure Crown's environmental impact was minimised.
For guests requiring a bath, all our loft rooms do have large deep soaking tubs and may be of interest to you on your next stay.

We do offer a number of newspaper options to our guests on a complimentary basis, I apologise this was not actioned during your stay.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you back with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.