We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in one of Crown Metropol's 'Loft Rooms' as a present for my wife going on maternity leave. The room itself was simply sumptuous, and as you would expect from a newly-built hotel all the fittings and fixtures are first-class.

The bags took a long time to come up to the room - about 45 mins. But we didn't mind that too much.

We had access to Level 28 for the drinks & canapes in the evening, but there were a couple of disappointments - firstly we were challenged on the way in by the concierge because we had our 10-month old son in a stroller with us and apparently no under-18s are allowed in the area after a certain time - fair enough but he was 10 months old and we weren't planning on serving him champagne! The second let-down was the 'canapes' which basically consisted of some bread with dips. We got one serve and had to ask for some more. Nice enough but not really the selection of canapes that was advertised.

We dined at Mr Hive restaurant downstairs which was fairly good. However there is such a lot of choice in that area we probably should have gone out and eaten somewhere else along Southbank.

Overall though a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    566
    165
    57
    35
See reviews for
260
701
68
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Metropol is a dream.
Modern, chic, gorgeous. I was lucky enough to get access to the lounge on 28- what a view!
Great location, close to everything (try to avoid the casino if possible).
Breakfast was delicious.
Plus the best hotel pool ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the delight of staying here again. We had a corner room which was lovely with the full height windows on two sides. Was classed 'city view' - well, we had a view of the local buildings and mostly the carpark next door. But it was still nice to have such a light open feeling room. The location is just perfect. A short stroll, through buildings, road overpasses and the casino to reach our riverfront restaurant. A night cap at a bar and then a stroll back. Our deal including valet parking - really nice with friendly service and a late check out. Although normal check out is 11am anyway!
Look for deals on websites as ours was just AU$200 for the night with the valet parking and late check out. A 'normal' room rate is about $450. Make sure you look around.
The pool area with its indoor decking area for lounging poolside is just luxury at its best. Make sure to pack your bathers.
Some packages include breakfast, ours didn't, but there are about 30 places within a five minute walk to get breakfast, so we managed quite well.
Room was spotless. Service was efficient and friendly. Amenities were ample. Not much more you could ask for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed in November for 2 nights. I arrived during the day and the reception staff were fantastic. The room is really clean and the bed so very comfortable. The shower and toilet stalls seem a little clinical to me but clean and functional. Had a great view and it is so easy to get into the city centre. Swimming pool was amazing and the gym well equipped. Walking distance to the Direct Factory Outlet. The hotel is connected to the casino and cinema.

The night staff I found a little bit indifferent. While waiting to be served at the front desk, they just kept doing their paperwork without looking up to acknowledge me. When I was returning back to the hotel at night, my hands full of bags, the entrance was closed (for security purposes, I believe) but there was no one there to let me know how to get back in until a couple more hotel guests started to pile up at the entrance did a valet come out and help us.

I had called for more instant coffee to be sent up to my room, which I had thought was complimentary but was charged AUD 8 when it was time for me to checkout. The least they could do was inform me of the charges when I made the request. I pointed this out to the lady at reception and she didn't really explain or apologise... just told me I had to pay since I had already received it. Walking distance to a convenience store so don't request for toothbrushes or more tea they will charge you extra! I just couldn't believe it for the price I pay for the room.

Overall, I am happy with the room and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On arrival the valet staff are great, friendly and informative. The foyer upon entry is grand to say the least. Check in staff are also friendly and very informative. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well serviced, open planned very well with viewable bathroom from the main living space if that's the sort of thing you like.... we opened it up and loved it!!! The only real critique is when up against fully self contained apartments like the Quay West for example.... Value for money doesn't quite cut it. Small space and no balcony etc.... When location is the same, value for money should be somewhat a bit more competitive I believe. Regardless of 'Hotel Vs Apartments'

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room is trendy, stylish and very clean!!!
The bed was comfortable also.
The location was good and the view from our room was quite good as well.
Nothing to complain about housekeeping services, however we didn't get TV for 5 nights!!!!!!
We had to ring down for TV to get fixed by maintenance man late at night everyday!!!
Nothing was offered to us to recover what we had to go through which was very disappointing.
To get prepared not having TV in the room if you want to stay at Crown Metropol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Crown Metropol.

Firstly allow me to apologise for the issues that you experienced with regards to the television in your room.

We had just completed an upgrade and did experience some intermittent issues with these services. This has now been resolved. I was disappointed to hear that there was no service recovery extended.

Please give me a call at your convenience on 61 3 9292 8888 to discuss your stay further.

Regards.
Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place was amazing!!!!!!!!!!! Location faciilities and Staff LOVED it would go back and highly reccomend it....... Our room had a great view of the Yarra. The casino was downstairs and the restaurants in there were awesome. We were able to walk inn to the city to shop. We had a car and it was easier to valet park it and walk sooo central.

Room Tip: corner had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;