We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our stay at the Crown Metropol exceeded all expectations. From the moment we arrived, we felt well looked after and very comfortable. We were greeted by professional, friendly and enthusiastic staff. It was our 27th wedding anniversary which my husband had mentioned when booking our five night stay. At check in the Receptionist congratulated us on our wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to the 23rd floor, half an hour later there was a knock at our door and we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne. Wow so thoughtful. The room was bigger than the photo indicated the place was spicky and the daily service exceptional with fresh fruit being left in our room. Room service was fast, tasty and still extremely hot! All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive we cannot say enough about our experience. The Sky bar was great to enjoy the views and I can recommend the cocktails. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    607
    173
    63
    39
See reviews for
282
753
70
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the metropol for two nights after our wedding. We found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. We had a room on the 20th floor with spectacular views of the city. The room itself was very clean and neat. It was well furnished; nicely decorated and the bed was comfy too.

Good central location for those who way to explore.

The highlight for us was definitely the buffet breakfast at Mr.Hive. There was a good variety of hot and cold foods, fruits, juices, cereals etc. All the food was well cooked (and you can choose eggs how you like them too).

Overall it was fantastic and we would definitely recommend the Metropol to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stay here when we visit Melbourne.

No negatives. The place in fantastic. Rooms are impressive.

Staff are always helpful especially the guys on Concierge. As we go frequently we get greeted by the guys out front by name as they take our car and luggage.

Makes you feel welcome and special

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the 4th time I have stayed at the Metropol and it ranks amongst my favorite hotels - & I have stayed in a few!!! The beds are wonderfully comfortable with lush pillows. Whilst the sliding bathroom doors may not be to everyones taste or 'comfort', I love the space they provide and the fact that it can be quite difficult to make purpose built hotel rooms a little different from the herd, this provides the 'difference'. Concierge and front desk staff are always friendly and welcoming and indeed, one staff member in particular remembered me from a visit a few months ago - given the number of guests they must see, I find this quite remarkable for such a large venue. If there is not enough to keep you amused in the Crown Complex and South Bank, there are plenty of other diversions in the area and the CBD is a hop skip and jump away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for posting this review - I will ensure that your positive comments are highlighted to my front office team.

It would be great to catch up with you on your next visit, so please feel free to contact me on
61 3 9292 8888 when you are next staying at Crown Metropol.

Regards,

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were a family of 3 staying at the Crown Metropol for 3 nights.We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and checking in and checking out was easy.

The pool on the 27th floor is a must, even if you are not swimming just sitting in those lounge chairs reading, surrounded by views is breath taking. Advice if you are not swimming can get very hot up there, so dress appropriately.

The room…..very clean, can not fault a thing. Very comfortable bed and the pillows felt like you were sleeping on clouds. Was serviced every day. After checking in and being out all day, we found champagne on ice and chocolates in our room (a nice surprise).

There is easy access to the Crown Complex from the 1st floor, where we would have dinner in the food court every night (going to restaurants can be too expensive).

It is a 4 ½ star accommodation and I would recommend it to anyone who is happy to pay that little extra, cause it is not only worth it but it can make you feel special.

By the way, did I mention we stayed there as a birthday present for my son…he turned 9.
But quietly, it was also a gift to myself, shhh don’t tell him, (it was all about him!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Metropol for 1 night in November 2012 on a business trip. All the staff that I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I loved the convenience to the casino complex. As a solo traveller it was great to be able to have access to a wide range of food options without going outside. The rooms were modern but I am not a great fan of the open bathroom concept. Internet access was also not cheap at $25 a day. I know this is common for Australian hotels but it is a bit steep given the amount you are paying for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very elegant hotel. The contemporary design is eye-catching from the outside and the interior is just as good. The location is great with easy access to public transport to show you around Melbourne. However, our stay was for our 10th wedding anniversary so we spent our time lapping it up at the casino which meant we didn't venture away from the crown resort. Worth mentioning that the valet parking were efficient as we're all the staff, they certainly made us feel welcome without being "in your face".

We stayed in a luxe king room which was great for the 2 of us. Nothing special about the room, it was clean, spacious and served its purpose. The only "criticism" was that our pillows weren't the most comfortable. We prefer a little more head and neck support but it wasn't that big a deal. Our view of the car park wasn't anything to behold but we weren't there for the view, overall we were satisfied with our room. No free wi-if either.

Our package included breakfast at mr. Hive which was a full buffet breakfast but at $80 for the 2 of us, I'm glad we had the vouchers. Don't get me wrong, the food is great but not $80 worth.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.