We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isaka spa found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Woodend, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Isaka spa found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Metropol. We found that the service we received was still to through same excellent standard that we received in earlier stays
This is the first time we had stayed at the Metropol after working all day.We checked in and thought it would be lovely to have a swim as we were staying on a day before a public holiday there were quite a few families staying here and the pool area (which is great) was quite full.My wife had previously used the spas at the Metropol and said she was going to have a spa.
i said I would to I went and found the spa. The spa area had a huge steam room opposite a spa which had massage beds in the spa area. Within 5 minutes the hard day at work was forgotten. Another great stay at Crown Metropol had begun.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    875
    531
    156
    56
    34
See reviews for
244
660
65
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel and very new and modern. We did not get to experience much since we were only there for a night as it was a gift from a friend. They allowed us to checkout late - we checked in at 2am - which was nice. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms modern and clean. On the downside, you have to pay for parking (which isn't cheap, especially when you've forked out so much for the room - luckily in this case, it was my poor friend). Other than that, we cannot say much since we did not stay long enough.

Room Tip: Sorry - did not stay long enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Within steps of the river, city, business, bars and restaurants, the Crown Metropol stands with views over Melbourne, which can be enjoyed from bedrooms, the top floor bar, but most impressively by the 27th floor infinity swimming pool and hot pool. The pool and spa area also house steam rooms and massage pools and a well equipped gym.
Functional, somewhat quirky and interesting rooms all with views. Beds very comfortable. Everything functioned as it should.
Food was very good, though breakfast pricey. Coffee wonderfully typical of Melbourne, not of a typical international hotel.
Easy access to South Melbourne, and further southern suburbs that are funky and worth a visit for a weekend stroll.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday night after getting a great deal online.
The hotel itself is very modern and appealling to the eye, the curve of the building is a great feature. Check in was pleaseant enough, be warned that they will charge a pre authorisation on your credit card which is released on checkout. (Alot of places do this now, however i am still not a fan). We were upgraded to a City Lux Room on the 25th floor, beautiful views of the city and the bay (just don't look straight down unless you like looking at a huge car park).
Room was great, modern and stylish with a king size bed and flat screen tv. Curtains are remote controlled, so they are either open or closed (no in between). Bathroom is nice, shower and toilet are enclosed in semi see through glass (if you like privacy, maybe not your cup of tea). One thing that is a must for me is a shower head that delivers a strong powerful flow of water, unfortunatley this was not happening. We did not try the pool or the restaurant attached to the hotel (Mr Hive and Kitchen) but they looked nice. The hotel is within the Crown Casino, so if you like gambling this is a good alternative to the Crown Towers or Crown Promenade hotels. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and was pleased with the online deal.

Room Tip: A higher floor is always better, and try to get a City Luxe room as they are a little bigger with ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stay 2 nights with "28" access. It is terrible in term of value for money.

I'm not a gaming person but stay here for business. Deciding to pay 120 for "28" access is a very wrong decision. They stated "dedicated check in and check out service" but at check in there was only table and sign at queue set up but no staff to provide service at 3pm check in time. There were 3 staff handling long queue of general guests. After that queue was finished, now it's my turn.

Free soft drink and coffee during the day like other hotel club floor but no free Internet. 3-4 red, white sparkling and spirits in regular - poor brands. No cocktails snack at all but 3-4 slices of breads in a bowl with 3 dips served at the table. Breakfast on "28" is ugly. Very basic. I won't any more pay AUD 120 for just view, ugly wine and poor breakfast.

Room has got floor to ceiling window but by chance what view you will get. Mine has got an opposite apartment view plus dark side city view. Bathroom has got only shower. Overall material give sense of cost saving more than style. It is not really 5 star if compared with Intercontinental Railto, Westin Melbourne or Grand Hyatt Melbourne. Yes, it is five star if compared with Quest, Aldiana, Punt Hill.

Location is in the middle of nothing apart from Casino Complex. A few team lines can be easily access. Apart from that is taxi or long walk.

Staff at the gate only us only the time we have luggage as that may be an opportunities for tips. Never smiles or say anything every time in and out during 3 days.

Good things is only that it is still new.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is disappointing to read about your experience in our 28 club lounge. We usually receive such fantastic feedback about the offering and I would welcome to discuss this in more detail with you on +61 3 9292 8888.

I appreciate your other comments, and I hopefully have the opportunity to speak with you soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I read the "terrible reviews" but thought I would take a chance. When you read some of the terrible reviews you will know what I mean.

The Hotel is brand new and very modern but the design of the rooms is weird. Our room shared the same airspace as the bathroom; all those bad bathroom odours, steam etc can be experienced in the bedroom. Not to mentioned the 90dB hair dryer.

The staff were not particularly friendly and seem to be preoccupied playing with their Motorola radios and not really interested in helping you.

The food was not good. Cheeseburger was not medium rare and my risotto, well I'm not sure what it was.

Crown Metropol is a nice building, modern, great location etc. The view from the rooms are fantastic. It is not as good as the Grand Hyatt which I have already reviewed. I gave it a poor rating because their customer service and food was terrible.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, thank you for you lovely comments about the property in general however I would like to apologise in relation to the service you encountered and the room service meal you received.

In regard to the bathrooms, they are open plan however we do have frosted glass doors for both the shower and toilet, as well as sliding doors to provide privacy as required. I hope this did not unduly affect your stay, as we would love to have you back with us again.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Metropol ..rooms excellent and even didn't mind the view of the roof top car park next door. Housekeeping good and close to all the Crown facilities? We have stayed before and found it just as good then ..staff very friendly

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for it when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.