We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited Melbourne for a business leadership seminar in December 2012 for which my company had already made arrangements for the stay and I thank god they chose this gem.

The staff is very supportive and helpful.
Whenever i left my room, either for the seminar or for some sightseeing around the city, I always found my room squeaky clean.
I was surprised when an Indian guy(or at least I think he was) dropped me and my luggage to the room. Way to go for diversity. It really helps if you find someone making you feel at home.

Overall- Kudos to the Hotel management.
P.S. A lot of thought was put into this review as I myself belong to the Hospitality industry and couldn't resist to put my views on the same.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't comment as my room was booked by my company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    610
    173
    63
    39
See reviews for
284
760
73
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This has got to be one of the best Hotels in Australia. The staff are just so friendly and make for an excellent stay. Will stay here again in the near future.The Concierge is very friendly and will make shore your stay is memorable. Also you are at the Casino if you wish to gamble. There is also public transport at the door or you can walk to most attractions.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I thought this hotel was stylistically quite nice particularly if you love that very contemporary look. However there was little substance; although it looked quite nice on the service if you dig a little deeper there was no luxurious element. Things were put in the room to make it look nice rather than for it to be comfortable or to have any real value. Not a great location and you have to walk quite far out of your way to get anywhere. Buffet breakfast room looked nice and had a good selection. Overall I would say that it was nice to look at but not really to stay at. However very good value for money I thought given it is only a few years young and hotels in major cities are not cheap to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for a second time in January this year after my best friends wedding. The rooms are always clean and modern, check in and check out was easy. The pool area is clean and presentable.The breakfast the next day at Mr. Hive was very good and highly reccommended. Will be staying again in June for a weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from 5 day stay at crown Metropole.the hotel was great with good facilities and that's where the good ended about being in this complex.Casino security are over bearing/secretive when you request information/smug attitudes especially some clown named Peter the so-called manager.You are expected to gamble without having a drink or any fun for that matter.If you have fun and are consuming alcohol you will be asked to leave unless you are female and not bad looking it seems.For the record the pool is over-chlorinated so if you want a drink don't swim because your eyes end up red and that's a sign you've had too much alcohol.My advice would be go elsewhere for your fun there are much better places as the local's will tell you if you ask.They won't patronise the Crown for all the above reasons

Room Tip: higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to read that your stay at the hotel was enjoyable.

In regard to your comments about the pool, the chemical balance is checked 4 times a day. Chemicals are also injected electronically to ensure the correct balance and safety for our guests.

Thank you also for the feedback in relation to security on the casino floor. This has been relayed to our Security Manager for review.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I communicated a concern to Crown Metropol and then followed this up, outlining that I'd much prefer to resolve the issues to negate me needing to post a review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, the service not only in the hotel, but also when dealing with customer complaints, is far below the standard of a 5 star hotel. I received no response back, so here is my review:

***

My partner had organised a stay at the Metropol as a surprise celebration upon my arrival to Melbourne yesterday. As an additional surprise, he had requested the day before by phone to have a bottle of champagne in our room upon checkin. Unfortunately this did not happen, so he made a call once we had unpacked to follow it up. We then waited for 20 minutes and still no one arrived. Another call was made and we waited a bit longer, but were then once the bottle arrived, we weren't able to drink it as my partner had also made us bookings in the day spa and from there we were heading out for the evening for dinner. When the bottle did arrive, the gentleman at the door exclaimed "With compliments from the manager." and a card stating the same was placed on the table with the bottle. Apart from not fulfilling the original request made a day earlier and the necessary two follow up phone calls, upon checkout this morning I see that we have been charged for this 'with compliments' bottle. In this instance, I feel for my partner who made an attempt to plan the perfect day and was unfortunately let down by service one would not expect when staying at a hotel such as the Crown Metropol. I would perhaps suggest that 1) special requests like this are fulfilled if they have been told they will be and 2) offerring items 'with compliments' usually means that there will be no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is with disappointment to read your feedback was not responded to in a timely manner.
I would be very happy to personally discuss your concerns and can be contacted on +61 3 9292 8888.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Crown Metropol Melbourne. Fast, seamless check-in. We had a luxe king room. Very clean. Brilliant design and layout of the room. Classy furniture. Sofa very comfy. Bed was firm but very good for sleeping. In fact I slept 6 hrs straight without getting up. My daughter loved the room and especially the sofa. The location of the hotel is very convenient and handy to get to Crown complex restaurants and entertainment. It is connected to the Crown Towers and Crown Promenade. One suggestion to management is to have detachable shower heads like they do in Asia. Hotel staff was friendly and efficient. I would love to stay here again. Tea provided in the room was individually boxed and netting type of tea bag. Very classy. Seems to remind me along the lines of the Marina Bay Sands, Singapore. View from the swimming pool was fantastic with the Melbourne skyline. In fact when we were there, Offspring crew were doing filming that evening. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.