We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Crown Metrpol for our wedding anniversary. We were greeted with sparkling and chocolates shortly after our arrival in the room which was a lovely touch and we had a room on the 25th floor with a fabulous view. We had plans to go out in the city for the afternoon but the room was so gorgeous and the view so mesmerising that we stayed put and enjoyed the beautiful space. The only disappointment in the room was the tiny showerhead in such a big shower space: if there's no bath in the room, I want a pretty amazing showerhead for compensation. We loved the pool deck with its spectrum of views (shame it was so packed with kids but we did visit during school holidays...our early morning visit was much quieter than our late afternoon visit) and the spa and steam room in the change rooms were both excellent. We didn't get a chance to visit Level 28 but would definitely try it out next time we stay. Overall this was a wonderful space for a romantic retreat - if you are headed to Crown Metropol for a special event, make sure you let them know so you can be spoiled too.

Room Tip: Upon booking, we requested a room with a view and ended up on the 25th floor - it doesn't hurt t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    672
    198
    69
    45
See reviews for
328
861
84
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked a night at this hotel as a present to myself for my birthday, so it was a special treat. I got a special deal on the room rate which made it affordable for me. The room was so modern and lovely and the view of the city was quite awesome. I really liked that it was actually quiet. The bathroom was amazing and I loved the little box of toilettries as they were very well presented and were quality products. I would not have liked the bathroom if I had someone else in the room though and the walls were thin and a little bit see through, so not very private at all. I found the reception staff rude and inattentive and was most annoyed when they wanted to refuse my reduced rate. Lucky that I had all the printouts with me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice welcome. Nice atmosphere. Room was spacious and very clean. Smelt lovely too. Unfortunately we only had one night and didn't use the pool which looked great. Great position with views. Staff we encountered all pleasant.
Purchased the room as a package deal for Empire show which was fun.
Look forward to returning for a longer stay to make use of the facilities. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I have spent three nights over Easter at this gorgeous hotel for the past three years. Each time we have had a wonderful stay and have made the most of the awesome swimming pool. This time around we signed up for the Club 28 which included drinks and breakfast, this was great value and the kids really made the most of the breakfast choices. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, they really went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. It was great to see the same staff who remembered our prefferred choice of coffee. Our family only left the hotel once to visit the Aquarium and shop in the city, other than that we made the most of every facility and even had a delicious Easter lunch at Mr Hive at hotel. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious and I love the bathroom. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always so lovely to hear from our regular guests. We just celebrated our 3rd birthday at the Hotel and it’s fantastic to read that you have returned to us each year!

I appreciate your comments about our staff as they truly are our greatest assets. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and hopefully we get to meet on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been all around the world and stayed in some very beautiful hotels and don't get me wrong I understand how over priced Melbourne is as a whole but $279 for a one bed room with not much else in it besides a tv and bathroom? Our view was of a car park which isn't the nicest. I know the hotel as a whole is very nice but maybe we weren't fortunate enough to see this 'nice' side. For the price paid and the room we got I wouldn't return to exactly that, but id love to return and see if we were given a nicer room and better views because this hotel truly does have potential!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Crown Metropol is a delightful stay every time I go. They are always greeting you as you arrive and make sure your stay begins well. The rooms are clean, glamorous and comfortable. Being central to the casino and the city makes this place an easy place to be in Melbourne when your looking to spoil yourself for a weekend away. Make sure you get access to level 28 and enjoy complimentary drinks and breakfast with great views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Metrapol is a great Hotel. We have visited the Hotel before and we weren't disappointed with our return visit. Despite Gordon Ramsay's restaurant disappearing the breakfast was still excellent. The rooms were very clean and the views from our standard room were fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.