We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Melbourne... This is perfect!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
“Location Melbourne... This is perfect!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On arrival the valet staff are great, friendly and informative. The foyer upon entry is grand to say the least. Check in staff are also friendly and very informative. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well serviced, open planned very well with viewable bathroom from the main living space if that's the sort of thing you like.... we opened it up and loved it!!! The only real critique is when up against fully self contained apartments like the Quay West for example.... Value for money doesn't quite cut it. Small space and no balcony etc.... When location is the same, value for money should be somewhat a bit more competitive I believe. Regardless of 'Hotel Vs Apartments'

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    606
    173
    63
    39
See reviews for
282
753
70
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room is trendy, stylish and very clean!!!
The bed was comfortable also.
The location was good and the view from our room was quite good as well.
Nothing to complain about housekeeping services, however we didn't get TV for 5 nights!!!!!!
We had to ring down for TV to get fixed by maintenance man late at night everyday!!!
Nothing was offered to us to recover what we had to go through which was very disappointing.
To get prepared not having TV in the room if you want to stay at Crown Metropol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Crown Metropol.

Firstly allow me to apologise for the issues that you experienced with regards to the television in your room.

We had just completed an upgrade and did experience some intermittent issues with these services. This has now been resolved. I was disappointed to hear that there was no service recovery extended.

Please give me a call at your convenience on 61 3 9292 8888 to discuss your stay further.

Regards.
Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place was amazing!!!!!!!!!!! Location faciilities and Staff LOVED it would go back and highly reccomend it....... Our room had a great view of the Yarra. The casino was downstairs and the restaurants in there were awesome. We were able to walk inn to the city to shop. We had a car and it was easier to valet park it and walk sooo central.

Room Tip: corner had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had a one night, business related stay at the Crown Metropol in Melbourne. While somewhat chaotic in the hotel lobby with lots of partying people coming and going, the service was very slick and my room was fantastic. A king size bed with a great room layout, I couldn't fault it. Close and convenient to central Melbourne dining and shopping, as well as the Crown Casino Complex. I've stayed here before and would do say again. Highly recomemnded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The service, staff and facilities at this hotel are fantastic. Located in the heart of Southbank, the attractions of Melbourne are at your feet.

The infinity pool on the rooftop is a great place to unwind after a day exploring town or a hard day in the office.

The designer restaurants and bars are superb. 

The rooms are wonderfully spacious and well designed. The king size beds are amazingly comfortable. 

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel for it's location, facilities and wonderful staff. Plenty of shopping and entertainment close by. Easy walk to the trams. Had a wonderful stay. Couldn't fault it. And the choc brownie with salted caramel ice cream is a great in room treat to end the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a fantastic hotel in a great location. Far enough away from the Casino to avoid it if you wanted to, but close enough to enjoy the conveniences it provides.
Check in was easy and effortless with well trained and friendly staff.
Easy secure parking is a bonus albeit a bit pricey - try and get a deal that includes the valet.
There is a FANTASTIC bar on level 28 with a knock out view and great pool.
Restaurants are abundant in the adjacent Casino and Southbank prescinct, however the in-house food was good too. Take breakfast on level 28 its a fantastic spread and cracker way to start the day.
I have no issues with the amenities provided, I tend to pack toothbrushes as a matter of hygiene when I travel without a second thought so if I have to PAY for one, then in my mind its due to stupidity rather than the hotel trying to gouge me.
My room was spotless and absolutely nothing less than I expect at that level and price.
Definitely will stay there again and highly recommend the hotel.
On sibling hotels located adjacent to Metropol are also great value, The upmarket TOWERS and more affordable PROMENADE - both awesome for their respective pricing.

Room Tip: Go for the corner BAY LUXE rooms they have fantastic quiet locations at the end of the hallways wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.