We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Bondi Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for one night while in Melbourne for work and was very impressed with the friendly staff on arrival. We stayed in the City King room and was pleased with the size and modern design layout of the room. Cleanliness of the room was acceptable with the exception of the basin taking ages to drain once filled so obviously needed to be cleared. We also noticed a shower cap covering the smoke alarm and although the room smelled fresh, someone obviously had attempted to possibly smoke in the room, which for a luxury hotel this attention to detail should have been noticed. The room service we ordered was really good and overall we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    554
    164
    57
    35
See reviews for
254
689
66
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A nice place to stay, but upon arrival we were told that a twin queen smoking room was all that was available for our family with 2 kids. With one of our children being asthmatic, this was not appropriate. We had even confirmed the booking a few days prior to arrival, so had difficulty understanding this. They offered us another non smoking room with a King size bed and sofa and suggested that one of the kids could share a bed with us. Sorry, that wasn't good enough, and we asked to speak to the manager.

Eventually the manager was seen and we had to wait an hour to find a suitable Twin queen non smoking room. We were informed that they can't guarantee a non smoking room, but they would do their best. We were offered some drinks at the local bar, but this ordeal led to a late dinner and an even later bedtime.

The rooms were good, and the location and view was too. The kids loved the pool, but it's not that big, so got quite crowded when the weather was hot. The staff were friendly enough but I think this scenario could easily have been avoided when the booking was made in advance.

It's probably not an ideal family place to stay, as we found better accommodation in Southbank later in our trip.

Room Tip: Check in early to avoid disappointment as were offered a smoking room upon arrival when a non smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Crown Metropol ticks many boxes for me - efficient checkin and room allocation, roomy accommodation and a day spa that is probably the best I have experienced in a long time. The pool area is fantastic with floor to ceiling views of Melbourne. If I had one complaint it would be about children being allowed to swim in the pool in their underpants...ewwww....I guess there is not much difference to a cossie but at least I know mine is clean!

Room Tip: Most of the City Luxe Rooms are located around the elevators but if you ask nicely, there are others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Metropol for the first time for four nights in October 2012. I was quite impressed with how modern the rooms (City King) were as well as the size. I would happily stay here again when I am in Melbourne next. Buffet Breakfast was also quite nice.

Service was great, although for a hotel that didn't seem near full at the time of my visit there was no flexibility on a slightly later checkout without surcharge.

Very convenient to the Melbourne Exhibition Centre as well for other readers that will be exhibiting or visiting.

Price was reasonable, maybe a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Crown Metropol is luxurious and big without being confusing, staff is very friendly and helpful, added advantage is sound proof rooms, within walking distance from the MCG and Royal Botanic gardens, sea facing views are good, Yarra riverbank is very close and a beautiful walk especially around christmas.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice rooftop swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi
All in all a great experience, highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon however our room was still not ready. We waited for more than an hour for the room to be available, it was after 5 before we could get to our room which was annoying considering we had a 6pm reservation at a restaurant in Crown Towers. When we retired for the night much to our surprise there was something hard in our bed - the duvet had obviously been torn previously but rather than repairing this, to our surprise two safety pins had been used to Hold the duvet together and I guess stop it from tearing further. In addition there were large stains on the carpet which looked to have been bleached in an attempt to clean them turning the carpet orange. There was also no fresh milk available for tea and coffee. Was not impressed at all. Will not be going back. Stayed at the Prominade a few years ago and had a very different (but pleasing) experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Crown Metropole a couple if times and we love it! The pool is definately the best in Melbourne and it excellent for small children. The rooms are great (i recommend the city luxe king room) this gives plenty of space for a porta cot and our 4 year of slept on the chase. Being so close to South Bank gives you a huge choice of restaurants (both Crown & South Bank). we will definately stay here again

Room Tip: City Luxe King has plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.