We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First and foremost, some of you might've read my last review about another Crown hotel. Just fior fun, I checked to see whether the management's offer to patch thing up was available... nothing on record. So it was either a fob off or Crown's own systems aren't linked.

Anyway, going forward... and I have to say... Metropol... well done team. A marked improvement to the pathetic performance I got from the other Crown hotel. There were things that still irked me about their relatively minor.

The room, it's modern, then again though it's a new hotel. Having said that though, the maintenance teams can pick up their game a little since I can pick a few basic flaws but it's nothing major (I've seen worst at other high price hotels). The room was a decent size and generally quite comfortable. Of the room itself, the only that really irked me, and I can't really think why, were the pillows. Its weird. I had a nice view of the bay (which i preferred anyway).

Of the hotel itself, the pool area's nice and in many ways, it's better situated then the other two thats right near the river. Why? Cause its away from the booze hounds, gambling crowds and the general public. Most won't stick around that area so there's a nicer feel to the place. The pool, as pointed out, is great and it's got a decent gym.

Staff did good and it was the standard that I demanded from a hotel of this caliber. Even when they're under the pump, staff worked well as a team. It's like there's actually some sort of leadership running the place as opposed to Fawlty Towers across the road. Well done team.

The only thing I'll say is that we stayed with our twin babies and on the second night, they loved the room. There was a dispute about the cot hire but that's hopefully being worked out. I'll let you know if otherwise

Room Tip: High floors, get the most out of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    875
    531
    156
    56
    34
See reviews for
244
660
65
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place to stay. Great service and great, huge rooms!

Check-in was effortless, as was check-out. Less than 2 mins at each end!

Pool is excellent! A must do!!

Recommend the bar on level 28 as well!

Only downside (if that) is that it is a little walk away from Flinders St and the main CBD. As someone who generally stays in the main CBD this was a little bit troublesome. However, as the hotel is connected to the main Crown complex there are always things to look at on the walk!

Breakfast was good and includes speciality coffees! There was a large spread and an egg bar. Plenty of staff on hand to help!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the infinity pool on level 27. Get up early for a morning swim and watch sun rise over Melbourne as you do. The rooms and amenities are lovely although a few over a car park is not so great. Breakfast at Mr Hive's on level one is a particularly nice hotel breakfast but is also particularly expensive at $37.50.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a King bed (also giving you a lovely daybed) and not two doubles u...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Metropol on the second partof our honeymoon and were absolutely thrilled with our choice. We arrived quite late on a Sunday night and were greeted by the most friendly front desk staff. Although busy due to the Australian Open, we were upgraded after mentioning our honeymoon. Check-in was a breeze and our bags were promptly brought up to our room by the bellman. Our room was incredibly modern, clean and spacious, with a massive bathroom with all of the amenities one could need.
The entire hotel/casino complex is just unbelievable - very modern, new and filled with buzz. Access to the amazing restaurants makes it hard to venture out into the city - you could spend your entire holiday here without even leaving the grounds. The rooftop pool is a treat and should be enjoyed even for an hour or so. The rooftop bar has fantastic views but closes a bit early - 11:00 am during the Australian Open? Should have been later, but there is always a spot to grab a drink nearby.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern hotel in Melbourne with great access to amazing restaurants, shops and gaming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a one night stay at this hotel and throughout enjoyed it. The hotel is modern and spacious. We found the location was perfect for restaurants and shopping. The spa area is lovely and we ended up spending allot of time relaxing by the pool. We will most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great Modern Hotel in a good location - easy access to the Casino complex, and South Wharf/Exhibition Centre, and Southbank is a short walk away - CBD is a bit further away but trams are easy enough to catch. Service was excellent and the hotel was quiet when we stayed there. Head further away from the Casino complex to get cheaper meals - Melbourne food is good quality and reasonably priced, however outlets in the Casino complex are generally more expensive. Rooms were all very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was really looking forward to spending an evening at this hotel with my adult daughter, after staying here on an earlier occasion for business, but was overall disappointed. To start, I was charged for a bottle of wine in stead of a glass in the sky bar (about $40 over charge) that luckily I picked up myself - probably just an honest mistake, but perhaps an indication of things to come.The spa could not provide a time for a treatment (even a short massage) for the entire afternoon or evening - too "busy". The pool and gym which the hotel guide in the bedroom stated as being open until 10pm were closed on us at 9pm by a quite rude staff member, telling me I was mistaken (I wasn't). Why does the hotel want to close such a great area at 9pm anyway???? I would have thought it was what differentiated the hotel from others in Melbourne. Strange indeed. Maybe there is cost cutting exercises occurring? A mistake, in my opinion, if so. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, the room was newly furnished and had nice views (between buildings) of the CBD and Yarra River. Bit stingy on provision of toiletries. Beware that the bathrooms consist of a toilet and shower with frosted glass doors, then a basin area with flimsy sliding screens separating them from the rest of the room - it's not really separate and depending on if (and who) you are sharing a room with, this may not be everyone's cup of tea. There is no bath. Some staff tried hard and were very nice, but the the staff member that kicked us out of the spa left a very sour taste. I have complained, but I find that all the hotel wants to say is "sorry", but nothing of any substance, I feel it is just standard lip service replies. Of course, "sorry" doesn't make up for a disappointing evening. Don't know if I'll be back, depends what else competitors are offering at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if possible. Some rooms overlook the river (through buildings). Others overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.