We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed 4 nights. Our room on the 26th floor was well appointed and clean. Fabulous bed and pillows. Our room overlooked the city which was spectacular at night. Check in/out was faultless and the concierge service was excellent. Did not dine in the Mr Hive bar/restaurant but we did dine in the Jimbo and Rex and Merrywell bar restaurants in the Crown complex. The infinity pool on level 27 was pretty spectacular as well. Overall would highly recomend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in the "entertainment hub" of Melbourne. My only gripe is the $25 daily fee for wifi connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    665
    197
    68
    45
See reviews for
325
852
82
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at Metropol for unfortunately only 1 night. I found the room delightful, with all conveniences -, The staff were very friendly and obliging and checkin was swift and easy. Location was excellent, with trams near, walking distance to docklands, and just a short walk into the city. The breakfast was very nice. I would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Crown Metropol and it just gets better. Again the staff could not do enough for us from when we arrived to when we left. We were given an upgrade on arrival which was very much appreciated. The pool area is amazing. My tip would be when you book try and get a deal that includes access to '28'. Well worth it. Cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at crown Metropol for 1 night over my birthday weekend after scoring a Wotif.com special. As part of the deal we were "upgraded free" to a city Luxe room.
The room was lovely bed soft and snuggely with everything clean and sparkly.

I was unfortunately a bit let down. This was my first every stay in a 5 star hotel and when we were pointed to the lift and expected to carry our own bags upstairs I was surprised. I tried really hard to be impressed and happy with the special rate we got but at the end of the day we had a view over crown car park and a clean comfy room.

Another quirk of the room was the open bathroom. Don't mind that just the toilet door although opaque was still transparent enough to see people while on the loo.

Maybe I'll have to try some more 5 star hotels so i can fairly judge Crown Metrolpol's performance?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent two nights here. Great swimming pool and views of this wonderful,city. I had a luxe room which is their standard room and very nice, especially the bed and pillows. I had breakfast in the hotel one morning and the scrambled egg was very good, which is quite unusual. The service could have been a bit better though, had to ask for a coffee which was a bit average. Would stay here again, especially for the swimming! 25 metre long so you can actually do lengths.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved the feel of the place. Reception quick, rooms clean and sleek, near the Crown shopping mall and wonderful restaurants and the pool unbelievable it is a horizon indoor pool at the top of the hotel. Great location!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first time in Melbourne as tourists. We were a family with 2 children, 5 and 17. What a pleasant surprise!This hotel is part of the massive Crown Entertainment complex with endless possibilities. Shops, casino, movie house, food court, as well as versatile fine dining. It is right on the river bank with a beautiful promenade alongside which we walked all the way to Federation Square. It is also on the tram route of Melbourne's city hop on hop off tram. In addition, just outside the complex we took another tram to St Kilda. Just across Kings Bridge we could get to the Aquarium, so all was within a rich and very convenient as we could do a lot in a short period. For the rooms, ours was very large and spacious with amazing view. Tt is new, tastefully decorated with a state of the art equipment and amenities. Modern in style, it had more than expected, with little extras that made it our favorite hotel in OZ.In addition, there is a rooftop pool, spa, gym and business center. Stuff friendly and helpful. We could not wish for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.