We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night back with my husband and we both loved it. Beautiful hotel within close proximity to the Crown complex. Check in was very quick and staff were very friendly. We had booked a standard room and it was huge, modern and very clean. Loved the bathroom and very comfy bed. Had breakfast the next morning which was also very nice. I thought for the price we paid (around $300) this hotel was great value for money. Will definitely be staying here again if I were to stay somewhere near the Crown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    572
    165
    58
    37
See reviews for
264
710
68
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we were welcomed back,this is our third visit,like old friends. The hotel agent was kind enough to upgrade us to a room with a beautiful view over Melbourne. Champagne and chocolates were also sent to our room which was a nice touch.
The room was very comfortable but thought that charging for internet connection was a bit rough.
The club on level 28 is really good and the welcome we got from Johnson one of the staff was lovely. The breakfast in the club is outstanding. The only thing the club need to do is to enforce a dress standard. People walking in after 5pm with towels wrapped around them is hardly acceptable.The pool area although lovely is a waste of time as it resembles kindergarten playtime and not a place to relax. Having said that we will return as we like the location,the friendly staff and the club

Room Tip: Go for the club option.For the extra money it is well worth i.t
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

It is great to hear feedback from a regular guest and thrilled that you chose our Hotel to celebrate your anniversary! Johnson is one of our star performers in the 28 club lounge and I will ensure I pass on your comments to him. In regards to the dress code, I can assure you that guests arriving in towels/bathrobes are not permitted and this is monitored by the team. Whilst I cannot comment on your exact experience - let’s hope on this occasion they got a little lost on the way to the pool.

The pool on level 27 is a popular feature of our Hotel and is enjoyed by all our guests. Depending on the time of year the pool can become quite busy. I hope this did not unduly affect your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Crown Metropol is part of the Crown Complex in Melbourne. It is a beautiful hotel with all the amentities you would expect at a 5* property. The room was spacious, modern, well maintained and clean. The bed was king size and comfy, The curtains opened with a remote control - nice touch!
We chose to breakfast in Mr Hive kitchen & bar each morning where you could choose a simple brekky and coffee at a resaonable price in a lovely atmosphere. Instead of spending $30 plus (each) at the buffet we spent $30 for coffee and a great bacon and egg sandwich each.
We loved the whole complex - great restaurants and bars everywhere and a 10 minute walk into the city mall and shopping.
We took advantage of the pool on level 27. A great space to relax and a large infinity pool that overlooked Melbourne.
This was a great stay and I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor and a corner room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I found this hotel functional, professional but charmless. And in some ways infuriating - for example valet parking is $50 whereas at Crown Promenade, run by the same company and using the same carpark, 250m down the road in the same complex, its $35. Do management think that customers don't notice this and don't feel ripped off?

Staff were fine without being good, room good without being great, pool area attractive but hot and sticky so not refreshing, no bath but a shower with poor water flow. The fine touches that you expect at this pricepoint are missing.

The hotel is very convenient for the myriad of things that go on at Crown complex and the southern side of the CBD. But there are great, not just OK, hotels in Melbourne for the same money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Firstly I would like to apologise if your stay did not meet expectations. I certainly appreciate your comments and would be happy to discuss this further with you.

Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience on +61 3 9292 8888.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Location was great as it was away from the casino just enough. Room was very quite,comfortable and beautifully designed.
Check in very helpful. Massage at Their Health Spa was top notch and well priced in a relaxing setting. Gym great and enough equipment suitable for most people (not Arnie!).
The pool looks fantastic but spoilt by too many screaming kids. No kid free times to attend, so it was disappointing that you get away from your own kids to be flustered by another's kid. Too noisy and this ruined the atmosphere compared to their promo image.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

It is lovely to read that for the majority you enjoyed your stay with us. It is disappointing that your experience was marred by the atmosphere in the pool area. Whilst we do have attendants looking after the pool, it can become quite busy at different times of the year. I hope this did not affect your overall stay as we would love to see you back with us again.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, little overpriced, good location, awesome pool, close to everything walking distance to city centre, restaurants are pricy, best leave the casino for that tidy clean rooms, could do with bigger shower head or 2 shower heads, a down step from crown towers but still a good hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is great to read you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Thank you also for the suggestion in regards to the shower head. It is always refreshing to hear other ideas about how we can enhance a guest’s stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Metropol in the future.

Kind regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at crown metropol for my partners birthday and we both loved it! A beautiful hotel, it was very clean, the staff were lovely, a handy walk way into crown and a very comfortable bed!! My only negatives was for the price you pay to stay here you'd think wifi would be free which it wasn't and you'd think valet parking wouldn't cost $50 when you've already paid $400 for 1 night. And I wasn't told of the price for valet parking until they had taken my keys and my car away, so that made me quite disappointed. I wish I had of read the reviews on here about parking beforehand!!! But overall a nice experience if you can afford it. I would stay here again just not valet park!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.